• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overwatch 100% CPU usage on A8-6500/RX560

Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
874 (0.37/day)
Location
California
I have an Athlon X4 760K on order which is ever so slightly better:

But in the mean time what can I do to resolve this, and it's not like that CPU is miles better... I didn't think a 3.5GHz "quad core" (I know, I know, it's really a dual core with hyperthreading or whatever AMD's equivealent of that is) would have any trouble with this game? As per this page, a Phenom II X3 720 is the recommended minimum and it's like half as good as an A8-6500 so I don't understand the problem.

Any input appreciated. I'm hoping to OC the 760K a little bit but nothing crazy, btw. PS: I'm running 1600 RAM, I do have some 1866 RAM on order in case that makes a difference.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,191 (1.58/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 @ 3900MHz / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 4GB Corsair Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz @ 3000MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Banghó MOUSE-PRO-1600 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 LTSC x64 + Arch Linux
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: 2200
Overwatch is heavily multi-threaded, so I guess that's just your CPU being fully used.
Make sure you are on the latest video drivers.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
874 (0.37/day)
Location
California
Overwatch is heavily multi-threaded, so I guess that's just your CPU being fully used.
Make sure you are on the latest video drivers.
Yeah, I just installed Windows 10 yesterday and the driver is the latest directly from AMD website. GPU load is not an issue, it's the CPU being maxed out that's my problem :'(
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,686 (1.96/day)
Location
Vinewood
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
it's the CPU being maxed out that's my problem :'(
Your CPU is the bottleneck.
If you are having stutters: what you could try is to lock your fps with RTSS:

Or use higher settings in the game so that the GPU has to work harder.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,475 (0.39/day)
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B350-F
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW
Case Fractal Designs
Power Supply 800w CM
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
I ran into the same issue with my i5 4690. Unfortunately, this game is VERY cpu bound, especially at high frames. I couldn't get to 144fps to save my life, even while my 980Ti was basically sitting idle. What framerates are you trying to hit? I'd imagine that CPU could do 60fps, but not 100% certain. I've got one, I'll have to try just to see.

Ram speed can help a little. But don't buy new ram just for it, as it's not worth it. Already tried.

The bottom line is, cap your framerates ever lower until you gain some CPU overhead. Sucks, but that's what it is. Mine was so bad it was causing keyboard commands to not go through because the game was pegging the CPU out so hard. Just had to lower the cap on the framerates to 100, which lowered CPU usage to 80-90%, and call it a day.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,690 (1.79/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX @2666 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1060 SC 6G
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G503
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
sFM2 has outlived its usefulness for games. Just recently I've battled this issue with my neighbor: after latest updates his A6-5400k wasn't able to handle even GTX750Ti. GPU was only 10-15% loaded, while CPU was at max and barely putting out 40FPS in CS:GO(low settings, 720p)... Getting a cheap Athlon 870K did not help either. GPU load grew to ~30% and FPS increased to 60 on lowest settings, but it was still a stuttering mess.
I was totally surprised to see how actually bad those CPUs and APUs are in games (while totally fine in HTPC/office applications)...

It's probably time for you to get a ryzen 3 2200G or something like that.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
874 (0.37/day)
Location
California
I ran into the same issue with my i5 4690. Unfortunately, this game is VERY cpu bound, especially at high frames. I couldn't get to 144fps to save my life, even while my 980Ti was basically sitting idle. What framerates are you trying to hit? I'd imagine that CPU could do 60fps, but not 100% certain. I've got one, I'll have to try just to see.

Ram speed can help a little. But don't buy new ram just for it, as it's not worth it. Already tried.

The bottom line is, cap your framerates ever lower until you gain some CPU overhead. Sucks, but that's what it is. Mine was so bad it was causing keyboard commands to not go through because the game was pegging the CPU out so hard. Just had to lower the cap on the framerates to 100, which lowered CPU usage to 80-90%, and call it a day.
All my monitors and TVs are only 60hz so I'm aiming for 60FPS. It sounds like waiting for my 760K to arrive and maybe overclocking it a little is the best effort I can do, and beyond that the FM2 platform is just too weak. I only have 6GB of RAM currently, I bought 8GB of DDR3-1866 because I wanted 8GB not 6... I could have just bought another 4GB 1600 stick but I figured why not spend literally a few bucks more and just upgrade to the faster RAM while I'm at it.

sFM2 has outlived its usefulness for games. Just recently I've battled this issue with my neighbor: after latest updates his A6-5400k wasn't able to handle even GTX750Ti. GPU was only 10-15% loaded, while CPU was at max and barely putting out 40FPS in CS:GO(low settings, 720p)... Getting a cheap Athlon 870K did not help either. GPU load grew to ~30% and FPS increased to 60 on lowest settings, but it was still a stuttering mess.
I was totally surprised to see how actually bad those CPUs and APUs are in games (while totally fine in HTPC/office applications)...

It's probably time for you to get a ryzen 3 2200G or something like that.
Yeah, I'm truly shocked how horrific the FM2 platform really is for gaming! I didn't expect it to be such a fail at Overwatch which didn't strike me as such a heavy game... until I tried it on this computer LOL. Previously I had an A4-5300 in there, it wasn't playable at all. Like 1 FPS... At least with the A8 it's (almost) enjoyable. As soon as I put together my Intel build (I'm missing a few parts) this will just be my secondary computer anyway for my partner to play on, so I didn't want to invest in a super nice PC because it's only going to be used a few times a week.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,159 (0.91/day)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 2700 @ 3400MHz
Motherboard Asus TUF X470-Plus Gaming
Cooling Wraith Spire (RGB)
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Asus Strix R9-285 2GB (stand-in for now new one coming)
Storage 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB SATA AHCI 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD, 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black, 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCIe + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1903)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
Yup FM2 great for home office or HTPC but just crap for everything else time to relegate it to that sort of workload and upgrade to an skt AM4 Ryzen CPU with or without an APU and make it the 6 core minimum
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,686 (1.96/day)
Location
Vinewood
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Try RTSS and lock the fps at 50 or 40.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,475 (0.39/day)
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B350-F
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW
Case Fractal Designs
Power Supply 800w CM
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
All my monitors and TVs are only 60hz so I'm aiming for 60FPS. It sounds like waiting for my 760K to arrive and maybe overclocking it a little is the best effort I can do, and beyond that the FM2 platform is just too weak. I only have 6GB of RAM currently, I bought 8GB of DDR3-1866 because I wanted 8GB not 6... I could have just bought another 4GB 1600 stick but I figured why not spend literally a few bucks more and just upgrade to the faster RAM while I'm at it.



Yeah, I'm truly shocked how horrific the FM2 platform really is for gaming! I didn't expect it to be such a fail at Overwatch which didn't strike me as such a heavy game... until I tried it on this computer LOL. Previously I had an A4-5300 in there, it wasn't playable at all. Like 1 FPS... At least with the A8 it's (almost) enjoyable. As soon as I put together my Intel build (I'm missing a few parts) this will just be my secondary computer anyway for my partner to play on, so I didn't want to invest in a super nice PC because it's only going to be used a few times a week.
I have a 760k as well. It should be able to do 60 fps decently.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
1,306 (0.48/day)
Location
Anchorage Alaska
System Name Matter's / Helios 300 Predator
Processor Ryzen 7 2700 / i7 7700HQ
Motherboard B450 Tomahawk / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Cooling Arctic Freezer eSports Duo
Memory Patriot Viper ddr4 32gb / 32gb gskill ddr4
Video Card(s) gtx1660TI 6GB MSI Gaming X / GTX 1060 6gb
Storage Patriot Viper nvme M2, crucial MX300 275gb, Samsung 860 qvo 1tb
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / 15.6 1080p HD
Case Antec 300 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Audio Device(s) On Board - Steel Series Arctis Pro Wireless Cans
Power Supply Antec 850watt high current pro
Mouse Steel series Rival 600
Keyboard Corsair K70 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Software Win 10 Pro / Win 10 Home
I ran into the same issue with my i5 4690
I had no problems with my 4690k and 1070 on a 4k monitor playing Overwatch. I have since upgraded and gave the 4k monitor and 1070 to my daughter. She is playing Overwatch on it right now with a Ryzen 1200 just fine. Maybe it is the high frame rates, idk. I know I had a great OC going on it too.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,475 (0.39/day)
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B350-F
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW
Case Fractal Designs
Power Supply 800w CM
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,475 (0.39/day)
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B350-F
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW
Case Fractal Designs
Power Supply 800w CM
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
I had no problems with my 4690k and 1070 on a 4k monitor playing Overwatch. I have since upgraded and gave the 4k monitor and 1070 to my daughter. She is playing Overwatch on it right now with a Ryzen 1200 just fine. Maybe it is the high frame rates, idk. I know I had a great OC going on it too.
The higher the frame rates, the more load gets out on the cpu in order to feed the gpu. I imagine at 4k you weren't doing nearly enough fps to put that kind of load on the cpu. My case was specific, because I was trying to do 144fps at just 1080p. It has no problems up to about 120fps.

In the OP's case, his CPU is far less powerful than a 4690, so is having trouble feeding even 60fps to the gpu.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,271 (1.88/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,475 (0.39/day)
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B350-F
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW
Case Fractal Designs
Power Supply 800w CM
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Top