• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

p4 2.4 overclock?

mk_ln

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
9
Processor Intel Core i7-970 @ 4.02
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ (dual fans)
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 465 TWIN FROZR II GE flashed to GTX 470 + PNY GTX470 (SLI)
Storage 1x Intel 80GB G2, 1x 320 series 160GB SSD, + 11 other drives totaling a bit over 12TB
Display(s) Samsung 2693 + ASUS VW266H
Case Silverstone TJ07-BW
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z5500
Power Supply Corsair HX850 - Modular
Software XP PRO x86, Vista Ult. x64, Win7 Ult. x64
#1
hi, i was just wondering if it is worth it to overclock my dell 4600 (pll 952601). at first i thought that it wasnt possible to OC my cpu with the mobo i have, however, i came across a method. with all stock hardware and not being able to overclock in the BIOS, is it safe for me to OC my fsb @213 MHz?...i mean, because i cannot lock the AGP and PCI busses and set the dividers, will OCing the fsb mess up anything? (sorry...im new to overclocking :eek:) thanks in advance :)
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#2
Sorry, It's not possible to overclock a dell. There's a sticky devoted to telling people this.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#3
Well, have you tried CPUZ, it has software that lets you increase fsb, agp,pci-e speeds. The only thing is that the results aren't saved. it's more of an On-The-Fly overclocking. BTW it's not CPU-Z it's from the makers of CPU-Z. just search it.
 

mk_ln

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
9
Processor Intel Core i7-970 @ 4.02
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ (dual fans)
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 465 TWIN FROZR II GE flashed to GTX 470 + PNY GTX470 (SLI)
Storage 1x Intel 80GB G2, 1x 320 series 160GB SSD, + 11 other drives totaling a bit over 12TB
Display(s) Samsung 2693 + ASUS VW266H
Case Silverstone TJ07-BW
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z5500
Power Supply Corsair HX850 - Modular
Software XP PRO x86, Vista Ult. x64, Win7 Ult. x64
#4
thanks for the replies :)

infrared said:
Sorry, It's not possible to overclock a dell. There's a sticky devoted to telling people this.
thats what i initially thought as well, however, i came across this. it does actually work, but since it i cant set the dividers for the agp/pci busses i was windering if it was actually worth it to overclock my fsb @213MHz. in doing so, i was able to get my cpu running at about 2.56GHz from stock 2.4GHz. so.....is there any software or anything i can do to make the OC safer? (i.e. lock the AGP/PCI bus speeds or set the dividers). Thanks in advance. :)
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#5
Oh, that's cool. I'll need to have a go at that on the family dell downstairs *shudders*

if you increase the fsb slowly, while running a stress testing program like Prime 95, you will see when you have gone slightly too far, as errors will start showing up.

You won't get a lot more out of it, but anything is good ;)

Good luck :)
 

mk_ln

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
9
Processor Intel Core i7-970 @ 4.02
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ (dual fans)
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 465 TWIN FROZR II GE flashed to GTX 470 + PNY GTX470 (SLI)
Storage 1x Intel 80GB G2, 1x 320 series 160GB SSD, + 11 other drives totaling a bit over 12TB
Display(s) Samsung 2693 + ASUS VW266H
Case Silverstone TJ07-BW
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z5500
Power Supply Corsair HX850 - Modular
Software XP PRO x86, Vista Ult. x64, Win7 Ult. x64
#6
thanks, but is there no way to set the dividers for the AGP/PCI busses :( ?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,950 (1.36/day)
Likes
828
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#7
i doubt it.. your agp bus is a divider of the 200 fsb say 3.. it should be 66mrhz it will probably go up 72 okay..

your pci is a divider of 6 i think and should be 33mhrz.. that should go up to 38 or so okay..

most things will stand up to a 10% overclock.. if your machine runs okay at whatever speed to take it to.. it is okay.. if not u just have to slow it down until it does run okay..

u wont notice a 10% oveclock in real life.. so in some ways it isnt worth doing..

trog
 

mk_ln

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
9
Processor Intel Core i7-970 @ 4.02
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ (dual fans)
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 465 TWIN FROZR II GE flashed to GTX 470 + PNY GTX470 (SLI)
Storage 1x Intel 80GB G2, 1x 320 series 160GB SSD, + 11 other drives totaling a bit over 12TB
Display(s) Samsung 2693 + ASUS VW266H
Case Silverstone TJ07-BW
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z5500
Power Supply Corsair HX850 - Modular
Software XP PRO x86, Vista Ult. x64, Win7 Ult. x64
#8
ok...thanks :D
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#9
No AGP/PCI lock will limit your overclock a lot. a 2.4c (800Mhz) has a lot of potential though in the right board, usually get near the 300Mhz with the stock cooler.
 

mk_ln

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Messages
287 (0.07/day)
Likes
9
Processor Intel Core i7-970 @ 4.02
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ (dual fans)
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 465 TWIN FROZR II GE flashed to GTX 470 + PNY GTX470 (SLI)
Storage 1x Intel 80GB G2, 1x 320 series 160GB SSD, + 11 other drives totaling a bit over 12TB
Display(s) Samsung 2693 + ASUS VW266H
Case Silverstone TJ07-BW
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z5500
Power Supply Corsair HX850 - Modular
Software XP PRO x86, Vista Ult. x64, Win7 Ult. x64
#10
i suppose my board is the wrong type lol...