• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC freezes on games troubleshooting need help!

nta3392

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core Duo 3.0Ghz E6850
Motherboard MSI P45 Neo-F
Cooling Fans
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix PC 8500
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD4850
Storage 500 GB WD
Display(s) CRT 17"
Case SIGMA ORCA Steel ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply HEC 585W
Software XP Pro. 32 bit
Benchmark Scores no overclocking
#1
Hello


Well i recently managed to build me a system,1week old

Pc Chips p53G:ohwell:
Intel Xeon 3070 2.66Ghz 4mb
2gb crucial ballistix pc-8500(running at 667 due to mobo)
Visionteq HD4850
400W Antec smartpower 2.0

For some reasons it just freezes completely when gaming(COD4 after ~20-30 mins and it doesnt past 10 secs mark in age of empires 3[a 2005 game])and once in youtube, image stays the same and nothin else responds i have to manually power it off...
the video card is not running extremely hot, the maximum it got i thkn its high 60s. but i still did that fan fix and got it to 65% and was even cooler but it started freezing even more.
I'm thinkking now it's either the mobo or the power supply
can any1 please help me find the faulty component?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Antec smartpower 400w's are utter junk. It would be extrememly helpful to replace it with something quality like a Corsair. Yeah, the motherboard isn't very good either, but start with the psu before it blows. Are either of them your current problem? Don't know really. Could be a driver issuse...
 

nta3392

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core Duo 3.0Ghz E6850
Motherboard MSI P45 Neo-F
Cooling Fans
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix PC 8500
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD4850
Storage 500 GB WD
Display(s) CRT 17"
Case SIGMA ORCA Steel ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply HEC 585W
Software XP Pro. 32 bit
Benchmark Scores no overclocking
#3
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
526 (0.15/day)
Likes
55
#4
Sounds like a power supply problem, although you can never be 100% accurate on a prediction like that. If you don't already have a spare power supply in the closet, it wouldn't hurt to get a new one and toss your old on in there as a spare since there will likely be a time in the future when you'll wish you had a spare.

Remember that the main thing to look at is the amps needed by your video card and the amps put out on the 12v line(s) on the power supply. I don't know what the 4850 needs, so I can't comment further on that.

One could argue that going overkill on a power supply isn't a bad thing because the stronger it is, the less it has to work, and the less it has to work the longer it will last, so it kind of pays for itself. What I know for sure is I have more confidence in my computer handling anything after putting a 900-watt Coolermaster in there. It's not the super-best, but for around $65 after rebate, hey. The nice-watt Corsairs tend to go on sale for around $20 less. I wouldn't have minded one of those, either.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
Antec smartpower 400w's are utter junk. It would be extrememly helpful to replace it with something quality like a Corsair. Yeah, the motherboard isn't very good either, but start with the psu before it blows. Are either of them your current problem? Don't know really. Could be a driver issuse...
I can vouch for smartpowers being junk. :banghead:
Yeah dude you got some great hardware running on a crappy psu. Send that smartjunker PSU to silicon hell and get a new one. What's your price range?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6

nta3392

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core Duo 3.0Ghz E6850
Motherboard MSI P45 Neo-F
Cooling Fans
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix PC 8500
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD4850
Storage 500 GB WD
Display(s) CRT 17"
Case SIGMA ORCA Steel ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply HEC 585W
Software XP Pro. 32 bit
Benchmark Scores no overclocking
#7
and i thought antec was a good brand when i bought it:banghead:
for now i can't spend more than 50$ shipped before any rebate
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2008
Messages
526 (0.15/day)
Likes
55
#8
Plenty of good comments about the Antec Earthwatts series. Maybe it's just the Smartpower series that's not so good.

If there aren't any good deals at the moment, you maybe can get by by downclocking the video card. Had to do that once on a 7600GT while figuring out the lock-up problem, and it was still surprisingly quick at half-speed. Performance will of course take a hit, but it beats locking up the computer and things should still be playable.
 

nta3392

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Processor Intel Core Duo 3.0Ghz E6850
Motherboard MSI P45 Neo-F
Cooling Fans
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix PC 8500
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD4850
Storage 500 GB WD
Display(s) CRT 17"
Case SIGMA ORCA Steel ATX Mid Tower
Power Supply HEC 585W
Software XP Pro. 32 bit
Benchmark Scores no overclocking
#9
Well, it seems i went from bad to worst and now i need some SERIOUS HELP

My computer wont pass the vista login screen now because i can't type the password because the keyboard doest respond at all in that screen. what's even weirder is that it works perfectly in the bios options and other pcs.
Any help...other than reformatting:respect: