• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC died, help diagnose pls :)

Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,526 (0.73/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64
Woke up one morning to black screen and no power to usb devices.

Restarted and it got stuck on Windows repair loading screen.

So I made a Windows USB stick to reinstall and it now freezes on the black loading screen that has blue Windows logo.

Tried unplugging everything and running just one ram stick.

No idea if it's the CPU, motherboard, or GPU and I unfortunately don't have any extra components to test

Which part do you think will need replacing?

Thanks!
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,005 (4.22/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
If you've unplugged everything and still wont boot id say you have a dead board or bad power supply. Try install windows on a spare hard drive or SSD.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
748 (0.50/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Probably a HDD or SSD is dead. Try unplug HDD and SSD one by one until you can boot into Windows.
If you have just 1 HDD or SSD then unplug it and see if you make it into the Windows installation with the USB stick.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,526 (0.73/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64
I've tried with just ssd plugged in, just HDD plugged in, and no drives plugged in, same result
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2019
Messages
449 (0.94/day)
System Name Custom
Processor i9 9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 arous master
Cooling corsair h150i
Memory 4x8 3200mhz corsair
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 EX Gamer White OC
Storage 500gb Samsung 970 Evo PLus
Display(s) MSi MAG341CQ
Case Lian Li Pc-011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply 850w Seasonic Focus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G110
have you noticed any irregularities before the black screen?
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,526 (0.73/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,005 (4.22/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Rip everything out and do a 'dry' build. Make sure you re-seat the CPU and clean the contacts on the ram modules. The dry build should rule out any sort of earthing issues it might have been having with the case. Earthing doesnt happen as much as it used to but it does happen occasionally.

If it still doesnt work with everything stripped out then it could be the board itself thats boned. If you can borrow any spare parts to test, now would be the time to get them as you have everything stripped out.

Trip the pins on the motherboard to start it up and see what happens
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,652 (0.65/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
I've ran into this before in a system that was given to me, the previous owner had retired it due to USB issues they coudn't resolve.
In this case the system was so full of dust it was affecting the USB controller. Nothing at all USB related would work and the system didn't want to boot the OS at first, it finally started booting it after I blew it out with air but the USB stuff was still not working.

With all that I thought it coudn't hurt to pop it in the dishwasher, at least after that I could inspect it better for any possible visible signs of hardware failure so that's what I did.
After letting it go through a wash cycle I made sure the board was fully dry before applying power and inspected it, then tested again.
The USB controller just started working again with nothing else done and was still working right up until the day I sold the board.

The system had so much dust in it I could have done an entry into the nasty PC pic club - A real dust bunny farm TBH.
If yours looks like it may need cleaning out I'd do that and see if it starts working again.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
108 (0.17/day)
System Name My PC
Processor AMD 2700 x @ 4.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming
Cooling Zalman CNPS20X
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 570 PULSE
Storage Adata Ultimate SU800
Case Phanteks Eclipse P500A
Audio Device(s) Logitech G51
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX, 80+ Gold, 550W
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121
That MB should have diagnostic LEDs. Check what message they give.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,526 (0.73/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64
Tried reseating CPU, taking mobo out of case, still no good.

No motherboard diagnostic lights come on when it crashes.

Is there any way to tell if it's the CPU or motherboard?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,005 (4.22/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Is there any way to tell if it's the CPU or motherboard?
Either test a different CPU with the board or test your CPU in a different board.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,719 (1.52/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
If you have no alternative to swap-testing your MB and CPU then your couple of options are
Phone a compatible FRIEND
Take it to a shop for a inexpensive Shop Test ( some shops will test for free.)
Downside of a shop test is if they are iffy they may lie to you in order to sell you replacments.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,526 (0.73/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64
I'm thinking of just going down to pc works tomorrow, picking up a 3600 and if it's still fucked, just return it, buy a b550 and 5600x when they're released
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,268 (0.24/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900x @4.2-4.46
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus STRIX 3090 OC(order cancelled) Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/120gbKingston ssd
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
Good luck keep us updated. Ive been through your situation on my own builds a couple of times. Its a nightmare, you get up and you notice the pc isnt on. Then it wont boot... You take a deep breath and then enter the matrix for a couple of days, coming out the other side with a working computer and 48hours spent in solid contemplation whilst navigating the problem. :toast:
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,005 (4.22/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
I'm thinking of just going down to pc works tomorrow, picking up a 3600 and if it's still fucked, just return it, buy a b550 and 5600x when they're released
My suggestion would be to pick up a board rather than a new CPU. CPUs just rarely suddenly kick the bucket like that unless you've been pushing some serious voltage through them.

Alternatively. if you'd rather go down the route of picking up the cheapest and nastiest POS board you can get for your money just to test that your current CPU is working that also wouldnt be a bad move either. Ask for any B or C grade open box items.

That way if it does turn out to be a faulty board you've got a cheap POS to run with till the 5600X drops then you can convert the cheap board into low end HTPC, server, sell it or keep it for spares and troubleshooting.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,198 (4.57/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I'm thinking of just going down to pc works tomorrow, picking up a 3600 and if it's still fucked, just return it, buy a b550 and 5600x when they're released
That's a scum move in my opinion, you're basically making that new CPU a used unit for no other reason than your desire to get a free test unit.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
13,753 (2.83/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER XC ULTRA
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
That's a scum move in my opinion, you're basically making that new CPU a used unit for no other reason than your desire to get a free test unit.
I did this once a long time ago (to flash a bios) and still feel guilty about it. It's probably one of my few moments I look back on and go "wow, you really have no soul, you CPU swapping returner. CompUSA hates you now."
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,788 (2.25/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
I've tried with just ssd plugged in, just HDD plugged in, and no drives plugged in, same result
You can access the bios or it just black?
Looks like it's from the board
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,526 (0.73/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64
Can access bios, but can't get into Windows or Windows installation. Ordered MSI b450 tomahawk max. Hope it fixes

Will probably upgrade to ryzen 5000 series in January when the b450s get the bios update to support it
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,526 (0.73/day)
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 16GB Flare X @ 3200MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro+
Storage 500GB evo 970 m.2 + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Windows 10 x64
Was CPU all along, sorted now
 
Top