1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Partitioning Hard Drives to run windows and linux

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DanSandbergUCONN, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. DanSandbergUCONN New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I have a tower with two hard drives. Until now I have been running windows on the first drive and using the second drive as backup. Now I reformatted the backup drive and installed Fedora Core. The installation was successful but how do I get the computer to boot from that drive? I'm in the BIOS and I see where the windows-platform drive is listed as my primary. I scrolled up to this line in the BIOS and tried pressing the spacebar, the return key, the left and right arrows but nothing will change the windows drive to the linux drive.

    Can anyone tell me precisely and specifically how to make this change? Help is much appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    YOu seem to be new. The + and - keys are used to change options in bios.
     
  3. PrudentPrincess

    PrudentPrincess New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    669 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Eugene
    Find a boot options menu in your bios and if you can't select specific hard drives then switch the jumpers on your HD's to make your backup drive the master and your windows drive the slave.
    Hope this helps!
    [​IMG]
     
  4. DanSandbergUCONN New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    New? No, not exactly - I did try the +/- key without success.

    While adjusting the jumper settings would most likely work, I am trying to find an easier way to switch between Windows and Linux. I think I need to actually specify a boot partition even though I have two different drives.

    Thanks all for the help.
     
  5. xfire

    xfire

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,397 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    which motherboard do you have?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)