• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC powers on, turns off and then starts fine

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,988 (4.76/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
btw +5vsb is not a thing on a modern platforms the only thing its used for is usb everything is 3.3v or 12v now
5Vsb is required by the ATX spec from the power supply.

The ATX specification requires the power supply to produce three main outputs, +3.3 V, +5 V and +12 V. Low-power −12 V and +5 VSB (standby) supplies are also required.
However, this doesnt mean a motherboard needs to use it/feed power to the usb ports, etc. What each motherboard does with it is up to the discretion of the board/AIB. Back in the day (like pre 2010), I recall jumpers on some boards enabling or disabling it.

Edit: I'm not going to split hairs on the word 'normal'... this is simply something that happens with enough frequency that the behavior can be considered normal (for many boards across AIBs and generations - not all). I dont recall specifically if it is Asus ROG High-end boards or what. But, memory training on some boards is normal (and can be annoying). It s happening on my omega across several bios updates and 2 different psus, OSs, stock v. overclocked, etc and I recall this happening on dozens of motherboard reviews over the years.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,691 (1.47/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
However this doesnt mean a motherboard needs to use it/feed power to the usb ports, etc.
Ummm, not really. "Wake on Mouse", "Wake on Keyboard", "Wake on LAN", as examples, are all standard options set in the BIOS. The +5Vsb supplying power to the USB ports and network controller enable those functions. If not present, we could not wiggle the mouse, press a key, or log in remotely to wake our computers. And again, DDR4 RAM keeps data alive in memory when in standby with that voltage. When the PSU is in standby, it is only outputting that +5V. It is not outputting 3.3 or 12V.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,200 (1.23/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
I'm going to say 99% it's normal, However it could be COULD be the battery. But that is only a .9% chance.
It may not have power enough to keep the settings but still run the clock and date. Maybe?
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,571 (5.34/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
You could always try another BIOS or maybe see if there is anything in AI Tweaker to disable memory training and see if that is the issue (not sure its possible, just an idea?!??!).
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,988 (4.76/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Ummm, not really. "Wake on Mouse", "Wake on Keyboard", "Wake on LAN", as examples, are all standard options set in the BIOS. The +5Vsb supplying power to the USB ports and network controller enable those functions. If not present, we could not wiggle the mouse, press a key, or log in remotely to wake our computers. And again, DDR4 RAM keeps data alive in memory when in standby with that voltage. When the PSU is in standby, it is only outputting that +5V. It is not outputting 3.3 or 12V.
You seem to be confusing required presence with required use. Again, it is only a requirement the psu provides these voltages. What a motherboard does or does not do with it is a choice. The features you mentioned can be disabled and would of course prevent users who let their pc sleep (most?) wake on those functions.

Anyway, on topic, I agree with smeeky...OP see if you have an option in the bios which may change that behavior. Not sure where it would be if it is there.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,691 (1.47/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
:( If the motherboard maker wants the board to be called ATX compliant and meet industry standards, they need to allow those feature, and thus the "standard" distribution of that voltages since, again, according to the ATX Form Factor standard, it is delivered to the motherboard via the ATX standard 20/24 pin power connector. The fact those features can be disabled by the user is irrelevant to this discussion. The voltage is still present.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
1,548 (0.28/day)
Location
Calgary Alberta, Canada
System Name PCGR
Processor Intel 10500 ES
Motherboard MSI Z490 Gaming Plus
Cooling Snowman MT4 Dual Fan
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1070 Turbo
Storage 1x 1tb ADATA XPG 8200 Pro NVME | 1x 1TB WD Blue HDD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case Thermaltake S300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 550W MWE 80+ Gold
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
My z87 does this. I've seen this for years. Heck, majority of dell machines do this. I work on them daily
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,988 (4.76/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
:( If the motherboard maker wants the board to be called ATX compliant and meet industry standards, they need to allow those feature, and thus the "standard" distribution of that voltages since, again, according to the ATX Form Factor standard, it is delivered to the motherboard via the ATX standard 20/24 pin power connector. The fact those features can be disabled by the user is irrelevant to this discussion. The voltage is still present.
Right. It is defined as a requirement for the power supply to provide and mobo to accept. I quoted the passage earlier stating as much. It is wiki, so if you have something a bit more respectable showing this is required on the motherboard side to function, post it up. :)

What a motherboard does with, is up to the board (but clearly has a purpose).

Edit: The 24-pin and 20-pin connectors on the mobo have them of course, but if it wasnt there, the pc would still function but could not WoL/Network/Mouse and case power button... nothing much :p . So, yes...its a standard, but how the motherboard uses it, or not, is up to the board/aib.

Edit2: And then there are these here already w/o 5Vsb (vrm feeds it as needed)- https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/pure-12v-psu-standard-named-atx12vo-debuts-later-this-year.263213/

...a different standard, indeed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
1,097 (1.64/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
It's good, EarthDog had it right from the start.

Normal operation, my Hero does the exact same thing.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
1,629 (2.01/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code/ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro 6x Corsair QL120 + 4x Corsair LL120/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 4000CL15 Trident Z Royal/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16 Team T Force Nighthawk
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) LG 27GN850/ MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case 011 Dynamic XL/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
My Maximus XI Code does this as well.

Only when removing the power source completely like in a power outage.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
62 (0.19/day)
Location
Avon Lake, Ohio
System Name Frankenstein
Processor AMD 8120 3.10
Motherboard AsRock
Cooling air
Memory 16
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 OC
Storage a bunch
Display(s) 27" IPS
Case beat
Audio Device(s) nothing special
Power Supply converted to gas
Mouse and cat
Keyboard backlit and big letters!
Software 7, 10, CentOS
Benchmark Scores embarrassing I imagine!
Man come to think of it I guess I have seen this a few times over the years...and just dismissed it as a oddity and moved on. Now I know!!!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (6.21/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Low quality post by johnny-r
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
97 (0.20/day)
Location
RSA
System Name Zen2
Processor AMD Ryzen - 3600
Motherboard MSi B450m Gaming plus
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire CPU Cooler, Armageddon 120mm RED Led Case fan
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ribjaws V, 3200Mhz (XMP), stable at 3466Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Armour Radeon RX-580 O/C
Storage Primarily: WD - 500GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 27" IPS
Case ANTEC P7, Red line
Audio Device(s) JBL E-55 BT Headphones
Power Supply Antec V700P - Modular PSU
Mouse Gigabyte Ghost, Logitech MX-518
Keyboard Coolermaster Devestator 3, Logitech Wave
Benchmark Scores SOTTR Benchmark 1080p ultra - 95fps
why is this an issue ?
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
8,440 (1.90/day)
I believe there has been enough input on whether it is or not a thing.
Let's move on.
If you have a solution to the OP question... present it and let's see if he wishes to try it.

Thank You and Have a Good Day
 

WizeGuy

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
@OneMoar
Obviously all the big brain brads did NOT know more.

It is NOT normal.

Asus said it is NOT normal.

Pulled the CMOS battery and the problem was fixed. If it were the norm it would not require a fix.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top