• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

<P> vertical spacing differs in IE and FF

Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
555
Likes
28
Location
Birmingham, England...
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 2GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 DHX - 1600MH/PC3-12800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4870 1GB
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB Barracuda (RAID 0) 3x 1TB Samsung F3, 140GB WD Maxtor (10,000rpm)
Display(s) 2x 20" LG Flatron L204WS
Power Supply Powercool 850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Anyone know why this could happen or whould I have to post my code? Firsfox looks like it has a 1.5pt line space but IE looks normal.

Thanks
Akumos
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,058
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
My simple test didn't show any difference. I'd guess that it's coming from a misinterpretation of your styling by one of the browsers.

Could you post a bit of the code, or at least enough to replicate what you're seeing?
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
555
Likes
28
Location
Birmingham, England...
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 2GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 DHX - 1600MH/PC3-12800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4870 1GB
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB Barracuda (RAID 0) 3x 1TB Samsung F3, 140GB WD Maxtor (10,000rpm)
Display(s) 2x 20" LG Flatron L204WS
Power Supply Powercool 850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
The code is ALL over the place (made in dreamweaver by an ameture lol):



Thanks for looking!
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,021
Likes
17,872
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
use css attribute margin to set it to the same for all browsers
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
555
Likes
28
Location
Birmingham, England...
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 2GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 DHX - 1600MH/PC3-12800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4870 1GB
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB Barracuda (RAID 0) 3x 1TB Samsung F3, 140GB WD Maxtor (10,000rpm)
Display(s) 2x 20" LG Flatron L204WS
Power Supply Powercool 850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
lol sorry W1zzard, how do I do that?
 

Zyon

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
264
Likes
29
Location
Australia
System Name Computernamehere/Computernamehere2/Computernamehere3
Processor i5-2500/Athlon 6000+/C2D Q6700
Motherboard P67A-UD3R/M2N-SLI Deluxe/P5K-Deluxe
Cooling Stock/Hyper212+/Unknown Coolermaster
Memory Patriot PC3-10666 2x2/A-Data PC2-6400 4x1/OCZ PC2-8500 4x1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX580 Lightning/2x Gigabyte GTS450 OC 1GB/2x HIS HD4870 512MB
Storage Seagate 1TB/Samsung 500GB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Samsung BX2440
Case V4 Black/Mystique 631 Silver/Soprano VX
Audio Device(s) WTF is a sound card?
Power Supply Corsair HX650/Antec Earthwatts 650W Green/None
Software Windows 7 Home/Professional/Professional
Benchmark Scores TBA
#6
Code:
element_name/class_name/id :
{
     margin: #(px/em/etc etc);
}
Example
Code:
body,td,th {
	[B]margin: 5px;[/B]
}
a:link {
	[B]margin: 5px;[/B]
}
a:visited {
	[B]margin: 5px;[/B]
}
a:hover {
	[B]margin: 5px;[/B]
}
a:active {
	[B]margin: 5px;[/B]
}
.bbGrey {
	[B]margin: 5px;[/B]
}
Just add the property into enclosing bracket of which ever html element you need to change. (margin: 5px means 5 pixels margin on all sides for each of the element that you specified using the selector before the braces)
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
555
Likes
28
Location
Birmingham, England...
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 2GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 DHX - 1600MH/PC3-12800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4870 1GB
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB Barracuda (RAID 0) 3x 1TB Samsung F3, 140GB WD Maxtor (10,000rpm)
Display(s) 2x 20" LG Flatron L204WS
Power Supply Powercool 850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
I;ve worked out that FF is displaying 10pt font whereas IE is displaying 12pt...

Even if I put fixed font sizes in HTML and CSS body tags!
 

Zyon

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2011
Messages
264
Likes
29
Location
Australia
System Name Computernamehere/Computernamehere2/Computernamehere3
Processor i5-2500/Athlon 6000+/C2D Q6700
Motherboard P67A-UD3R/M2N-SLI Deluxe/P5K-Deluxe
Cooling Stock/Hyper212+/Unknown Coolermaster
Memory Patriot PC3-10666 2x2/A-Data PC2-6400 4x1/OCZ PC2-8500 4x1
Video Card(s) MSI GTX580 Lightning/2x Gigabyte GTS450 OC 1GB/2x HIS HD4870 512MB
Storage Seagate 1TB/Samsung 500GB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Samsung BX2440
Case V4 Black/Mystique 631 Silver/Soprano VX
Audio Device(s) WTF is a sound card?
Power Supply Corsair HX650/Antec Earthwatts 650W Green/None
Software Windows 7 Home/Professional/Professional
Benchmark Scores TBA
#8
I don't suppose you're trying to make the webpage work properly in IE6? Life sucks with IE6 but I suppose you could set up a massive styling (like some form of 'master reset') with many of the selectors that you're going to use like:

Code:
html, body, p, ul, li, blah blah blah...
{
     (style 1);
     (style 2);
     ...
}
Or, you could get them to just ctrl+ or ctrl- to increase/decrease font size when they are browsing :D (sarcasm)

Yes, working with IE is a pain because they make up their own rules in rendering a text, the preception of 10pt in Firefox and IE may differ.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
555
Likes
28
Location
Birmingham, England...
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 2GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 DHX - 1600MH/PC3-12800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4870 1GB
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB Barracuda (RAID 0) 3x 1TB Samsung F3, 140GB WD Maxtor (10,000rpm)
Display(s) 2x 20" LG Flatron L204WS
Power Supply Powercool 850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
So Annoying! Never had this problem before because I've never had to align eveything so perfectly!

Thanks