• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC is now BSODing/Hard Lock SC2/BF3, randomly, really could use some help.

Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
457 (0.11/day)
Likes
23
System Name The Terminator.
Processor Intel i7 950 3.06Ghz.
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-Extreme
Cooling Stock.
Memory Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 2000MHz Dominator-GT Memory Kit CL8 (8-9-8-24) 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6950 2GB GDDR5.
Storage WD 1TB 3.5" SATA-III 6Gb/s / OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD.
Display(s) 24'' Widescreen Samsung 1080p.
Case Antec 1200 Gaming Case.
Audio Device(s) Realtek.
Power Supply TX 650W Corsair
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit
#1
Hello guys,

I'm having real trouble with my PC all of a sudden, and i don't quite know what it is and im on the verge of tears! It seems to occur mainly when gaming, as i haven't had the crash whilst using desktop or the internet. I haven't tried running any movies or anything yet either. The game BSOD's, particularly in SC2, but its so random im having real trouble re-creating it to write down the BSOD error. It can range from hours to 30 minutes before it happens and i haven't been able to re-create it since the last BSOD, last night.

In Battlefield 3, the game simply hard-locks after around 15 minutes. I am also experiencing the green flashing across screen, which wasn't present a week ago at all and i could play BF3 for hours. However, this appears to be a common issue with BF3 as well, which makes it hard to know whether this is indicative of a problem on my end, or with BF3.

I recently formatted 2 weeks ago, as well as over clocked, and have been running my PC perfectly fine for a full week until around a week or so ago i began receiving these crashes. In either case, here's what i have done so far to try and remedy the problem.

I have;

  • Restored BIOS to default values - no success.
  • Monitored heat temps - GPU @ 70-75*C, CPU @ 50-60*C on load.
  • Ran Prime95 during overclocking period which passed.
  • Cleaned out PC with CCleaner
  • Updated ATi Drivers from 11.9 (previously working fine) to 11.10 (latest 31st Oct) using driver sweeper.
  • Disabled HyperThreading - no success.

Does anyone have any ideas? I'm stuck. My last resort is to format yet again, which means hours of copying across 250gb of backups again with no guarantee of fixing it. Would appreciate all and any help. :respect::respect::respect:

PS: I have attached my .dmp files. The error i received in EVent Log seemed inconclusive to me, as after typing it into Google it came with lots of different results and i could not pin-point one to mine. This is the error in Event Log i get when my PC has started up, maybe someone can make much of it. As much as i gathered was that its a general Win7 error that means nothing. Perhaps my DUMP files would be more useful to someone who can actually decode them.

Event filter with query "SELECT * FROM __InstanceModificationEvent WITHIN 60 WHERE TargetInstance ISA "Win32_Processor" AND TargetInstance.LoadPercentage > 99" could not be reactivated in namespace "//./root/CIMV2" because of error 0x80041003. Events cannot be delivered through this filter until the problem is corrected.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
630 (0.14/day)
Likes
156
Location
A suburb of Chicago, IL
System Name The W.O.P.R.
Processor Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz 1.24 vcore
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Xigmatek S1283 with push\pull fan configuration.
Memory 6GB Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20
Video Card(s) 2 - ASUS EAH5850 CrossfireX
Storage 1TB WD Black
Display(s) I-INC 28" 1920x1200 HDMI
Case Ultra M998
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
#2
Are you overclocking your video card at all? This definitely seems video card related. I don't think it is your power supply since you passed Prime95 without a lockup\reboot. I would test your video card using the the gpu test on OCCT.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#3
Did you try running memtest for maybe an hour or more?

Also i too get green flashes at times in BF3 on my 6970, it's never been enough of a problem for me to do anything about it though since it doesn't occur all the time and it usually only lasts like a second. I'm using the 11.10 preview drivers and i'm thinking it's a issues with AMD cards/drivers.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
457 (0.11/day)
Likes
23
System Name The Terminator.
Processor Intel i7 950 3.06Ghz.
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-Extreme
Cooling Stock.
Memory Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 2000MHz Dominator-GT Memory Kit CL8 (8-9-8-24) 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6950 2GB GDDR5.
Storage WD 1TB 3.5" SATA-III 6Gb/s / OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD.
Display(s) 24'' Widescreen Samsung 1080p.
Case Antec 1200 Gaming Case.
Audio Device(s) Realtek.
Power Supply TX 650W Corsair
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit
#4
Are you overclocking your video card at all? This definitely seems video card related. I don't think it is your power supply since you passed Prime95 without a lockup\reboot. I would test your video card using the the gpu test on OCCT.
Video card is untouched my friend. Never seen OCCT before, will run a test now.

EDIT: BTW what should i be looking for with this GPU test? Many thanks!


Did you try running memtest for maybe an hour or more?

Also i too get green flashes at times in BF3 on my 6970, it's never been enough of a problem for me to do anything about it though since it doesn't occur all the time and it usually only lasts like a second. I'm using the 11.10 preview drivers and i'm thinking it's a issues with AMD cards/drivers.
Haven't tried memtest yet, will give that a go after i have run this OCCT test.

Good to hear about those green flashes. Strange that i have only started experiencing them recently though, and not for a week after release.

Again thanks for taking the time to help me out.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
457 (0.11/day)
Likes
23
System Name The Terminator.
Processor Intel i7 950 3.06Ghz.
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-Extreme
Cooling Stock.
Memory Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 2000MHz Dominator-GT Memory Kit CL8 (8-9-8-24) 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6950 2GB GDDR5.
Storage WD 1TB 3.5" SATA-III 6Gb/s / OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD.
Display(s) 24'' Widescreen Samsung 1080p.
Case Antec 1200 Gaming Case.
Audio Device(s) Realtek.
Power Supply TX 650W Corsair
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit
#5
Well here are some results from OCCT. Looks ordinary to me, no errors either.



 
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
630 (0.14/day)
Likes
156
Location
A suburb of Chicago, IL
System Name The W.O.P.R.
Processor Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz 1.24 vcore
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Xigmatek S1283 with push\pull fan configuration.
Memory 6GB Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20
Video Card(s) 2 - ASUS EAH5850 CrossfireX
Storage 1TB WD Black
Display(s) I-INC 28" 1920x1200 HDMI
Case Ultra M998
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
#6
It is probably driver related. AMD has had some issues getting things running right with BF3. I will be running BF3 tonight with a 6950 with the latest drivers available (not the preview I believe). I'll see if I can replicate what is happening.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
457 (0.11/day)
Likes
23
System Name The Terminator.
Processor Intel i7 950 3.06Ghz.
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-Extreme
Cooling Stock.
Memory Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 2000MHz Dominator-GT Memory Kit CL8 (8-9-8-24) 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6950 2GB GDDR5.
Storage WD 1TB 3.5" SATA-III 6Gb/s / OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD.
Display(s) 24'' Widescreen Samsung 1080p.
Case Antec 1200 Gaming Case.
Audio Device(s) Realtek.
Power Supply TX 650W Corsair
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit
#7
It is probably driver related. AMD has had some issues getting things running right with BF3. I will be running BF3 tonight with a 6950 with the latest drivers available (not the preview I believe). I'll see if I can replicate what is happening.
I wish it were as simple as that, but these hard locks and BSOD's were occuring before i updated my drivers. :(

I can try rolling back to 11.09, but they seem to be AWOL from the ATi site and i can't find them anywhere.

Any other ideas?
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.74/day)
Likes
351
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
#8
Should be able to find 11.9 on google quite easily.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#9
Did you try running memtest for maybe an hour or more?
+1, there is no point looking at software issues until the RAM is cleared of blame. The symptoms seem very typical of RAM failure and Memtest is the fastest way to find the fault if it exists.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
457 (0.11/day)
Likes
23
System Name The Terminator.
Processor Intel i7 950 3.06Ghz.
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-Extreme
Cooling Stock.
Memory Corsair 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 2000MHz Dominator-GT Memory Kit CL8 (8-9-8-24) 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6950 2GB GDDR5.
Storage WD 1TB 3.5" SATA-III 6Gb/s / OCZ Vertex 120GB SSD.
Display(s) 24'' Widescreen Samsung 1080p.
Case Antec 1200 Gaming Case.
Audio Device(s) Realtek.
Power Supply TX 650W Corsair
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit
#10
Should be able to find 11.9 on google quite easily.
That's what i thought, im either missing something, or it's just not being hosted anywhere but ATi's site, even though 11.09 appears to be down.

+1, there is no point looking at software issues until the RAM is cleared of blame. The symptoms seem very typical of RAM failure and Memtest is the fastest way to find the fault if it exists.
Ran Memtest for 1 pass, it said 'no errors found, press esc to exit', so i left it to continue for another 30 mins - 1 hour pass and it just stopped @ 100% but kept running through the test with no errors so i assume the memory is okay. Would it be worth running it for longer over night or is that unnecessary?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,680 (2.69/day)
Likes
1,998
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#11
have you checked any background services that may eat much resources
btw it happens mostly in gaming?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,655 (0.51/day)
Likes
236
Location
slovenia , europe
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0 GHz OC
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Pro, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Edge 550W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#12
you might make a full DUMP using a large pagefile as much as you have ram, pagefile needs to be on system partition and RAMSize + 100MB should suffice for DMP File , also you need to set to FULL MEMORY DUMP in system backup options - also appears to be diabled you need to find registery hack for that - just a quick google search.

Then you need Windows Debugging tools ... and the symbols for your system ... all on MS official site (you need proper installers for your system desktop/server x64 ...etc )

It's not that simple at first you just need to find the command to execute - i've done it in past i can help with that but ... be back later