• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC monitor sometimes goes blank when there's lightning and someone plug/unplug electrical inlet.

Klopo

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2018
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Why my monitor sometimes goes blank when there's lightning strike also when someone plug/unplug electrical inlet.
The monitor actually a Samsung TV that have a HDMI port that I use as PC monitor, I tried to change from flat HDMI cable to round one but the problem still persist.
Any help appreciated.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,295 (1.13/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
If this is happening more than once every so often, then, starting right now, you need to unplug your valuable electronics from the wall EVERY TIME there is severe weather in your area.

Then you need to have your house wiring checked out. Every home and every computer user should have access to a AC Outlet Tester to ensure your outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.

Lastly, you should consider putting your valuable electronics on a "good" UPS with AVR. A UPS (uninterruptible power supply) with AVR (automatic voltage regulation) will clean up the power coming off your power grid before it gets fed to your valuable electronics. While these devices are often called battery backups, providing power during a full power outage is really just a minor benefit these provide. It is the AVR that really matters. The batteries serve two main purposes. (1) They are used to "boost" the voltage during low voltage events. These include dips (opposite of spikes), sags (opposite of surges) and brownouts (long duration sags) - all of which can cause excessive stress and strain on your electronics' power supplies and own internal voltage regulators. And (2) the batteries provide backup power during a full power outage, or when extreme surges, spikes, dips and sags are encountered. But note this backup power should not be used so you can keep using the computers or to watch TV indefinitely. The run time the backup power provides should be used to "gracefully" save any open documents, close out any running programs, and then properly shut down the computers and other sensitive electronics until the grid power is fully restored.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,064 (1.56/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
Why my monitor sometimes goes blank when there's lightning strike also when someone plug/unplug electrical inlet.
Test as Bill Says
Then you need to have your house wiring checked out. Every home and every computer user should have access to a AC Outlet Tester to ensure your outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.
as bill also says and recommends

Lastly, you should consider putting your valuable electronics on a "good" UPS with AVR. A UPS (uninterruptible power supply) with AVR (automatic voltage regulation) will clean up the power coming off your power grid before it gets fed to your valuable electronics. While these devices are often called battery backups, providing power during a full power outage is really just a minor benefit these provide. It is the AVR that really matters. The batteries serve two main purposes. (1) They are used to "boost" the voltage during low voltage events. These include dips (opposite of spikes), sags (opposite of surges) and brownouts (long duration sags) - all of which can cause excessive stress and strain on your electronics' power supplies and own internal voltage regulators. And (2) the batteries provide backup power during a full power outage, or when extreme surges, spikes, dips and sags are encountered. But note this backup power should not be used so you can keep using the computers or to watch TV indefinitely. The run time the backup power provides should be used to "gracefully" save any open documents, close out any running programs, and then properly shut down the computers and other sensitive electronics until the grid power is fully restored.
note they are really necessary in countrys / Regions that have Vague Reliability where Electrical supply is concerned
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,262 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Need a whole home surge arrestor, then a BBU/UPS
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,295 (1.13/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
The problem with whole home surge protection is they do nothing for excessive surges and spikes that originate from within the home. For example, let's say your daughter just bought a new $15 1500W hair dryer made in some back woods factory in China with parts manufactured in a similar factory upriver and assembled by an underaged labor force :( :cry: supervised by unscrupulous management :mad: over-watched by corrupt government officials :mad::mad: (breathe, breathe). And that hair dryer fails catastrophically, the whole home arrester will not protect your computer from any excessive surge or spike that might be interjected into that circuit.

Actually, any electronic device, if damaged, can interject destructive surges and spike down the line. So for sure, a "good" UPS with AVR is highly recommended - whether your home has a whole-home surge protection or note.

Plus, not sure you can even install whole-home surge protection if you rent your house or live in an apartment.

I don't know - those might be one of those things 20/20 hindsight makes you wish you bought it. My power company is constantly bugging me to get it. If it was a one-time purchase, I might consider it. But after paying $125 for the initial equipment, there is a recurring $7 monthly fee ($10/month if I add cable and phone line protection). But worse, the coverage is horrible, IMO. If a direct lightning strike burns down my house, and the power company (not me or my insurance company) determines the arrester failed, it will only pay up to $50,000. That will not rebuild my house. And it only covers up to a measly $500 "per event" should an "event" zap my computer or my big screen TV. In other words, it will cover my home owners insurance deductible and that's it. :( Now of course, the idea is that it is a proactive measure, instead of after-the-fact but I'm not really seeing the value and I live in Tornado Alley.
 

Klopo

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2018
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Hi guys,
Thanks for all replies.
I don't think power surge is the cause, even if I plug in a small fan to the outlet sometime can blank the monitor (about a second or two).
There are 2 refrigerators that never interrupt the monitor when their compressor goes on or off.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
64 (1.25/day)
Processor 7700K @5.2
Motherboard Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270N
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory Trident-Z 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX2080 XC Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 pro 1TB NVME
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
Case Corsair air 240
Audio Device(s) Phillips SHP 9500s.....Audio Technica AT 2035 microphone.....Scarlett 2i2 audio interface.
Power Supply EVGA 850W Supernova G2
Mouse G502
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10
When my long hair cat passes by the back of my Asus rog swift pg348q the monitor goes blank for a few seconds. I have checked the power cable and replaced the display port cable, still happens.
 
Low quality post by moproblems99
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,637 (1.07/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 1TB SSD, forgot which one. Evo maybe?
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
When my long hair cat passes by the back of my Asus rog swift pg348q the monitor goes blank for a few seconds. I have checked the power cable and replaced the display port cable, still happens.
You should start bringing your cat offerings to stay on its good side.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
374 (0.47/day)
Location
Tanagra
System Name 2017 iMac 5K
Processor Intel i5-7500
Motherboard Intel Z170
Cooling Apple
Memory 16GB DDR4
Video Card(s) Radeon Pro 570 4GB
Storage Apple SM0256L
Display(s) 27” 5120x2880 3P
Case iMac
Audio Device(s) My ears
Software MacOS 10.14, W10 pro, Mint 19.1
Have you tried moving your rig to a different room to see if the issue persists? It could be as simple as your outlet has a bad connection. I had a GFCI outlet that would trip whenever I plugged anything into it, or into any other outlet in that circuit. Opened the electrical outlet box to find that the neutral had come loose. Replaced the GFCI and made the proper connections (with the breaker off, of course), and voila, no more problems.
 
Low quality post by flmatter
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
1,263 (0.48/day)
Location
Anchorage Alaska
System Name Matter's / Helios 300 Predator
Processor Ryzen 5 2600 / i7 7700HQ
Motherboard B450 Tomahawk / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Cooling Arctic Freezer eSports Duo
Memory Patriot Viper ddr4 32gb / 32gb gskill ddr4
Video Card(s) gtx1660TI 6GB MSI Gaming X / GTX 1060 6gb
Storage Patriot Viper nvme M2, crucial MX300 275gb, Samsung 860 qvo 1tb
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / 15.6 1080p HD
Case Antec 300 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Audio Device(s) On Board - steel series siberia elite prism cans
Power Supply Antec 850watt high current pro
Mouse Steel series Rival 600
Keyboard Corsair K70 / Acer Helios 300 Predator
Software Win 10 Pro / Win 10 Home
Low quality post by Darmok N Jalad
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
374 (0.47/day)
Location
Tanagra
System Name 2017 iMac 5K
Processor Intel i5-7500
Motherboard Intel Z170
Cooling Apple
Memory 16GB DDR4
Video Card(s) Radeon Pro 570 4GB
Storage Apple SM0256L
Display(s) 27” 5120x2880 3P
Case iMac
Audio Device(s) My ears
Software MacOS 10.14, W10 pro, Mint 19.1
It is only a little zap and tingly feeling for an hour or so. :) hahaha
Disclaimers, you know. It’s the cattle fence that really hurts. o_O
 
Low quality post by cucker tarlson
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
3,813 (5.82/day)
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X Trio 2GHz
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480 (games)/4TB of external HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) Mad Catz FREQ wireless
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
When my long hair cat passes by the back of my Asus rog swift pg348q the monitor goes blank for a few seconds. I have checked the power cable and replaced the display port cable, still happens.
shave it.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,167 (4.28/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
Don't let your cat on the desk, problem solved.
 
Low quality post by moproblems99
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,637 (1.07/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 1TB SSD, forgot which one. Evo maybe?
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
Low quality post by advanced3
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
64 (1.25/day)
Processor 7700K @5.2
Motherboard Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270N
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory Trident-Z 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX2080 XC Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 pro 1TB NVME
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
Case Corsair air 240
Audio Device(s) Phillips SHP 9500s.....Audio Technica AT 2035 microphone.....Scarlett 2i2 audio interface.
Power Supply EVGA 850W Supernova G2
Mouse G502
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10
Low quality post by Caring1
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,167 (4.28/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
1,910 (1.25/day)
Location
Long Island
1. When posting a question like this, your location and complete list of components in your build us helpful, one might say required if the problem is associated with known problems in your area or with certain componentry.

2. It's the pulling out / replugging thing that gives me most concern. When a load is removed from a circuit and then reapplied, there is a momentary voltage drop. Something along the way is not responding well to that drop. Likely cause is your PSU but pretty much anything that is "outta whack" in your PC or in your homes electric circuitry might be the cause.

3. The lightning thing seems unlikely as the proximate cause. I say this cause it occurs when you unplug / replug any other small load electric item into a socket. I expect that this also occurs when a refrigerator or AC / compressor turns on / off. Lighting would certainly be a secondary cause it's likely causing a small voltage variation that you are causing yaself every time you plug / unplug something.

4. First thing I'd do is have your power company come and and check out your electric service. They will confirm that proper power is being delivered to the mast head. From there, the responsibility for testing and troubleshooting is yours.

5. If we knew what PSU you were using, that might be a solid indicator as to the cause of the problem. If the PSU is seeing something it things of wrong it may cause a break in the signal. Swapping it out with a known good PSU can help here.

6. What happens if you use the TV as a TV without the computer ? This would confirm Item 5 above.

7. If it persists, then I'd try the TV at a friend's house who is not experiencing your problem. If it persists, it's the TV.
 
Low quality post by R-T-B
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,005 (2.56/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64
shave it.
I feel obliged to inform you you have been placed on the "to be eaten soon" list by my patron God, the frog god.

Just relaying the info. Not passing judgement, but if I were you, I'd stay away from ponds.
 
Top