• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC build for World of Warcraft.

Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Power Muncher.
Processor Intel 2500K @ 4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Z68
Cooling Arctic cooler 13
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600mhz 2x 4GB modules
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 560 TI 448
Storage WD 500GB caviar black/ Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 22" 1920x1080
Case Silverstone PS03 w/ 2 Aerocool Shark (black) Extractor 120mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V1 (still going after 3rd PC)
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
#1
I'm looking for a computer build for under £200 to play WoW at 1920x1080 resolution.

I have this in mind:

Gigabyte GA-G41MT-S2P G41
Intel Pentium Dual core E6600
Coolermaster 450W GX PSU
(OLD) x1950 PRO PCI-E GPU. (already got)
4GB g.SKILL PC2-6400 800mhz (already got)

Would it be better to get a newer GPU or will the x1950 PRO work well enough at that resolution?
 

Evolved

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
352 (0.14/day)
Likes
38
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Cookies N Cream Sundae with Strawberries on top.
Processor Intel | i7 2600K | 4.2Ghz | 1.30v | HT Disabled
Motherboard Asus | Maximus IV Extreme | P67 Chipset | B3 Revision
Cooling Corsair H80 | BZ-502B | Corsair SP120/AF120 | 200mm Spectre Pro
Memory Mushkin Blackline | DDR3 | CL8 | 4x2GB @ 1600Mhz | 1.50v
Video Card(s) Asus | GTX 670 | DirectCU II | GPU: 1056Mhz | MEM: 1803Mhz
Storage Mushkin | Chronos Deluxe | 240GB | R: 560MB/s | W: 520MB/s
Display(s) Asus | VE248H | 24" | LED
Case Corsair | Graphite Series | 600T White | Window Side-Panel
Audio Device(s) Realtek | HD Audio | Creative | Sound Blaster | X-Fi | Go! Pro
Power Supply Corsair | AX850 | 80+ Gold certified | Fully modular
Software Microsoft | Windows 7 | Professional | x64 | OEM
Benchmark Scores BlackWidow | DeathAdder | Goliathus | Creative Fatal1ty Headset
#3
You're going to get less than 30fps with that build, especially at that resolution.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2009
Messages
283 (0.09/day)
Likes
81
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
Processor Phenom II X3 720 BE @ 3.15 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Optima
Memory Corsair XMS2, 2x2 GB DDR2, 800 MHz, CL5
Video Card(s) Asus R9 270X DirectCu II
Storage Caviar Black 500 GB & Caviar Green 1 TB
Display(s) Dell U2311H (23'' IPS)
Case Gigabyte GZ-X5
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Win 7 Pro 64-bit
#4
WoW is pretty playable even at 30 FPS and most players don't force playing with maxed settings... so, if you don't plan to max out every setting there is, you'll do just fine with that GPU

With that said, I would still suggest getting a power-efficient DX11 GPU, for example Radeon HD 5750 or maybe even the GeForce 460 768 MB version
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Power Muncher.
Processor Intel 2500K @ 4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Z68
Cooling Arctic cooler 13
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600mhz 2x 4GB modules
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 560 TI 448
Storage WD 500GB caviar black/ Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 22" 1920x1080
Case Silverstone PS03 w/ 2 Aerocool Shark (black) Extractor 120mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V1 (still going after 3rd PC)
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
#5
we're going to try to use the x1950 pro at low settings. if everything runs slow, i can grab a hd4850 from ebay at £40-50+
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,416 (3.13/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#6

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,379 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#7
Have you considered Llano instead? Or at least the Athlon II X4's? You will need to buy new DDR3 ram, but it shouldn't be expensive.

Something like this:
Athlon II x4 3.2Ghz AMD Phenom II X4 840 Socket AM3 3.2GHz 2MB Cache.....
Some cheap mobo Asus M4A88T-M 880G Socket AM3 Onboard Graphics 8.....
lots of ram G-Skill 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX Memory K...
or something more sensible: Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Blu Memor...

Works out to be £159, Just slap on some PSU. This is very value for money, but leaves no room for graphics card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,274
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
#8
That game is optimized like crap, even my 6950 got horrible FPS in Stormwind city (I'm talking sub 20 fps). I think 1920 with the rest of the settings lower it should work just fine.
That's because those places have hundreds of people in them at a time, if you go to somewhere less populated, like the crossroads you will get a ton of fps. I am doing some blood elf quests atm and I have the settings maxed and im frame capped. I do believe someone on here is selling a 5750 for $80
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.57/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#9
Have you considered Llano instead? Or at least the Athlon II X4's? You will need to buy new DDR3 ram, but it shouldn't be expensive.

Something like this:
Athlon II x4 3.2Ghz AMD Phenom II X4 840 Socket AM3 3.2GHz 2MB Cache.....
Some cheap mobo Asus M4A88T-M 880G Socket AM3 Onboard Graphics 8.....
lots of ram G-Skill 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX Memory K...
or something more sensible: Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Blu Memor...

Works out to be £159, Just slap on some PSU. This is very value for money, but leaves no room for graphics card.
Athlon II would be a bad choice for wow. WoW does not like weak CPU's, especially AMD.

The E6600 would outperform it quite easily.

That game is optimized like crap, even my 6950 got horrible FPS in Stormwind city (I'm talking sub 20 fps). I think 1920 with the rest of the settings lower it should work just fine.
Your 6950 is not the bottleneck. It's your CPU. WoW has serious issues with CPU's; AMD ones to be more specific.

I got well over 50fps in the most populated cities at max settings in 1080p at peak hours with one 6950 on my i7 950 rig. I even got over 30fps at 5760x1080 in cities. The SSD's don't hurt though...


To the OP: Go for the E6600 if you can get all of it cheap. Otherwise scrap it and just go for a really cheap SB build. Even an i3 2100 will do well. I do recommend getting a low end DX11 GPU if you can swing that, e6600 or otherwise. It runs very well in DX11, as it is more optimized.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,379 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#10

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.57/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#11
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
347 (0.08/day)
Likes
51
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 ITX
Cooling Corsair A50 (CPU) and Antec Kuhler 620 (GPU)
Memory G. Skill 8GB 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 290X
Storage OCZ SSD and 1TB Hardrive
Display(s) Dell S2415h
Case Cheap Cougar Case
Power Supply Corsair 650w PSU
Software Windows 10
#12
Are you buying used parts or new? I might be able to work something out depending on how much shipping would cost.

Edit: Shipping costs way too much for anything reasonable. If you get something like Fourstaff posted, you will have a much better computer for WoW anyway.
 
Last edited:

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.57/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#13
I highly recommend going with an intel setup over almost any AMD setup.

Intel will run WoW better, as long as it's a decent c2duo or better.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Power Muncher.
Processor Intel 2500K @ 4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Z68
Cooling Arctic cooler 13
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600mhz 2x 4GB modules
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 560 TI 448
Storage WD 500GB caviar black/ Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 22" 1920x1080
Case Silverstone PS03 w/ 2 Aerocool Shark (black) Extractor 120mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V1 (still going after 3rd PC)
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
#14
I bought a E6550 for £30 used. I think it shall play WoW without a fuss.
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.57/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#15
Yep I used to play wow on an E6400 back when it was new, but then again WoW has changed since then. As long as you don't run max settings, no problem.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.92/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#16
That game is optimized like crap, even my 6950 got horrible FPS in Stormwind city (I'm talking sub 20 fps).
With my i5-2500k I can get at least 60fps in SW at all times with a 5850. Even my Q6600 was capable of getting 30~ fps reliably at nearly maxed settings in SW. Something tells me your CPU isn't playing nice. Also, the game is optimized pretty well for DX11, I believe it was TomsHardware did an article comparing the DX9 and DX11 modes and saw noticeable gains.

EDIT: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/world-of-warcraft-cataclysm-directx-11-performance,2793-7.html
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.57/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#17
That toms hardware review shows how AMD CPU's just don't come close to Intel's in WoW.

Having a DX11 gpu doesn't hurt either.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
2,758 (0.75/day)
Likes
465
#18
<My specs (Ultra Settings) , Wife's (Good)
Org- ~40-50fps dx9/dx11 , ~30-40fps dx9
World- ~120fps+ dx9/dx11 , ~80fps+ dx9

Not much difference when switching between dx9/dx11
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.57/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#19
<My specs (Ultra Settings) , Wife's (Good)
Org- ~40-50fps dx9/dx11 , ~30-40fps dx9
World- ~120fps+ dx9/dx11 , ~80fps+ dx9

Not much difference when switching between dx9/dx11
It's a shame you're using that 460 for PhysX. You should give it to your wife so she can use DX11 :)