1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Owners: ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by J-Man, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    First off, I just want to tell you that I OC'ed my AMD Athlon X2 4600+ @ 2.41GHz to a 2.64GHz and by doing this I did it in the BIOS > AI Tuning and clicked on Overclock by 10% then saved it and all but does this mean that it's also corrected my volts and etc?

    Secondly, how do I OC my 2GB RAM, which is the XMS Corsair Performance?

    I mean, cause I OC my CPU a bit, is it worth OC'ing anything else like RAM and/or GPU? Is there anything else I can do to level it out? I'm not sure on my GPU cause my card runs idle at 56C and gets to about 68 on gaming.
     
  2. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Anyone?
     
  3. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    When I was searching for a new motherboard, I saw this board. And I thought two things.
    First: Wow, what a pretty motherboard!

    Second: Wow, what an expensive motherboard!

    :p.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Haha?
     
  5. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/121


    Most of its still relevant! :)
     
    J-Man says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. anticlutch

    anticlutch

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    That has nothing to do with what he is asking.

    @J-Man: I'm pretty sure that if you use the AI overclocking then it'll raise volts until the processor and everything else is stable. You can always try using CPU-Z and other utilities to see if it made any changes, too. :D

    And yes, if you're overclocking your CPU, it is also helpful to overclock the ram (GPU is up to you, but personally I wouldn't do it as the 8800 cards produce enough heat when at stock speeds, and because they're fast enough).
     
    J-Man says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    It has plenty to do with what he's doing.

    It shows the mechanics of overclocking, instead of just saying CLICK ME FREE OVERCLOCK..


    :toast:

    As far as I know, AI does NOT increase voltages (as this is VERY risky for an OEM!)
    Specially when he asks
    :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Basically, the best way to OC your cpu and ram is in the bios.

    Now, there are a few ways to do this. BIOS OCing is the safest and best way to do it. Any of the so called automated programs arent really the best way to do anything. They are meant for noobs (no offense) to just set it and forget it as it were. Some of the best automatic ocers would adjust memory and voltages with the 10% if needed (voltages mainly).

    Id set everything to default. then go to the part of the bios where you can adjust the multiplier, htt, FSB, etc. change things in there and go in small increments. Dont adjust voltage unless needed. You may find that you need to set your ram on a divider (in memory settings adjust it from 500 or whatever to a lower mghz, like 450 or so) that way its set to oc at a different level than the cpu. Or you could leave it 1:1 at default settings and it will go up with the cpu. Hope this wasnt too confusing. You can take a look at what Dip pointed out as that will help you.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    It might not have adjusted your volts or memory btw. Its worth OCing any proc to get the most out of it. And ocing the ram is just as well, you will need to find the balance between ram oc and cpu oc. And btw, Anticlutch is right, no need in really ocing that mammoth of a graphics card, its awesome as it is.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Hey J-Man, no offense but you don't know AND listen eitgher how to make your HD have his full capacity woking and you want to O/C?

    Start by the basics, don't rush, you'll just win a fryed CPU and/or mobo...

    Back to topic, you sould take a look at Kursah's Thread about overclocking.


    C'yas
     
  11. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    FYI if you are new to OC'n; the ASUS AI is a good tool to get the feel of it, Yes it adjust everything needed to support the overclock option you selected. However these types of o-clocks are not going to get you the best Benchmark scores or the best gamming. They are however very safe. Like Zeratul uy said check the overclocking threads and read up on some base knowledge then attemp a simple overclock outside of the AI. As you gain confidence, increase your OC. If you run into problems repost. Be sure to calculate out your FSB with memory deviders and adjust your CPU clock accordingly, Have fun, Good luck, and don't go too far, we don't want you frying anything!:toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Personally, I think he should solve the HD issue before thinking in OC... He even know how his system works, coz it's not working at a 100%, plus he had another thread where he says that his pc is "slow" it may be coz of this "10% overclock" he did...
    Dunno, It's just an opinion, take it or leave it....

    Laters!
     
  13. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    My computer was slow on boot-up before I changed my OC options.
     
  14. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Then why you don't try to fix it before doing things that you could regret, as I've said it's an opinion, you just need to fix your probs before trying to get new ones (coz doing that rushed oc can easely burn your compounds)
     
  15. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS

    :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    He don't know what he's doing ¬¬ Why you encourage him to screw his PC? You should encourage him to read more b4 doing something stupid....


    Another thing I've noticed is that always I post something you are there to say something :wtf: Did I done something to you? :confused: Do I owe you something? :wtf:
     
  17. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    (coz doing that rushed oc can easely burn your compounds)

    He means "Components".:toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    ahskdjehihairop I can have errors uhn? Just say "what do you mean" and I'll look if I can traslate it >.< afterall, I'm human and not english native speaker/writer...



    Bah, today it's not a good day (got fever and "sinusitis" (dunno how to say it in English) and it f@cking hurts...

    Well... Laters...
     
  19. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    Don't worry about it most of us are "worldly" and get what you mean anyways!:toast:

    Get some sleep M8!:D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    I can't bro :banghead: I'm working atm :banghead:
     
  21. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    Kinda late for that, I guess you work nights eh?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    It's 1 am here :toast: I work on a lanhouse, that's why I still have internet without rig xD:rockout:
    (but comps here sux hard haha)
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,503 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    Alergias o infermo? Either way hope you feel better amigo.
     
    Zeratul_uy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Zeratul_uy

    Zeratul_uy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    530 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Montevideo, Uruguay
    Do you know "sinusitis"? It's like someone put a stick inside your nose and pierce you your brain :banghead: If I look the floor I feel like my brain weighs like 10 tons and, of course, it hurts pretty bad...

    Let me see if I can find the traslation for Sinusitis in english

    And thx :)
     
  25. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    It's exactly the same Bro. Sinusitus is sinusitus. Also called a sinus Headache, but more acuratly is inflamed sinuses.

    You need a glass of hot tea with honey, lemon and brandy!! LOL :toast:
     
    Zeratul_uy says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)