• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

pc cutting off and wont come bk on

hovis

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
hi all i wonder if any 1 can help me as i dont really know alot about pc`s what it is im currtley having problems with my pc i could be useing it to watch somthing or to check the net and it will randomly cut off and its hard to get it to come back on sometimes itl come bk on right away if not i need to switch it on and off till if comes on. when it does this you can just hear the hard drive.

my pc spec is

vista ultimate sp2
intel pentium 4 cpu 2.80ghz
2.0gb ram
intel 829 15g/gv/910gl exprss chipset family microsoft corporation xddm


any help would be much appreciated thanks
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#2
Sounds like either your power supply is overloaded or theres a bad connection somewhere.

What is the psu wattage ? & what graphics card do you have ?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
Sounds like either your power supply is overloaded or theres a bad connection somewhere.

What is the psu wattage ? & what graphics card do you have ?
..or it's overheating. :)
 

hovis

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
i have a on borad graphics card its a desktop pc if that helps. i dont think its overheatin i was on holiday there for a week and it had been unpluged for a week i could`t get it to come on was doing that thing where i need to keep switchin it on and off

how do i find out the psu wattage
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
read the sticker on the side of the PSU
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#7
Thats not alot of power to be running a p4 on ! Good job your only using onboard graphics.

It maybe the powersupply is on its way out or a bad connection somewhere. Check the connection blocks to the mobo for signs of overheating & make sure there all pushed on tight.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#8
it sounds like a friends pc. it was doing the same thing it was the psu because when i set in the bios to come straight on again after it went off it did.

look in your bios for a setting called AC POWER ON AFTER POWER LOSS or somthing like that and enable it. if it comes on right away its the powersupply.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#9
The PSU is week get at least a 400w for that setup .
But to be sure list all your stuff ok . HDD(s) , CD ROM(s) fans lights video card ...
 

hovis

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
look in your bios for a setting called AC POWER ON AFTER POWER LOSS or somthing like that and enable it. if it comes on right away its the powersupply.
i dont fully under stand what you mean? i dont really know much about computers lol
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,569 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,469
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#11
PSU is fine for a P4 and onboard VGA i doubt the thing even pulls 100W at 100% load


i would put money that the HSF is clogged with dust and is overheating the cpu
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.38/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#12
Put your hand in there and feel around like I did once.

Processor was overheating as the CPU fan wasn't spinning and I put my hand on/near the processor which read 96C when I booted windows up. :D

Check the CPU. Make sure the fan is seated correctly and is spinning while powered on
 

hovis

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
The PSU is week get at least a 400w for that setup .
But to be sure list all your stuff ok . HDD(s) , CD ROM(s) fans lights video card ...
ive got a 80gb hdd and a dvd bunrning cdrom and 2 fans

theres not a bit of dust inside it i clean it at least once every 2weeks

both fans are on working fine am useing the computer the now
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#14
ive got a 80gb hdd and a dvd bunrning cdrom and 2 fans

theres not a bit of dust inside it i clean it at least once every 2weeks
Get a 300w PSU and see if that fixes it . This sounds like a PSU issue to me . but I have heard of this happen when RAM is going out as well .
 

hovis

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
the ram ats in it i bought few months back. ive got a 512mb stick of ram i tryd that in it earlir today when it wouldt come on and it never came on. i was looking at the 2 plugs coming out the psu going in to the mobo 1 has about 16 pins and the other has 4 the 1 with 4 looks burnt it was kinda of clear now its half black lol
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#16
the ram ats in it i bought few months back. ive got a 512mb stick of ram i tryd that in it earlir today when it wouldt come on and it never came on. i was looking at the 2 plugs coming out the psu going in to the mobo 1 has about 16 pins and the other has 4 the 1 with 4 looks burnt it was kinda of clear now its half black lol
Can you take a picture of it ?
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#17
Check the connection blocks to the mobo for signs of overheating & make sure there all pushed on tight.
Thats a poor connection & high resistance generating heat. That is almost shaw to be your problem. You need to clean up the metal contacts & make shaw its a good tight fit. Solder it if need be !
 

hovis

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
i ran Memory Diagnostics Tool and it says it detected hardware problems but i cant get the results because my computer wont restart after the test i need to switch it on and off at the wall.
heres sum pics





 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#19
OMG !!! Dude you need a new PSU !! Possibly even a new mobo unless the mobo still works get a NEW PSU NOW ! DO NOT USE THAT PSU ANY MORE !
 

hovis

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
lol the whole pc is on the mobo it still works when its on it works fine am on it the now. what psu will i get that will fit in
 

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#21
Damn im suprised the pc even works like trickson stated you need a new psu and i wouldnt carry on using your pc until you get a new power supply
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.03/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#22
Do yourself a favour and get a new pc...
or get a new PSU at least....
 

hovis

New Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
im going to get 1 a need to know what 1 to get 1st. theres not a lot of room
 
Last edited:

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#25
That should work fine yeah. But £25 :eek:

Just two things before you shell out for that psu.

First, i doubt there is anything wrong with the psu the connection has had high resistance generating heat. Hense the plug has gone abit black. That is not a faulty psu but just that 4 pin plug. If you want to save time & money clean up the metal contacts & solder the 4 wires onto the 4 pins on the mobo.

Second, if you are replacing the psu get a second hand one from somewhere. I have 3 kicking around u could have had one if you was local ! 300 to 400watt psu's are almost worth nothing these days. I wouldnt spend more the £5 or $8 on one if i was you.