1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

P5Q Pro oc

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by darkraver109, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. darkraver109 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi.. :)

    Ive been strugeling with this board for over a month now and i cant get my OC Stable in orthos no matter what i do..!

    It Always crashes at 48 min in blend..! :twitch:

    Cpu is a e6420 at 3,40 ghz , 1,5375v , 425 x 9 FSB

    Ram is corsair xms2 2 gigs , 850 mhz c5 , 2,00v , 5-5-5-18

    Ive tested every component.

    And i ran mentest for 1 day wihtout errors at stock speeds..!

    The nb is getting 1,20v

    sorry for my bad english im from denmark :p

    Any suggestions..?
     
  2. jrherras_iii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Belleville, New Jersey
    try Ketxxx modded bios Link
    I think 1.5375 vcore is too much for 3.4
     
  3. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,221 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    right , ketxxx mod cool bios for p5q
     
  4. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Ditto. P5Q boards had A LOT of weird quirks that really only got cleaned up with BIOS 1104.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. darkraver109 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hmm..

    Well i tried the 1004 mbios a long time ago..!

    But it wasnt stable.. :shadedshu

    Is the new any better..?
     
  6. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Could be your North Bridge. 425 is getting on up there and those seem like low volts to me. Ket, what exactly does the mbios do? Which issues are fixed?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Theres endless stuff fixed. mBIOS 1104 includes all Asus fixes as well as the changes I made such as injecting a better memory table and updating the P6 microcode to include a few more CPUs.

    @ darkraver109, 425FSB is pretty high, E6420s generally have around that kind of figure as their upper limit. Looks like 425 is just your FSB wall and nothing to do with anything else. Try running 400FSB for a while and see if you get any problems.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    Ket: What kind of voltages are you using on your nb?
    I'm using your latest bios.
    What about those LLC and such?

    I ran my e8500 @421x9.5 with cpu at 1.3v and nb at auto (which I know is not the best setting).
    Seemed stable using orthos and prime, but I'd like some advise on the volts.

    My last desktop was a 5 years old socket A, so I'm not that up to the whole c2d oc'n.

    Thanks for the bios btw, it's great!
     
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Nb at 1.3v is good for 500fsb on p5q-xxxx,try not to run nb voltage on auto.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    1.2-1.3v should be more than enough on the NB for some high FSB speeds.
     
    Inioch says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Inioch

    Inioch

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Finland
    Thanks tigger & ket!

    I'll post some results to the p45 oc thread when I have the time.

    Do you use the Load Line Calibration and other settings under the oc settings?
    I read in some review that it really does help with the voltages being more stable.

    Btw Ket, if you are considering e8200, go for the 8500, this really rocks and the 9.5 multiplyer is nice.
    At least here in finland, the price difference between 8200 and 8500 is 3€ :rockout:
     
  12. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I'll probably grab a E8400 is a couple days, found somewhere I can get it for about £90, and as I always like using a 9x multi on intel chips for high FSB then the 10x multi with an 8600 would be unused anyway, as would a 9.5 multi on a 8500.

    I would make use of load line calibration, it does help a lot with voltage stability.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)