• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC not powering up

andyspeak

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey
Just wondered if anyone can help me.
When I press the powerup button on my PC nothing happens.
There is a faint high pitched noise from the motherboard area which changes in pitch when i press the button but nothing happens. There is a green light on the motherboard when plugged in. Could this be time for a new power unit? the PC is two years old and has a corsair CX600 power unit.
Hoping its not a motherboard issue.
Andy
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.20/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#2
Post all other specs please. Also, consider checking whether all the cables are properly fitted. I don't know about the high pitched noise, it can be anything from coil whine (which should be from the PSU not the motherboard) to internal speakers trying to give beep codes (highly unlikely). You might want to try to isolate it by booting off the motherboard instead of through the button on case. Short the circuit if you don't have the buttons, it should be the two wires which leads to the front of the case.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,026 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
List all the specs
 

andyspeak

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Chillblast Elite Budget PC
Antec One Hundred Gaming Case
AMD Llano A8-3850 Processor 2.9GHz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 CPU Cooler
Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Paste
Gigabyte GA-A75M-UD2H Motherboard
8GB Corsair PC3-12800 1600MHz DDR3 Memory (2 x 4GB sticks)
Integrated AMD Radeon Graphics
1000GB 7200RPM Hard Disk
Sony 24x DVD-RW Drive
Thermaltake SP-530PCWEU PSU
Onboard High Definition Audio
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#6
Hey
Just wondered if anyone can help me.
When I press the powerup button on my PC nothing happens.
There is a faint high pitched noise from the motherboard area which changes in pitch when i press the button but nothing happens. There is a green light on the motherboard when plugged in. Could this be time for a new power unit? the PC is two years old and has a corsair CX600 power unit.
Hoping its not a motherboard issue.
Andy
Could be anything, faulty CPU, Motherboard, RAM stick, GPU, PSU, heat sink not secured correctly a combination of all. You need to swap the components trial and error to solve this issue.

I'd start with the RAM, install 1x stick one by one. Then hunt around for old components to slowly test.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,026 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#7
Power supply?

So it was working fine then this started without any changes being made first?
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
127 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
System Name Edna
Processor i7 3770K (4.7Gig)
Motherboard Z77 Sabertooth
Cooling H80
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 16GB 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 180GB SSD, WD Black 2x 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 24",27"
Case Red Lanboy Air (Mr Flo)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone Seven Fiddy, Modular (Seven Fiddy F)
Software Windows 8 (64)
#8
Disregard the CPU, take ya ram out (all of it) and put one stick into the first white slot (second slot from the left) and boot it, if it beeps take that stick out and put the other stick into the same slot and try it again, see what happens. IF that doesn't work its your video card (but I noticed you didn't mention one) is this the case or did you just forget to list it ?, If you do have a video card REMOVE THIS FIRST BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING, plug your monitor into the onboard header (this will run up and down NOT left to right like it usually does) and try to boot the pc, if that doesn't work do what I have said above about the ram.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
832 (0.46/day)
Likes
138
Location
California
System Name Primary/Secondary/HTPC/Server
Processor i5-4590/i3-3220/A4-5300 APU/Pentium G3258
Motherboard MSI Z97S Krait/Biostar TH67+/ASRock FM2A75Pro4-M/MSI Z87M-G43
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S/Stock Intel/Stock AMD/Stock Intel
Memory 16GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/8GB DDR3/10GB DDR3
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX760 2GB/Radeon HD5870 1GB/Radeon HD7480D/Intel
Storage 480GB SSD+ 3TB HDD/240GB SSD/60GB SSD/2x 2TB HDD Intel RAID1
Display(s) 3x Samsung 23" 1080P/Acer 24" 1080P/LG TV 32" 720P
Case Fractal Design/Corsair (it was free)/Silverstone ML03/Antec VSK3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply XFX 750W/Cougar 550W/Antec 380W/In Win 350W
Mouse it moves the pointer, clicks, and scrolls
Keyboard CM Storm MX Blue/Logitech/Logitech
Software Win7 Pro/Win7 Pro/Win10 Pro/Win7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Buy American - Choose Chevrolet/GMC Trucks!
#9
Corsair CX600 uses lousy caps - short green pin on big ATX connector to a black one that's next to it - the PSU should turn on.
If it doesn't get it replaced or buy a new one.
 

andyspeak

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
yeah i shorted the green and black and nothing happened so ive just ordered a new PSU.
It gave absolutely no signs it was about to cut out....
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
127 (0.05/day)
Likes
18
System Name Edna
Processor i7 3770K (4.7Gig)
Motherboard Z77 Sabertooth
Cooling H80
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 16GB 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 180GB SSD, WD Black 2x 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 24",27"
Case Red Lanboy Air (Mr Flo)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone Seven Fiddy, Modular (Seven Fiddy F)
Software Windows 8 (64)
#11
If its making a beep, its not the PSU, (unless its also faulty), its something else, I would pull the psu out and try it in another machine rather then try another psu in yours, that way you know for sure if its the psu or not. Doing it the other way there may be something else wrong and you have just wasted $100.