• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC powers on, turns off and then starts fine

Status
Not open for further replies.

WizeGuy

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
4 (0.06/day)
So after I have unplugged the computer and plug it back in the pc powers on for like 1 second. Fans spin and light up etc. Then after 1-2 seconds it shuts down. Everything stops (fans lights etc). After a couple seconds the pc powers up and runs fine.

This only happens after the pc has been unplugged. I can shut the pc down and then push start button and it works fine. It is only when the power cord has been physically unplugged that this happens.

HALP!

Thanks in advance

I have seen some post their hardware so I will post that in case that has any bearings on this

i9-9900ks
Asus Maximus XI Extreme
64gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Asus Rog 2080ti OC edition
2tb Samsung 970 EVO Plus
6tb Western Digital Black HDD
Corsair h115i Platinum RGB AIO
Corsair HX1000i PSU
Corsair Crystal Series 680x RGB Case
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
6,002 (6.15/day)
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio (waiting for RX 5950XT)
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard HyperX Alloy SilverSpeed (w.HyperX wrist rest),Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
what code are you getting on the mobo ?
maybe it's memory related.
try disabling xmp and see what happens.if it persists try bios reflash
 

WizeGuy

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
4 (0.06/day)
I appreciate your response but it is definitely not "normal". This is not the 1st PC I have built and it is not even the 1st PC I built this week. I have had this happen on the 1st time I boot a system but never on subsequent boots after unplugging the power cord to make a change in the case. So while I am experienced with PC building I have never had this issue beyond the initial boot.

I was wondering if I had a blown cap or something and was looking for guidance from someone that has had and solved this issue.

Again...I do appreciate your response but I tend to not like to leave things in a faulty state.

Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,154 (2.81/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Could be an uefi issue. Try updating to the latest stable version. Saw similar reports with GB's x570 line. In that case unplugging or powering off psu could cause CMOS reset.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
6,002 (6.15/day)
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio (waiting for RX 5950XT)
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard HyperX Alloy SilverSpeed (w.HyperX wrist rest),Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Normal

its initializing phy / the doing memory retrain

been a thing on intel for years

stop arguing with people that know way more then you

the rest of you kids go away if you don't understand whats going on thanks

edit: maximums boards can do it 3 times if they memory train doesn't take or you are using manual voltage control with xmp or any combination of settings where it needs to two step after a hard power fail

its a maximus thing its entirely intentional welcome to owning a high end board

 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,960 (5.14/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Normal

its initializing pch / the doing memory retrain
I can confirm that it is this 100%.

I've seen it so many times on high end motherboards. Sometimes there is an option in the BIOS you can do that will stop it from happening, but on higher end ASUS boards it just always happens in my experience because of the memory training they do.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
6,002 (6.15/day)
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio (waiting for RX 5950XT)
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard HyperX Alloy SilverSpeed (w.HyperX wrist rest),Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
I can confirm that it is this 100%.

I've seen it so many times on high end motherboards. Sometimes there is an option in the BIOS you can do that will stop it from happening, but on higher end ASUS boards it just always happens in my experience because of the memory training they do.
what exactly is memory training for ?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,099 (4.56/day)
what exactly is memory training for ?
Just that...'trains' the memory to run. :)

 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
11 (0.07/day)
Location
Finland
System Name EliteG
Processor I5-3320M
Motherboard EliteBook 8470p
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Kingston DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 760 (eGPU )
Storage ADATA 128GB SU650 SSD, 500GB Seagate eHDD
Display(s) HP 24o
Power Supply Antec Neo HE500
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G513 (GX Blue)
I can confirm that is normal, it seems to reset something
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
LOL, that was my first link and pulled it back for the one I have now... lolol!
fixed have not had my afternoon energy drink and been dealing with netgear phone support for 3 hours
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,391 (4.00/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x Micron 500GB SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO | 32TB SAN
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett Solo on beyerdynamic DT 990 Pros
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
This is normal, my x299 doesnt, but my haswell did this.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,425 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
So after I have unplugged the computer and plug it back in the pc powers on for like 1 second. Fans spin and light up etc. Then after 1-2 seconds it shuts down. Everything stops (fans lights etc). After a couple seconds the pc powers up and runs fine.

This only happens after the pc has been unplugged. I can shut the pc down and then push start button and it works fine. It is only when the power cord has been physically unplugged that this happens.

HALP!

Thanks in advance

I have seen some post their hardware so I will post that in case that has any bearings on this

i9-9900ks
Asus Maximus XI Extreme
64gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Asus Rog 2080ti OC edition
2tb Samsung 970 EVO Plus
6tb Western Digital Black HDD
Corsair h115i Platinum RGB AIO
Corsair HX1000i PSU
Corsair Crystal Series 680x RGB Case
Cut that out
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,247 (1.97/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
I appreciate your response but it is definitely not "normal". This is not the 1st PC I have built and it is not even the 1st PC I built this week. I have had this happen on the 1st time I boot a system but never on subsequent boots after unplugging the power cord to make a change in the case. So while I am experienced with PC building I have never had this issue beyond the initial boot.

I was wondering if I had a blown cap or something and was looking for guidance from someone that has had and solved this issue.

Again...I do appreciate your response but I tend to not like to leave things in a faulty state.

Thanks
It's normal operation on the latest platforms.

I can show two amd ryzen systems doing the same thing IF unplugged from the mains.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
1,353 (0.47/day)
Location
Northamptonshire, UK
System Name Main/VR/HTPC
Processor 9900K@4.7/Ryzen 7 2700@4.0/i3 4360@3.7
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro WiFi/Aorus B450I Pro Wifi/MSI H81I
Cooling Custom water/Corsair H55/Antec C40
Memory Corsair LPX 2x8 3200MHz/HyperX Predator 2x8GB 3200MHz/Crucial Balistix Tactical 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Super Ventus /MSI RTX 2070 Super Ventus/Intel HD4600
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB/840 EVO 120GB/OCZ ARC 100 120 GB
Display(s) Acer Z301c/39" Panasonic HDTV
Case Fractal Design Arc XL/Cougar QBX/Thermaltake Core V1
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V379/Nvidia HD Audio/ Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair RM850/ Corsair SF600/350W OEM
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit
MemOK! does this (I think that's what it's called on Asus boards), this is normal behaviour.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
1,243 (0.39/day)
Processor Core i9 10940X @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asrock Taichi XE
Cooling Custom loop, 2x360mm radiator,TTRiing fans, EK XRes140,EK Supremacy EVO
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill RGB 3600MHz C16
Video Card(s) Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 2050 core 8200 mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB,XPG SX8200 Pro,Micron 1100 2TB SSD,OCZ Vector 512GB,750GB Samsung,1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer X34P, Acer XB270HU
Case LianLi O11 Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Klipsch Promedia Ultra 5.1, Corsair Void Pro RGB
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
I've only had this experience with ASUS boards, and it is what put me off of them. Last ASUS board I had was P8-Z68V and did this at every boot. Switched to MSI X99, didn't have it. On Asrock X299, still do not have this behavior.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
62 (0.63/day)
Location
Avon Lake, Ohio
System Name Frankenstein
Processor AMD 8120 3.10
Motherboard AsRock
Cooling air
Memory 16
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 OC
Storage a bunch
Display(s) 27" IPS
Case beat
Audio Device(s) nothing special
Power Supply converted to gas
Mouse and cat
Keyboard backlit and big letters!
Software 7, 10, CentOS
Benchmark Scores embarrassing I imagine!
Interesting. News to this long time builder.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,628 (1.32/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
It is only when the power cord has been physically unplugged that this happens.
You should receive the same results by flipping the master power switch on the back of the PSU. The point is, by unplugging, you remove the +5Vsb standby power from the motherboard and several components mounted on it, including RAM, the network adapter, USB ports and more. Flipping that switch does the same thime.
I appreciate your response but it is definitely not "normal".
I agree, it is not "normal" - although it may not be that uncommon. We've seen it several times here. I note in each case here, the clients reported it always happened when the power was removed completely for at least 12 hours. By completely, I mean unplugging from the wall, flipping the master power switch, flipping the wall outlet switch (in countries that have those), or in other scenarios where the +5Vsb voltage was removed and the computer was not left in standby.

But unfortunately, we could never duplicate the problem, consistently "upon demand" and no one action fixed it. However, the following have worked. Replacing the CMOS battery, replacing the PSU, or putting the computer on a good UPS. RMAing the motherboard cured one case when the other options failed. And since the replacement motherboard was the same model and revision number and it worked as expected, that would indicate this problem is not "normal" behavior.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
there is no 'problem' asus specifically designed maximum boards this way its been a thing on maximums boards going all the way back to at least z87

btw +5vsb is not a thing on a modern platforms the only thing its used for is usb everything is 3.3v or 12v now


pickup a book and learn how stuff works in 2020 please
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,628 (1.32/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
btw +5vsb is not a thing on a modern platforms the only thing its used for is usb everything is 3.3v or 12v now
Sorry, but that is not correct. The +5Vsb voltage is used throughout the motherboard whenever there the computer is shutdown but not unplugged. This +5Vsb is what allows the front panel power button to work. It also keeps data "alive" in DDR4 RAM. And FTR, this is all dictated by the ATX Form Factor Standard.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top