• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overloaded PCIE 16x slot, saw smoke.

Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
351 (0.08/day)
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
So my old PSU 1000watt Antec died last week and I replaced it with a Corsair CXM 750W. Motherboard is Asus Sabertooth Z77.

the Corsair CXM 750W was a modular PSU and I didn't push it all the way in on the PSU end for the PCIE 8pin connector.

When I powered the PC on I saw smoke came out from the first PCIE slot which I had a GTX1070 in there, must because the card was trying to draw too much power from the PCIE slot.

I then powered off, connected the card to secondary PCIE slot, booted fine. then I put the card back in the first slot, booted fine and tested fine too (few games, not stress tests).

I need advise - is it ok to just use the first slot like nothing has ever happened? What's the risk? There was smoke and I could smell burnt, no other visible damage tho..
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,927 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Its damaged, do not use, get a new motherboard
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,322 (2.38/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
351 (0.08/day)
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
You would think the motherboard packs some sort of protection over overdrawing power!

OK thanks guys, what if I leave the slot empty, put the graphics card in slot two? is there any risk?
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,932 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
You would think the motherboard packs some sort of protection over overdrawing power!

OK thanks guys, what if I leave the slot empty, put the graphics card in slot two? is there any risk?
Well you can’t really know what the extent of the damage is. Slot 2 could go poof next it’s not worth risking damaging anything else
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,927 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
You would think the motherboard packs some sort of protection over overdrawing power!

OK thanks guys, what if I leave the slot empty, put the graphics card in slot two? is there any risk?
Yes there is, once a board is damaged do not use it
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
351 (0.08/day)
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
Yes there is, once a board is damaged do not use it
Thanks, I hear you, if I need to replace the board I would rather have the CPU and RAM replaced too which is a big spending for something I don't use that much anymore. So long the harddisk is not in risk I'm ok with the rest of system gone. (I thought they were gone with the Antec PSU anyway...)

Will report back if something happens so other people in the same situation can learn.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,322 (2.38/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
If the system starts exhibiting stability issues at a later time you'll know which component to suspect.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
922 (0.68/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
I think your PSU's plug got burned (pins and plastic). Since that's where arching would be taking place (assuming it wasn't seated properly).
Since it was on PSU side, excess heating could have caused issues on it's PCB.
However, unless you see visible damage on or near a PCIe slot or card itself - it should be fine (arching isn't a good thing, but if it works, it works - may not live long though). Still, You must find what element got burnt, because wharever it was anything connected to it probably will fail in very near future.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,082 (3.38/day)
Thanks, I hear you, if I need to replace the board I would rather have the CPU and RAM replaced too which is a big spending for something I don't use that much anymore.
If you are happy with the system as it is, you could likely just replace the board with the exact same model seamlessly. If you share your model spec we can help you find replacements.
I think your PSU's plug got burned (pins and plastic).
This, It would be a very good idea to replace your PSU at the same time as the PSU is likely part of the problem.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
351 (0.08/day)
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
I think your PSU's plug got burned (pins and plastic). Since that's where arching would be taking place (assuming it wasn't seated properly).
Since it was on PSU side, excess heating could have caused issues on it's PCB.
However, unless you see visible damage on or near a PCIe slot or card itself - it should be fine (arching isn't a good thing, but if it works, it works - may not live long though). Still, You must find what element got burnt, because wharever it was anything connected to it probably will fail in very near future.
No PCIE connector was not connected to the PSU, I had visual of smoke coming out of PCIE slot not PSU.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,322 (2.38/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
This, It would be a very good idea to replace your PSU at the same time as the PSU is likely part of the problem.
Corsair power supply just replaced the Antec. Are you suggesting the OP replace the Corsair?
So my old PSU 1000watt Antec died last week and I replaced it with a Corsair CXM 750W
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
351 (0.08/day)
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
If you are happy with the system as it is, you could likely just replace the board with the exact same model seamlessly. If you share you model spec we can help you find replacements.

This, It would be a very good idea to replace your PSU at the same time as the PSU is likely part of the problem.
Its an old Z77 board and gen 3, 4 cores CPU. I don't feel like getting another old board. will see how much longer I can get out of it.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,031 (1.21/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ rgb 3200mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,082 (3.38/day)
Corsair power supply just replaced the Antec. Are you suggesting the OP replace the Corsair?
The way that he stated the problem implies that the Corsair was the one connected when the problem occurred. If so then yeah, it sucks but replacing that PSU might be wise. However, he did say...
Its an old Z77 board and gen 3, 4 cores CPU. I don't feel like getting another old board. will see how much longer I can get out of it.
Fair enough. Have you tested the 1070 in Slot one properly connected to the PCIe power cable(s)? This wasn't clear from the conversation above. It is possible that a bug, hair or some other small bit of something may have momentarily shorted over two points of power contact that was then burned off. It is also possible that no permanent damage was done. Testing might reveal this. If your system is still booting with and without the 1070, then you might be ok. Just be sure to use a can of air or a vacuum to clean the slot out before you test. Once clean, check to see if any burn/scorch marks are present. If yes, don't try. If no, give it a try. If you're worried about your drive, disconnect it before testing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,748 (5.51/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Fair enough. Have you tested the 1070 in Slot one properly connected to the PCIe power cable(s)? This wasn't clear from the conversation above. It is possible that a bug, hair or some other small bit of something may have momentarily shorted over two points of power contact that was then burned off. It is also possible that no permanent damage was done. Testing might reveal this. If your system is still booting with and without the 1070, then you might be ok. Just be sure to use a can of air or a vacuum to clean the slot out before you test. Once clean, check to see if any burn/scorch marks are present. If yes, don't try. If no, give it a try. If you're worried about your drive, disconnect it before testing.
I would certainly try that but with some crappy old dummy card and not a working 1070.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,816 (1.89/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
I had a similar issue. I had a power surge go through my system. It actually blew one of the caps on one of my GPUs (hope I can get it fixed). When I looked at the board though, the southbridge cover had evidence of a cap also exploding. The board would start and all the fans would run. I found out it also killed my CPU (I sent it infor Warranty). As the board is under warranty I was able to get a replacement board but I got the Amazon warranty so I exchanged the board for a different board. Unfortunately you are in a different situation but I would still get a new board regardless of what is working, as the board could just be starting to go bad. You could find CPU and MB combos for $300 or less that would be better than what you currently have like a 1600/2600 plus B450 combo. I only advise AMD because of the diversity of their product stack.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
434 (0.09/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
Look closely at the area around the slot.
If you don't see anything, look closely at the Video card.

Unless you burnt a trace off the Mobo, I'd bet any damage is to the Video card.
Typically, the 3.3 and 12V for the slots come from planes in the PCB, so it's not real likely to be the mobo.

The PCIe regulator is going to be a linear LDO, if there is one.
It would reduce the 3.3V or 12V from the mobo by ~0.2-0.3V, at a maximum.
It would look like a SMT mosfet, ~10mm square for the power involved.
There's no power limiter, as such; there could be a mosfet on/off switch, but I can't imagine why.

Most do not have a regulator on the Mobo at all; the power supply for the card is on the card.

It's most likely any smoke came off the card, not the mobo.

Here's the pinout on the pcie slot.

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,927 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I had a similar issue. I had a power surge go through my system. It actually blew one of the caps on one of my GPUs (hope I can get it fixed). When I looked at the board though, the southbridge cover had evidence of a cap also exploding. The board would start and all the fans would run. I found out it also killed my CPU (I sent it infor Warranty). As the board is under warranty I was able to get a replacement board but I got the Amazon warranty so I exchanged the board for a different board. Unfortunately you are in a different situation but I would still get a new board regardless of what is working, as the board could just be starting to go bad. You could find CPU and MB combos for $300 or less that would be better than what you currently have like a 1600/2600 plus B450 combo. I only advise AMD because of the diversity of their product stack.
What cap?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,364 (1.29/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
then I put the card back in the first slot, booted fine and tested fine too
I have mixed feelings about this. If you had come to us BEFORE trying the card in the first slot again, I would have advised against using it. But since you did it already, and it worked without further smoke, I'd say you are probably fine. My "guess" is you shorted some voltage harmlessly to ground and not through some other sensitive circuit or component. Ohm's Law tells us when resistance goes down (the short) and voltage remains the same, current must go up. And when current goes up, typically heat does too. And the smoke was that voltage frying some dust mixed with other contaminants that float around.

Since you have used it and experienced no further problems, I personally think all is okay. But you should still err on the safe side for now and don't leave the computer on unattended for a few days while you use it. And at the first sign/scent of trouble, be ready to quickly unplug the computer from the wall. Remember, simply shutting down through the Start menu or powering off with the computer's front panel power button does NOT completely shut down the power supply. Those actions merely put it in standby mode and +5Vsb standby voltage is still being distributed to multiple points on the motherboard. To stop an electrical fire, you have to completely remove the electricity.

If I have one concern, it is with that Corsair PSU. As I said before, Ohm's Law tells us that short would have caused current to go up. So I wonder why didn't that Corsair PSU sense the excessive current and immediately shut down on its own? :confused: It seems to me it should have.

And why did your Antec die just a week before? Did you have two faulty PSUs in 1 week? Why? A coincidence? I don't know but I recommend you immediately use a AC Outlet Tester to ensure your outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.

And just to ease my mind, since I'm not crazy about the CX series of Corsairs in the first place, and if not mistaken the CXM line stopped production years ago. So if me, I would get a new PSU. I like EVGA SuperNovas and Seasonic.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,816 (1.89/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
What cap?
I am not yet sure I have to pull the card apart from the water block and check. I was going to take it to a repair shop up the street where the technician and I have struck up a great relationship because he told me he loves working on PC repairs but 99% of his customers are phone or tablet based.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,927 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I am not yet sure I have to pull the card apart from the water block and check. I was going to take it to a repair shop up the street where the technician and I have struck up a great relationship because he told me he loves working on PC repairs but 99% of his customers are phone or tablet based.
Good then
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,082 (3.38/day)
I would certainly try that but with some crappy old dummy card and not a working 1070.
Considering that he's already had it in the slot and it was ok, I think there is a good chance that it was just a momentary problem. My "gut" feeling thinks the OP will be fine, but it's up to them to test.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
351 (0.08/day)
Location
Canberra Australia
Processor i5 750 4.2ghz 1.4V
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 2X2G Gskill @2140 8-11-8-28-1T
Video Card(s) 2xGainward Phantom3 570@860/4200
Storage 2xWD 500G AAKS Raid0 + 2XWD 1T Green in Raid0
Display(s) 24" HP w2408h+23" HP w2338h
Case SilverStone Raven2E-B
Audio Device(s) onboard for now
Power Supply Antec 1000W Truepower quattro
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
I have mixed feelings about this. If you had come to us BEFORE trying the card in the first slot again, I would have advised against using it. But since you did it already, and it worked without further smoke, I'd say you are probably fine. My "guess" is you shorted some voltage harmlessly to ground and not through some other sensitive circuit or component. Ohm's Law tells us when resistance goes down (the short) and voltage remains the same, current must go up. And when current goes up, typically heat does too. And the smoke was that voltage frying some dust mixed with other contaminants that float around.

Since you have used it and experienced no further problems, I personally think all is okay. But you should still err on the safe side for now and don't leave the computer on unattended for a few days while you use it. And at the first sign/scent of trouble, be ready to quickly unplug the computer from the wall. Remember, simply shutting down through the Start menu or powering off with the computer's front panel power button does NOT completely shut down the power supply. Those actions merely put it in standby mode and +5Vsb standby voltage is still being distributed to multiple points on the motherboard. To stop an electrical fire, you have to completely remove the electricity.

If I have one concern, it is with that Corsair PSU. As I said before, Ohm's Law tells us that short would have caused current to go up. So I wonder why didn't that Corsair PSU sense the excessive current and immediately shut down on its own? :confused: It seems to me it should have.

And why did your Antec die just a week before? Did you have two faulty PSUs in 1 week? Why? A coincidence? I don't know but I recommend you immediately use a AC Outlet Tester to ensure your outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.

And just to ease my mind, since I'm not crazy about the CX series of Corsairs in the first place, and if not mistaken the CXM line stopped production years ago. So if me, I would get a new PSU. I like EVGA SuperNovas and Seasonic.
I really appreaciated your time going through my issue. Thank you Bill_Bright! And all others of course :)

I had the Antec PSU for 12 years, and it was hot here in Western Australia the day it blew up (42 °C ).

I was trying to simplify my situation, what really happened was I used one module cable (its longer) from Antec PSU on the Corsair, assumed it will be compatible but the board won't boot, so I unplugged all module cables on the PSU while the other ends are still connected to devices, so only 24pin and 8pin is connected to see if it will boot.

It booted, then the smoke happened so I shut the power immediately. I believe the card was drawing too much power from the PCIE slot on the board, with the PCIE 8 pin connected to the graphics card, not connected to PSU. I checked both card and board, can't see any visible damage. Rest you know.

I stopped using the Antec cable, everything boots fine, and now have the card in secondary PCIE slot, and a sound card in the first PCIE slot, so far no sign of abnormality.

I will test the outlets also, thank you again for the advice. it may have something to do with the old power board also died from the scene.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
995 (2.83/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
I cannot give advice without seeing pictures of the area where the smoke had appeared. Nor can anyone else.

But given the age, and if it still works, rock it out until you can build a new rig.

My 2 cents, and it's worth it's weight in copper waterblocks.
 
Top