• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC Hangs when I hear a ticking sound

FewFlyBy

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2015
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Hello, so I have these ticking sound and can't find it in my cpu but I recorded the sound so that someone can help me if it sounds so familiar. This is the link of the sound Thank you!


link removed by moderator
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,507 (0.50/day)
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Asus Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz + 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz (running all 3200MHz)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z. DTS sound over SPDIF
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard ASUS Strix Tactic Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
1,076 (0.39/day)
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard PRIME X370-A
Cooling Wraith Prism
Memory Adata 2x8
Video Card(s) RX580 8gb Nitro
Power Supply Seasonic 620w
Software Win 10 x64
Welcome to TPU:toast:
+1 to hdd disconnect it and try again.
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,983 (2.06/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
hard drive about ready to die
backup any critical data and replace the drive ASAP
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
159 (0.03/day)
Location
Chilliwack, BC
Processor AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX 1.01
Cooling Zalman 9900NT
Memory 16GB G Skill TridentX DDR3 2400 @2133 CL9-11-11-31 F3-2400C10-8GTX
Video Card(s) XFX Double D R9-390-TDFD 8GB 512-Bit GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850Pro 128GB, WD VelociRaptor 600GB, Seagate 7200.14 500GB
Display(s) HP LP2065 IPS x2
Case Coolermaster Elite RC-330 ATX
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Plus
Power Supply Corsair TX850W V2 Single 70A Rail
Mouse Asus 0K100-00030200
Keyboard IBM KB-9930
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 1.21GW @88MPH
Yep sounds like a Seagate in its death throes...
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,096 (4.54/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Yeah, you won't find a ticking noise in your Central Processing Unit, because they don't have moving parts in the processor.
Like others have said, it sounds like the hard drive in your computer.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
1,076 (0.39/day)
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard PRIME X370-A
Cooling Wraith Prism
Memory Adata 2x8
Video Card(s) RX580 8gb Nitro
Power Supply Seasonic 620w
Software Win 10 x64
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,808 (6.11/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (34'' 3440x1440x)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
While you are at it - replace the HDD with an SSD and drop your OS install on there. No matter what other HDD you put your data on, that way you will prevent the issue from ever causing your PC to hang again.

And it results in a much more responsive system overall.

Pick up a 128gb Crucial MX100 or 256gb if you feel like putting other stuff like games on it as well. Great value for money.
 

FewFlyBy

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2015
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Thank you everyone! I have 3 HDD's for now and the latest HDD came from my old laptop. Maybe it is the one causing it because it's the latest HDD I installed. I don't know how to check if it is the one causing it because I've tried removing it and sometimes the sound is still present. I benchmarked all HDD's using HD Tune Pro and here are the results:

My HD with the installed OS:
main.png

Another HD:
samsung.png

Newly installed HD (Came from my old laptop):
hitachi.png
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
682 (0.15/day)
Location
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
System Name The Phoenix (rev. 3.0)
Processor Intel Core i9 9900K @ 4.9GHz (1.18V)
Motherboard ASUS TUF Z390 PRO-GAMING
Cooling Custom Full Loop w/EKWB & Swiftech components
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200MHz (C15)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 SeaHawk X EK @ 2.15GHz/5.5GHz
Storage Samsung 970 EVO+ (2x500GB) + Toshiba X300 (4TB)
Display(s) LG 29UM65-P (2560x1080 @ 75 Hz)
Case Thermaltake Core V51
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 7.1 & Scarlett 2i4 w/M-AUDIO BX5-D2
Power Supply Corsair RM750 (ver. 2019)
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
Software MacOS 10.13.6 "High Sierra" & Windows 10 Pro x64
It can be also one of your another two hard drives that started failing, i'll try with just one HD connected per time, and see if you can hear the sound ... then you could isolate what HD is failing or if it wasn't coming from there, but my guess is the same as the others, failing HDD, you just have to realize which one.

Good luck :toast:
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,983 (2.06/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
I am betting on the boot-drive being the one at fault usually a secondary drive having a momentary hang won't be enough to cause a system crash
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
682 (0.15/day)
Location
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
System Name The Phoenix (rev. 3.0)
Processor Intel Core i9 9900K @ 4.9GHz (1.18V)
Motherboard ASUS TUF Z390 PRO-GAMING
Cooling Custom Full Loop w/EKWB & Swiftech components
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200MHz (C15)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 SeaHawk X EK @ 2.15GHz/5.5GHz
Storage Samsung 970 EVO+ (2x500GB) + Toshiba X300 (4TB)
Display(s) LG 29UM65-P (2560x1080 @ 75 Hz)
Case Thermaltake Core V51
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 7.1 & Scarlett 2i4 w/M-AUDIO BX5-D2
Power Supply Corsair RM750 (ver. 2019)
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
Software MacOS 10.13.6 "High Sierra" & Windows 10 Pro x64
I am betting on the boot-drive being the one at fault usually a secondary drive having a momentary hang won't be enough to cause a system crash
Yeah, my bet would be for the same one as you say, but maybe he has some programs/data that are constantly used by the OS in the other drives that could affect as well, I was just saying that to isolate the HD problem and to determine which one, but definitely I'll leave just the currently-OS-installed one connected for the first test :toast:
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,808 (6.11/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (34'' 3440x1440x)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Yes non OS drives dont cause PC freezes, you just cant access the data on it
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
682 (0.15/day)
Location
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
System Name The Phoenix (rev. 3.0)
Processor Intel Core i9 9900K @ 4.9GHz (1.18V)
Motherboard ASUS TUF Z390 PRO-GAMING
Cooling Custom Full Loop w/EKWB & Swiftech components
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200MHz (C15)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 SeaHawk X EK @ 2.15GHz/5.5GHz
Storage Samsung 970 EVO+ (2x500GB) + Toshiba X300 (4TB)
Display(s) LG 29UM65-P (2560x1080 @ 75 Hz)
Case Thermaltake Core V51
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 7.1 & Scarlett 2i4 w/M-AUDIO BX5-D2
Power Supply Corsair RM750 (ver. 2019)
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
Software MacOS 10.13.6 "High Sierra" & Windows 10 Pro x64
Yes non OS drives dont cause PC freezes, you just cant access the data on it
Not wanting to open a discussion here, but I had freezes/other problems due to faulty HD's not being the OS one due to they wanted to access data from that HD, and sometimes it's not "they can't access the data" ... sometimes the data they get is corrupted and can produce a hardware error as well. At least, it's what I can tell from my experience. Also I must say that this happened to me more than 10 years ago and I didn't had any other HD problem along this time, hope it continues as this.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,712 (1.52/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
Thank you everyone! I have 3 HDD's for now and the latest HDD came from my old laptop. Maybe it is the one causing it because it's the latest HDD I installed. I don't know how to check if it is the one causing it because I've tried removing it and sometimes the sound is still present
A Ghetto method of Diagnosing which of your Many hard drives is Noisy and probably failing is
With an open case and the system powered on place a screwdriver (handle end) to your ear touch the other (blade end) to the Body of the hard drive listen
repeat for each hard drive.
the one making the worst noise is probably the one failing
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,808 (6.11/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (34'' 3440x1440x)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Not wanting to open a discussion here, but I had freezes/other problems due to faulty HD's not being the OS one due to they wanted to access data from that HD, and sometimes it's not "they can't access the data" ... sometimes the data they get is corrupted and can produce a hardware error as well. At least, it's what I can tell from my experience. Also I must say that this happened to me more than 10 years ago and I didn't had any other HD problem along this time, hope it continues as this.
Oh certainly I've had it as well in the past, but I have also had a faulty HDD in my Windows 7 machine (this current one) with the exact same symptoms as OP, and not once did it result in freezes, hiccups or reboots, and that is with the OS disk being an SSD and over 1 full year of using the faulty HDD.

I would imagine if the HDD was your cache disk it could hang. But in Win7, most if not all non-essential hardware errors just result in a popup and them getting turned off in system agent.

Surely there are going to be some edge cases where it could happen but with W7's kernel it is pretty hard.
 

FewFlyBy

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2015
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
A Ghetto method of Diagnosing which of your Many hard drives is Noisy and probably failing is
With an open case and the system powered on place a screwdriver (handle end) to your ear touch the other (blade end) to the Body of the hard drive listen
repeat for each hard drive.
the one making the worst noise is probably the one failing
I'll try this one. Thanks

Sometimes the sound is not present and it functions pretty well. After some days it comes back..
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,311 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Eleventy
loading that link in the OP just loaded pages of ads for me, so it has been removed. feel free to use an ad-free file host instead.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2014
Messages
85 (0.04/day)
Grab the windows installer version of gsmartcontrol here,

http://gsmartcontrol.sourceforge.net/home/index.php/Downloads

You should be easily able to tell which drive is starting to fail, click on a drive, then attributes tab. Usually the failing drive with have a reallocated sector count above 0, and also crc error count above 0. (btw, when something says 'pre-failure/old age' that this can also apply to new drives, so you can ignore that info.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,096 (4.54/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Grab the windows installer version of viruses here,
Fixed it for you.
Sourceforge seems to have a few bugs now, can't say I fully trust them as a download source.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,856 (3.68/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech G602
Software MacOS 10.15.6
Fixed it for you.
Sourceforge seems to have a few bugs now, can't say I fully trust them as a download source.
SF is fine. If you're talking about software that includes adware in it, you can blame the software devs of that project for it. SF has been fine and hasn't caused any issues except for people who aren't more careful with installers. Lets stay on topic. ;)

I personally like GSmartControl as it can read through my RAIDs. There aren't any other SMART tools that provide as much control over SMART data than the smartctl CLI tool which I'm pretty sure GSmartControl uses under the hood.
 

FewFlyBy

New Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2015
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
SF is fine. If you're talking about software that includes adware in it, you can blame the software devs of that project for it. SF has been fine and hasn't caused any issues except for people who aren't more careful with installers. Lets stay on topic. ;)

I personally like GSmartControl as it can read through my RAIDs. There aren't any other SMART tools that provide as much control over SMART data than the smartctl CLI tool which I'm pretty sure GSmartControl uses under the hood.
Hello, how to properly use GSmartControl?

I checked all of my drives using GSmartControl and saw this one on my Hitachi drive..

Untitled.png
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,856 (3.68/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech G602
Software MacOS 10.15.6
I checked all of my drives using GSmartControl and saw this one on my Hitachi drive..

View attachment 63850
One reallocated sector is okay. You run into problems when that number starts growing quickly. Anything over 10 in my book is a cause for concern, but 1 isn't anything to worry about. Occasionally drives will simply have a bad block that can't be used. It happens.

I do notice that the start-stop counter exceeds the power-on time. You should try disabling HDD power saving so the drives don't spin down. If they're spinning up and down often, you may fry the motor and if they're spun down and you need to access something, it needs to spin back up again before anything can happen. A great example are my WD Blacks. They can take as long as 8 or 9 seconds to fully spin up to speed, so it only makes sense to keep them spinning as opposed to having to wait almost 10 seconds just to access the drives.
 
Top