• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC noticeably slower

PotatoCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
System Name MAH PC
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock 870 Extreme3
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia w/ 2 GELID Silent Fans
Memory 4x2GB G.skill Ripjaws @ 800MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 1GB Dual-Fan Black Edition
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) SCEPTRE X9WG-NagaV 1440x900
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 w/ Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi MB TRIAL
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#1
i dont know what subforum to post this in so sorry.

Hi, i noticed that my PC has been running very sluggish lately. Programs take alot longer to open and games arent running as it should. I just played battlefield 3 today after several days not playing it and it was really, really slow. I run the game on High on a 1440x900 monitor and i usually get 50-68FPS even on huge maps like Karkand, but now i barely go pass 40FPS D:!!! it stays on the 29-35FPS range T_T

i dont know what caused it, i have updated drivers and everything and only suffered a BSOD crash maybe 3 times since getting this PC in june, two of them in the first 4 months and the last one happens maybe after i updated my 6870 to v12.1... or maybe it was after i cleaned out the dust inside my case... could any of those be the case? im really confused. And i also dont overclock, my card has been factory overcloked and i didnt change anything, my cpu is the only thing overclocked and i overclocked it months ago, before this thing happend.

My PC also never had any viruses, i usually run avast! and Malware bytes usually once a week to clean it, and also use defraggler and ccleaner once a week to defrag and get rid of temp files.
i appreciate any help on this :)

SPECS:
AMD Phenom II X4 OCed to 3.7GHz
XFX HD6870BE factory clocked to 940mhz
4gb Gskill ram
620w Seasonic PSU

EDIT:
its not just BF3, Skyrim, Portal and Total war also runs slower. like 10-5 FPS less
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,274
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
#2
Check to see if you have other processes going on in the task manager. With that little of ram, if you have a lot of things are running in the background that may cause some issues.
 

PotatoCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
System Name MAH PC
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock 870 Extreme3
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia w/ 2 GELID Silent Fans
Memory 4x2GB G.skill Ripjaws @ 800MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 1GB Dual-Fan Black Edition
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) SCEPTRE X9WG-NagaV 1440x900
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 w/ Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi MB TRIAL
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#3
Check to see if you have other processes going on in the task manager. With that little of ram, if you have a lot of things are running in the background that may cause some issues.
i basically run the same background programs for months, the only non-windows/Ati programs that runs in the background are always avast!, malwarebytes, fraps, steam/origin, rainmeter and coretemp and i always close web browsers when starting a game.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#4
I don't trust avast much. Post a screen shot of all tasks running in task manager. Are you using 64-bit or 32-bit os?
 

PotatoCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
System Name MAH PC
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock 870 Extreme3
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia w/ 2 GELID Silent Fans
Memory 4x2GB G.skill Ripjaws @ 800MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 1GB Dual-Fan Black Edition
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) SCEPTRE X9WG-NagaV 1440x900
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 w/ Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi MB TRIAL
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#5
I don't trust avast much. Post a screen shot of all tasks running in task manager. Are you using 64-bit or 32-bit os?
i use 64-bit OS

i took this a couple of minutes ago


EDIT:
i dunno if this helps or not but i had a power outage a couple of weeks ago and my PC would start windows. so i inserted the windows disk and repaired it there.
 

specks

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
440 (0.17/day)
Likes
88
System Name Spreadsheet powerhouse
Processor Two P4s glued together
Motherboard Asus P5KPL-AM EPU
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper TX3
Memory 2gb (2x1gb) Kingston Value Ram DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4670 1gb GDDR3 w/ Arctic Cooling Accelero L7
Storage 500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue
Display(s) Philips 191EL 18.5"
Case Thermaltake V4 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 600W
Software WinXp
#6
Thats a lot of chrome.exe

It could something with your hardware. Are the temps ok?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#6
If it was general slowdown i would say it was the hard drives fault but in games? maybe its the graphics drivers doesn't sound like a hardware problem.

Running a task such as a browser in the background while playing games can use resource's, cpu/ram ect.
 

PotatoCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
System Name MAH PC
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock 870 Extreme3
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia w/ 2 GELID Silent Fans
Memory 4x2GB G.skill Ripjaws @ 800MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 1GB Dual-Fan Black Edition
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) SCEPTRE X9WG-NagaV 1440x900
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 w/ Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi MB TRIAL
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#7
Thats a lot of chrome.exe

It could something with your hardware. Are the temps ok?
yea i had alot of tabs (5) opened when i took that, yea temps are fine, the CPU never goes up 50C even under heavy load
 

specks

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
440 (0.17/day)
Likes
88
System Name Spreadsheet powerhouse
Processor Two P4s glued together
Motherboard Asus P5KPL-AM EPU
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper TX3
Memory 2gb (2x1gb) Kingston Value Ram DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4670 1gb GDDR3 w/ Arctic Cooling Accelero L7
Storage 500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue
Display(s) Philips 191EL 18.5"
Case Thermaltake V4 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 600W
Software WinXp
#8
i use 64-bit OS

i took this a couple of minutes ago
http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/7692/62828154.jpg

EDIT:
i dunno if this helps or not but i had a power outage a couple of weeks ago and my PC would start windows. so i inserted the windows disk and repaired it there.
Huh? Of course it would start windows:slap: What do you mean start windows?


yea i had alot of tabs (5) opened when i took that, yea temps are fine, the CPU never goes up 50C even under heavy load
How about your GPU?
 

PotatoCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
System Name MAH PC
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock 870 Extreme3
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia w/ 2 GELID Silent Fans
Memory 4x2GB G.skill Ripjaws @ 800MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 1GB Dual-Fan Black Edition
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) SCEPTRE X9WG-NagaV 1440x900
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 w/ Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi MB TRIAL
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#9
Huh? Of course it would start windows:slap: What do you mean start windows?



How about your GPU?
i mean would NOT start windows :banghead:

The GPU goes to 75-80C when playing BF3
 

specks

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
440 (0.17/day)
Likes
88
System Name Spreadsheet powerhouse
Processor Two P4s glued together
Motherboard Asus P5KPL-AM EPU
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper TX3
Memory 2gb (2x1gb) Kingston Value Ram DDR2 800mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4670 1gb GDDR3 w/ Arctic Cooling Accelero L7
Storage 500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue
Display(s) Philips 191EL 18.5"
Case Thermaltake V4 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 600W
Software WinXp
#10

PotatoCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
System Name MAH PC
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock 870 Extreme3
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia w/ 2 GELID Silent Fans
Memory 4x2GB G.skill Ripjaws @ 800MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 1GB Dual-Fan Black Edition
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) SCEPTRE X9WG-NagaV 1440x900
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 w/ Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi MB TRIAL
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#11
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#12
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,197 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,846
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#13
Ya time for a clean install. Or you could try emptying out your temps and cookies and see if that helps
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#14
i use 64-bit OS

i took this a couple of minutes ago
http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/7692/62828154.jpg

EDIT:
i dunno if this helps or not but i had a power outage a couple of weeks ago and my PC would start windows. so i inserted the windows disk and repaired it there.
You need more memory, in general

Screenshot shows 54% of your physical memory used on idle. BF3 can use just over 4GBs of ram alone without all the background processes. So your PC must be always borrowing memory from the HDD whilst playing BF3, which is probably why performance has become grotty.

As a temporary solution try to reduce the background processes so give you more available memory for the game. Also consider getting more ram.
 

PotatoCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
59 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
System Name MAH PC
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock 870 Extreme3
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia w/ 2 GELID Silent Fans
Memory 4x2GB G.skill Ripjaws @ 800MHz (9-9-9-24)
Video Card(s) XFX 6870 1GB Dual-Fan Black Edition
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) SCEPTRE X9WG-NagaV 1440x900
Case Cooler Master
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 w/ Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi MB TRIAL
Power Supply Seasonic M12II 620W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#15
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#16
how do you clean install and check voltages?

Clean reinstall could mean, formatting the hard disk drive and reinstalling windows or the application in question.

Checking voltages can be done using a utility software. I dont think its necessary at this stage.

Your issue on the surface seems ram related. Too many applications running in the background and not enough ram. You can disable background processes in the MSconfig and admin service tools. Ultimately I think you need to invest in more ram.

MSconfig
Start > Run > MSconfig > Startup

Admin services
Control Panel > System and Security> administrative Tools > services
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,668 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,249
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#17
That's strange. My Windows 7 is well over a year old, doesn't have much maintenance applied to it and has been transplanted onto a different motherboard with another chipset, yet it still runs just fine.

How does it run if you disable your security software?

You may want to check your hard drive for impending failure too (run the mfr's diagnostic software) although that shouldn't really affect your gaming fps, as it's not constantly accessing the HD then. A failing HD will affect your regular desktop experience, however.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
383 (0.16/day)
Likes
28
Processor Intel core i7 3770k @4.5ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V PRO
Cooling Corsair H80i push&pull with courgar 120mm led fan
Memory 2x8gb Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970
Storage 1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro ,1x750Gb Seagate
Display(s) Benq 2420te + Acer S230HL 23"
Case Corsair 760t White
Power Supply Corsair RM750i
Mouse Zowei ZA13
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
#18
virus is the problem, try to fresh install OS then u won't notice any slow speed anymore.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#19
Maybe you should try a clean install. Did you try a stress test? http://www.tested.com/news/how-to-stress-test-your-hardware-and-keep-your-pc-stable/762/

check the voltages too.
You need more memory, in general

Screenshot shows 54% of your physical memory used on idle. BF3 can use just over 4GBs of ram alone without all the background processes. So your PC must be always borrowing memory from the HDD whilst playing BF3, which is probably why performance has become grotty.

As a temporary solution try to reduce the background processes so give you more available memory for the game. Also consider getting more ram.
Listen to these guys. Some sound advice. Maybe a Windows reinstall is in order to kill some unneeded processes or do some reconfiguring of startup system tray apps.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,528 (6.38/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#20
Before a OS install though, I would go through the programs in control panel and remove the ones you never use or don't need. I would then restart into safe mode and run CCleaner to its fullest extent on both programs and registry. Then reboot back in normal mode and test the waters.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#21
Clean reinstall could mean, formatting the hard disk drive and reinstalling windows or the application in question.

Checking voltages can be done using a utility software. I dont think its necessary at this stage.

Your issue on the surface seems ram related. Too many applications running in the background and not enough ram. You can disable background processes in the MSconfig and admin service tools. Ultimately I think you need to invest in more ram.

MSconfig
Start > Run > MSconfig > Startup

Admin services
Control Panel > System and Security> administrative Tools > services
I said voltages cause he said he had a power outage.



@PotatoCat
Try speed fan http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php

a clean install is format your windows drive and install it again.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,682 (1.09/day)
Likes
967
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8600K @4.5Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#22
If possible, just do a re-install of windows. It's really only worth trouble shooting if you have lots of irreplaceable stuff.

After you re-install, install all your regular programs, patch everything and create a system image.

On a troubleshooting note, before you do the re-install you may want to check through system restore and try a restore point before you were getting the issues.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
1,498 (0.53/day)
Likes
481
Location
canada
System Name INTEL/AMD
Processor I7 4790k stock / 1100T@3.8GHZ(on air)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GAMING 5 / GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / zalmen 9900
Memory 4x4 GB 1600 / 4x4gb 1600
Video Card(s) GTX670 x2 / ATI 5870 x2
Storage 2xcorsair ssd 120gb raid0 /2x adata ssd 120gb
Display(s) 55Iinch LCD / 22inch acer
Case CM 690 II Advanced (USB 3) / Anteck 900
Power Supply Enermax 800EWT / 750 zalman
Software Win 10
#23
Do you have any back ground videos running? when i run windows media center or youtube my cards only clock up to 400mhz withch makes me lag. i allways force close windows media center before i game.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
1,190 (0.43/day)
Likes
312
System Name Titan
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.6ghz
Motherboard AsRock 990FX Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7970 3gb
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 64mb Cache/ Western Digital 500gb
Display(s) iMac Display 2560 x 1440
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#24
Also go into your taskbar and type "windows features" and turn off stuff you don't need.

Like games and gadgets...etc Useless stuff that eats up memory.

Also I wouldn't recommend having rain metre on while gaming. If you're not using/looking at it, doesn't need to be on in the background while gaming.

When you first boot up, do you have a bunch of apps popping up at once? If so, go into CCLeaner and disable non-essential applications.

Just a lot of small stuff that helps free up memory if it's a memory issue.
 

user21

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
282 (0.12/day)
Likes
22
Location
Peshawar
#25
What application did you installed recently? To me it might be caused by cpu high temps or bad hard drive issue but so far there is nothing coming like that from your side so a software that made changes to your windows registry or the kernel itself might be causing this much trouble. Drivers can also output BSOD and slower pc performance. Recall what did you installed last time? application/drivers