• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC problems

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#1
Ok my friend's pc which is nearly identical to the specs on mine save the gpu is having problems when running vista. What happens is on the desktop after maybe one or two minutes the pc crashes and sometimes displays the error message security operation failure. We tried using different RAM, HDD, reinstall Vista from another HDD drive. It could be the psu which is a toughpower 1200W brand new. Does anyone have any idea what could be wrong.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#2
Tested any of his hardware in your rig besides psu and motherboard?
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#3
Tested any of his hardware in your rig besides psu and motherboard?
Well what should I test in mine because I will need to do that tomorrow.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
Id test everything TBH...get his CPU, ram and card! If you have a different PSU Id tell him to just bring his rig over and start open bench testing it all!
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#5
Thanks I will bring it over tomorrow and get testing things. Is there any issues with the 780i chipset?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#6
I've heard of data corruption issues. Unsure though of the faults or what to do to prevent them. Actually, to me it sounds as though a driver, ram or power supply issue. I doubt its power supply but that would be the first thing you should test.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,713 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,469
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
I have to agree on the software thing from Jr. But testing will sort that as well!
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.57/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#8
Agreed. I think I Read somewhere about the 780i or 790i having some issues with Vista, but I cant be certain as to which one it is.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.11/day)
Likes
12
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
#9
i'm gonna go with data corruption on this one, and defintely a mobo, memory or harddrive issue, what memory and what type of HDD is he using he could try take also mobo can have faulty bridges for memory, ide, sata etc.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.11/day)
Likes
12
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
#10
didn't even know we were talking about the nf7 series very picky boards. i'll stay out of this post
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#11
Hmm will need to wait til tomorrow but thanks for all the input. Can't be a driver issue since we don't have time to install any. He's getting a new HDD on saturday and I've tested my HDD on his pc. Erm the ram I used was kingston HyperX 1066 DDR2 and that works ok on my pc and we tried 7 other sticks in different slots etc. I think it might be the motherboard.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#12
Ok update after hours of swapping hardware about. It turns out his gpu was dying and was causing errors but now it seems we keep gettin memory errors now and are swapping the RAM out atm. It won't let us install vista without a bsod.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#13
Try your power supply with his motherboard if you can. This will help you eliminate the cause if its motherboard or power supply also.
 
Last edited:

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#14
Try your power supply with his motherboard if you can. This will help you eliminate the cause if its motherboard or power supply also.
I used my powersupply and it still crashes.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#15
Ok after extensive testing it seems the motherboard is faulty :( Since it was bought on my account I need to do the RMA and im not sure of the entire process ... Does someone come pick up the faulty part ? I have no idea tbh could anyone describe what the process is.
 

willturner

New Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#16
Restart your computer
After hearing your computer beep once during startup, but before the Windows icon appears, tap the F8 key continually;
Instead of Windows loading as normal, a menu with options should appear;
Select the option to run Safe Mode with Networking, then press "Enter".
Choose your usual account.
Download Hijack This, then Malwarebytes and update MWB.
Restart in normal, run them and post their logs if possible.


_________________
Mark Sullivan,
http://www.pcrepairexperts.net/
Team
 
Last edited:

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#17
Restart your computer
After hearing your computer beep once during startup, but before the Windows icon appears, tap the F8 key continually;
Instead of Windows loading as normal, a menu with options should appear;
Select the option to run Safe Mode with Networking, then press "Enter".
Choose your usual account.
Download Hijack This, then Malwarebytes and update MWB.
Restart in normal, run them and post their logs if possible.


_________________
Mark Sullivan,
http://www.pcrepairexperts.net/
Team
Can't have been a virus since it was a fresh install of windows and we didn't bother connecting to the net with it. A bios update did fix it however and it is running quite well atm. cheers though.
 

Ongaku

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
799 (0.20/day)
Likes
39
Location
Oshkosh B'gosh
#18
Ok after extensive testing it seems the motherboard is faulty :( Since it was bought on my account I need to do the RMA and im not sure of the entire process ... Does someone come pick up the faulty part ? I have no idea tbh could anyone describe what the process is.
Did you get it from Newegg?

If you did..go to your account with newegg and get an RMA for the said part, either refund or replacement, probably be refund?? They give you a number you have to put on the box. You can either print a UPS label from them or ship it yourself...normally comes out to the same price, but UPS gets it to newegg faster. If you get a refund, it should show back up on your credit/debit card a few days after it's been sent back to there. If it's replacement, they give you notification of them shipping the new part.

It's easy :)

If you are going to get the RMA directly from the company, it's pretty much the same process. You call them, tell em it's faulty, they give you a RMA number, and sometimes if the company is cool, like Rosewill, they will pay for the shipping for you to return it to them. If not, ship it off to them, and wait for refund or replacement.
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.05/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#19
Got it from ebuyer in the UK and I rma'd it but they sent it back and said nothing was wrong and all of a sudden it worked, I think they secretly replaced it.