• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overvolting by flashing another vendors bios?

Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
In the ad, Msi says, Supports voltage control, in mSI Afterburner, The voltage slide is locked, my friend says i can unlock voltage control possibly by flashing a Asus Card that supports overvolting on to my MSI, Is this True?, the model number is Raedon Hd 7770 PMD1GD5
 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,632 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
did you already go into the settings and make sure voltage control is unlocked?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
137 (0.07/day)
Likes
19
Location
Portugal
System Name The Homer
Processor i5 3570k @4.3 ghz
Motherboard gigabyte-z77m-d3h
Cooling Titan Cooler
Memory 2 x 4 gb corsair vengeance LP LV white @ 1600 7-8-7
Video Card(s) gigabyte gtx 670 @ 1225/6700
Storage Corsair Force GT 120 Gb; 1 Tb Hard-drive 5400 rpm
Display(s) HP L2335
Case Corsair Carbide 500r white
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dg / sennheiser hd 598
Power Supply Corsair gaming series 720w
#3
Don't flash Bios of different cards... At least I wouldn't.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2012
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
I did check

the voltage is unlocked, still no luck, however, i just want to ask one question, Is it even possible to unlock voltage by flashing another vendors bios?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,632 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
I thought it was based off of the voltage chip used on the card.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,283 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,383
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
I thought it was based off of the voltage chip used on the card.
Yep, the voltage controller is either supported or not, flashing the BIOS won't affect this.