• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC not starting after new CPU installed

Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#51
You may wish to try and get it to POST outside of the case first, after examining it (and the case) for either debris, or a wayward screw.
If the mobo POSTs just fine on cardboard, then there was definitely a short whilst installed in the case.
Whilst on cardboard, only have the essentials plugged in: power/CPU/RAM (1 stick will do) and keyboard :)

EDIT: oops.. you may want to hook the monitor up too ;)
 

Kistel

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
77 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
California
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor i5 4670k @4.1Ghz / A8-5545M
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Xigmatek GAIA
Memory Crucial 8.0GB DDR3-1333 / Samsung 8GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 670 PE / AMD HD8510G
Storage 2x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, 1x Crucial M500 240GB / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 24" LED
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D / HP Pavilion 14 Sleekbook
Audio Device(s) Gamecom 777 USB 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 750w
Software Windows 7 x64 Pro / Windows 8 Home
#52
You may wish to try and get it to POST outside of the case first, after examining it (and the case) for either debris, or a wayward screw.
If the mobo POSTs just fine on cardboard, then there was definitely a short whilst installed in the case.
Whilst on cardboard, only have the essentials plugged in: power/CPU/RAM (1 stick will do) and keyboard :)

EDIT: oops.. you may want to hook the monitor up too ;)
And should I put in the video card as well when doing this?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731 (0.21/day)
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC / EVGA GTX 960
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD + 2x Dell 22" LED S-IPS 1080p / LG 37" 1080p S-IPS
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 7 64bit Professional
#53
yes, if you need to start it without the power button from the case touch the two prongs that the switch is connected to with a screwdriver.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#54
And should I put in the video card as well when doing this?
If your last successful POST was with the graphics card installed, then yes. Otherwise use the on-board :)
 

Kistel

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
77 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
California
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor i5 4670k @4.1Ghz / A8-5545M
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Xigmatek GAIA
Memory Crucial 8.0GB DDR3-1333 / Samsung 8GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 670 PE / AMD HD8510G
Storage 2x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, 1x Crucial M500 240GB / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 24" LED
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D / HP Pavilion 14 Sleekbook
Audio Device(s) Gamecom 777 USB 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 750w
Software Windows 7 x64 Pro / Windows 8 Home
#55
Ok, physically removed the CMOS battery, configured the jumpers as the manual says, and put them back in place. Put the battery back in.

Same issue.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,080
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#56
I'd RMA the cpu as a precaution and get another mobo.......
If you state the case that the cpu was DOA and ask for return shipping most places will do that...
 

Kistel

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
77 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
California
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor i5 4670k @4.1Ghz / A8-5545M
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Xigmatek GAIA
Memory Crucial 8.0GB DDR3-1333 / Samsung 8GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 670 PE / AMD HD8510G
Storage 2x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, 1x Crucial M500 240GB / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 24" LED
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D / HP Pavilion 14 Sleekbook
Audio Device(s) Gamecom 777 USB 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 750w
Software Windows 7 x64 Pro / Windows 8 Home
#57
I will be getting a new motherboard in a few days, likely the M4A785-M ASUS.

I will try the 1090t and 9950 in that board and see if it starts with both processors. My concern is this, if the 1090t is damaged or DOA and I stick it in a new board, could it damage the board? And would using the 9950 in the same board after the 1090t end up damaging the 9950?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#58
No to both.
A dead CPU will not damage the new mobo.

I'm curious as to why the old mobo died though...
:/
 

Kistel

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
77 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
California
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor i5 4670k @4.1Ghz / A8-5545M
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Xigmatek GAIA
Memory Crucial 8.0GB DDR3-1333 / Samsung 8GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 670 PE / AMD HD8510G
Storage 2x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, 1x Crucial M500 240GB / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 24" LED
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D / HP Pavilion 14 Sleekbook
Audio Device(s) Gamecom 777 USB 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 750w
Software Windows 7 x64 Pro / Windows 8 Home
#59
I am wondering the same thing.

Either the motherboard was damaged when removing/reinstalling it into the case, or it was damaged when removing the Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer (my original CPU fan/heatsink), which required lots of force to remove.

I stumbled upon this post where a 1090t killed someones board:
http://forums.amd.com/forum/message...37&parentid=1199311&FTVAR_FORUMVIEWTMP=Single

Sounds similar to my experience.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#60
That seems somewhat coincidental yes, but inconceivable, as a CPU drains power, rather than give it out.
I understand your concern though, for sure.
I had an issue similar to this, but it turned out to be my PSU which decided to die right at the time of me updating my BIOS :/
Stuff worked.. then didn't then did again then died completely.

The problem is.. we may never know the real culprit, although a new mobo may help to sort out what truly does still work ;)

Sorry to hear about your problems nonetheless.
 

Kistel

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
77 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
California
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor i5 4670k @4.1Ghz / A8-5545M
Motherboard MSI Z87-G43
Cooling Xigmatek GAIA
Memory Crucial 8.0GB DDR3-1333 / Samsung 8GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 670 PE / AMD HD8510G
Storage 2x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, 1x Crucial M500 240GB / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 24" LED
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D / HP Pavilion 14 Sleekbook
Audio Device(s) Gamecom 777 USB 7.1
Power Supply Antec High Current Gamer 750w
Software Windows 7 x64 Pro / Windows 8 Home
#61
I will probably be getting an AM2+/AM3 ASUS M4A785-M board, it is quite similar to my previous board and affordable.

Is this a good choice for the 1090t (assuming no overclocking)?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#62
I think it would be just fine, especially considering you're stuck with DDR2.
As far as I'm aware, the M3A and M4A series of mobos are pretty solid :)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,102 (0.37/day)
Likes
47
Location
barrie ont
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Biostar TA870+
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory Kingston hyperx 1600mhz 2x8gb
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 6870 DirectCU II 990/1250 stock volts
Storage Seagate 500gb, Wd 1tb black
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2433BW 24
Case Thermaltake v3 black edition
Audio Device(s) onboard, Logitech x540
Power Supply Antec true power modular 650 watt
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
#63
usually if the psu goes it well make a click sound, then the pc well reboot or shut off
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#64
usually if the psu goes it well make a click sound, then the pc well reboot or shut off
I've never had a dying PSU make that noise yet :/
Perhaps I've been lucky in the last 20-odd years?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,102 (0.37/day)
Likes
47
Location
barrie ont
Processor Phenom II 965
Motherboard Biostar TA870+
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory Kingston hyperx 1600mhz 2x8gb
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 6870 DirectCU II 990/1250 stock volts
Storage Seagate 500gb, Wd 1tb black
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2433BW 24
Case Thermaltake v3 black edition
Audio Device(s) onboard, Logitech x540
Power Supply Antec true power modular 650 watt
Software Windows 7 x64 ultimate
#65
well maybe u havent heard it
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
508 (0.20/day)
Likes
108
Location
Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
System Name Frankenstein v7
Processor Intel i7 2600K (@ stock)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 7870 WindForce 2GB
Storage Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung S24C750
Case Antec P280
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 7 Pro - 64-bit
#66
Well..as a PSU tends to be made of solid-state components, with only a fan as the moving part, what would cause that sound?
I could understand capacitors et al making that noise, but that tends to be followed by something like a puff of smoke ;)
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,338 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,080
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#67

Funtoss

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
588 (0.24/day)
Likes
61
Location
New Zealand
System Name My Heater
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
Motherboard Asus P5B-E Plus
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 NT
Memory Patriot 4GB 800MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 460 1GB
Storage 2x Western Digital 640GB (1.28TB)
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2349wm 24"
Case Raidmax Hurricane
Audio Device(s) C-Media 8738
Power Supply Aywun Megapower 650w 80+
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#68
take the cmos battery out and put it back in? lol