• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC reboots after changing graphics card

Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
9 (0.15/day)
System Name Home
Processor Intel Core i5 - 6600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X PERFORMA/+
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8Gb KIT)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING OC 8G
Storage 240Gb SSD Kingston UV400, 1Tb SATA-III Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung C27F396FHI
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Scout 2
Power Supply Thermaltake Evo Blue 2.0 750W
Software Windows 10 x64
Hello everyone.

After replacing my GTX 1060 with new Gigabyte RTX 2070 Super 8Gb Gaminc OC, my PC started rebooting while gaming from time to time.
Its doing great in tests, tried AIDA64 and Furmark for couple of hours each, so reboots happen only in games. Temperatures never get higher than 63-64 deg. Load in game i play is 70 percent at max.
Tried: 1) uninstalling drivers with DDU, then installing from official website without Geforce Experience;
2) resetting BIOS settings to default;
3) used Memtest86+ for half a day, everything fine;
4) cleaned PSU and tested in with multimeter;
5) tried placing card in x4 slot;
6) installed chipset drivers;
7) reinstalled Windows, it helped for about 2 days, then reboots started to happen again.

My specs: Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3, i5-6600k, RTX 2070 Super 8Gb Gaminc OC, Thermaltake Evo Blue 2.0 750W, 16Gb DDR4 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX.

Any ideas? I have only one left is to bring card back to vendor to test it, but i assume they just run some tests and say it works fine because it does pass any test without errors.
Thanks.

BIOS is of latest version F22f btw, updated about a year ago.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
213 (0.09/day)
System Name maipc
Processor 4790k @ 4Ghz / 1.05v
Motherboard Asus vii hero
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Hyperx fury 1866 / CL10
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 Gaming X 6GB
Storage 1TB 860EVO + 1TB 860EVO + 4TB WD Red + 4TB WD Red
Display(s) Samsung 2243BW 22'' 1680x1050 @ 77Hz + BENQ FP73G 17" 1280x1024 @ 72 Hz
Case Cooler Master Centurion 6
Power Supply Seasonic SSP-450 RT (80+ Gold OEM PSU)
Mouse Razer DeathAdder 3.5G
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Rapid-i
Software Win 7 64bit
I would suspect the PSU or the new video card.

Check windows error logs if there is something related to the reboots.

Some nvidia cards allow you to set the power limit below 100%. Setting it below 100% should lower the power consumption of the card. If the reboots stop after you do this, it could indicate that the PSU has trouble supplying enough power.
You can also run a CPU and GPU stress test at the same time. If done correctly, this will load the system and the PSU more than by running a single component stress test. If reboots happen when you do this, it could indicate that the PSU has trouble supplying enough power.
Best way to check would be replacing the PSU with a known working unit if you have one on hand, but I'm guessing you don't.

Also, check that all power cables in your system are correctly plugged in.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,152 (2.83/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
How old is the PSU? Make sure you have controlled test environment, if everything worked for two days after reinstalling what changed?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,405 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
What's the specific power supplymodel number? Get a picture of the entire power supply lable.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,472 (1.74/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
That PSU was tested on Tweaktown, in 2013, with good results. It shouldn't be the weak link, but to me this is a power problem.

OP, I'd suggest unplugging and re-plugging the 24 pin power connector. That PSU comes with a 5 year warranty, so if it's older than that, you may want to consider replacing it.
reboots happen only in games
Is it the same game, or does it happen with multiple games?

What GPU are you upgrading from?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,113 (5.18/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name None
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO manual: PPT 105W, TDC 105A, EDC 1A, PBO Scalar auto)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, cheap B-die, @3666 CL16-17-17-34 1T (1:1:1)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD, 860Evo 1TB SSD
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA panel.
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v1909)
PSU is rated as Tier-B on this list (for entry level systems), and should by doing the job(?), but I'm not sure that 2070S is entry level card... guess not!
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,472 (1.74/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
BTW, is there any way it could be your power source?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,326 (4.29/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
PSU is rated as Tier-B on this list (for entry level systems), and should by doing the job(?), but I'm not sure that 2070S is entry level card... guess not!
Yeah but the PSU was released in 2012. Thats still an old PSU technically.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
3,619 (1.73/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
Yeah but the PSU was released in 2012. Thats still an old PSU technically.
manufacture date is what matters. it could have sat on the shelf for a few years too. Smaller shops might refurbish without and still try to sell as new.
 

masemase

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2020
Messages
7 (0.12/day)
Power supplies usually last a long time if they are good. It could be the power cable or you didn't plug in the card right. I had this problem with cards that I installed. I wasn't use to the special power adapters for the video card and I didn't have it plugged in all the way.
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Messages
116 (0.38/day)
System Name Times Killer
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard MSI B450-A Pro rev. 2.0
Cooling arctic freezer 33 TR4
Memory 2x 8gb Corsair 3200 mhz LPX for Ryzen @ 3733mhz 16-16-16-38
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070Ti ACX 3.0 +223/455 / Asus Strix Vega 56 Gaming OC 1630/900 1120 mw
Storage 2 X 1TB WD's 1X 4gb WB red 1x LG GH22NS70 DVD-RAM Drive
Display(s) HP Omen X 27
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D W/ airflow kit
Audio Device(s) SoundblasterX AE-5 / Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Carsair 850-M
Mouse Logitech Proteus spectrum G502
Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
Software Windows 10 home
might be the hdd the games are on starting too give out.
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.30/day)
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor i5-4670k @ 4.4 / i5-4460
Motherboard ASUS z97-AR /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair H100i / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega / Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega
Storage 250 GB Crucial SSD MX200, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) 3x 24" Asus Ve248H LED (5760x1080) / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Home 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
I've seen odd power issues. A similar case where a guy had a space heater plugged into the same circuit breaker (different outlet on the same wall, and the space heater sat on the other side of the room) his PC was plugged in - heaving game with the space heater going was causing his PC to power off and back on. He said his temps weren't over 70C on his GPU and his CPU wasn't going over 60C, so overheating wasn't the culprit. After he finally unplugged the space heater the rebooting issue on his PC stopped.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
9 (0.15/day)
System Name Home
Processor Intel Core i5 - 6600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X PERFORMA/+
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8Gb KIT)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING OC 8G
Storage 240Gb SSD Kingston UV400, 1Tb SATA-III Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung C27F396FHI
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Scout 2
Power Supply Thermaltake Evo Blue 2.0 750W
Software Windows 10 x64
I would suspect the PSU or the new video card.

Check windows error logs if there is something related to the reboots.

Some nvidia cards allow you to set the power limit below 100%. Setting it below 100% should lower the power consumption of the card. If the reboots stop after you do this, it could indicate that the PSU has trouble supplying enough power.
You can also run a CPU and GPU stress test at the same time. If done correctly, this will load the system and the PSU more than by running a single component stress test. If reboots happen when you do this, it could indicate that the PSU has trouble supplying enough power.
Best way to check would be replacing the PSU with a known working unit if you have one on hand, but I'm guessing you don't.

Also, check that all power cables in your system are correctly plugged in.
Im not sure what to look for in logs, i can upload it if it can help.

I was doing every single stress test in AIDA64 and furmark at the same time for about 2 hours, i thought that makes sure PSU is not the case.

Also i replugged every single cable in my PC while trying to solve this.

How old is the PSU? Make sure you have controlled test environment, if everything worked for two days after reinstalling what changed?
PSU is about 4 years old.

Yeah i guess if there is no other solution ill try to reinstall WIndows again. Thing is, i didnt do anything specific before reboots started to happen again.

That PSU was tested on Tweaktown, in 2013, with good results. It shouldn't be the weak link, but to me this is a power problem.

OP, I'd suggest unplugging and re-plugging the 24 pin power connector. That PSU comes with a 5 year warranty, so if it's older than that, you may want to consider replacing it.

Is it the same game, or does it happen with multiple games?

What GPU are you upgrading from?
Replugged every single one of them.

I play Witcher 3, for testing purposes downloaded also RDR2 and Metro Exodus. Metro was fine, didnt want to play long tho, RDR2 rebooted during start intro, so i stopped trying.
As it reboots randomly from time to time and almost always at certain moments, i thought there's something with software. Maybe reinstalling BIOS on graphics card can help?

might be the hdd the games are on starting too give out.
Tried installing a game on both SSD and HDD.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,472 (1.74/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Yeah i guess if there is no other solution ill try to reinstall WIndows again
No, just no,
almost always at certain moments
That's telling, but it doesn't tell us exactly what's causing it. PSU? GPU? Motherboard? (yes, really) Where/what you have the system plugged in/to.

What GPU are you upgrading from?

The troubleshooting steps from here are to exchange parts, starting with the PSU. You really only need a 550 watt PSU for that system.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
9 (0.15/day)
System Name Home
Processor Intel Core i5 - 6600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X PERFORMA/+
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8Gb KIT)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING OC 8G
Storage 240Gb SSD Kingston UV400, 1Tb SATA-III Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung C27F396FHI
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Scout 2
Power Supply Thermaltake Evo Blue 2.0 750W
Software Windows 10 x64
No, just no,

That's telling, but it doesn't tell us exactly what's causing it. PSU? GPU? Motherboard? (yes, really) Where/what you have the system plugged in/to.

What GPU are you upgrading from?

The troubleshooting steps from here are to exchange parts, starting with the PSU. You really only need a 550 watt PSU for that system.
I mentioned in 1st message, previous Gpu was gtx 1060. PC connected to common surge protector or w/e its called.

Yeah I still dont get it how it may be PSU fault considering it passes couple of hours long stress tests.
First i think ill give GPU to a friend to test it. Want to mention again: problem started only after i changed graphics card.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,405 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Put old card back in, however if the gpu exibits no problems in froends machine or in a shop its your rig, could be ram even, disable windows automatic restarts afer crashes
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
9 (0.15/day)
System Name Home
Processor Intel Core i5 - 6600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X PERFORMA/+
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8Gb KIT)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING OC 8G
Storage 240Gb SSD Kingston UV400, 1Tb SATA-III Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung C27F396FHI
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Scout 2
Power Supply Thermaltake Evo Blue 2.0 750W
Software Windows 10 x64
Put old card back in, however if the gpu exibits no problems in froends machine or in a shop its your rig, could be ram even, disable windows automatic restarts afer crashes
Sold old one right away.
I hope i can force my friend to play witcher for me :D
Automatic restarts disabled, it doesnt BSOD, it just instantly reboots.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,405 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Got temperature monitoring tool,
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,412 (1.31/day)
Location
Long Island
PSU Tier Lists are poorly evaluated and I can not recommend using them. For example, you will find an entire model series put on the list based upon one review of one model from that series. And quite often, the lower sizes in the model line are made by a different OEM and / or on a different platform. For example:

Corsair's TX line came from 2 different OEMs CWT / Chicony) using 4 different platforms
Corsair's HX series came from 2 different OEMs (Seasonic / CWT) using 5 different platforms
EVGAs G2 series came from 3 different platforms ... same for P2

1. Is anything overclocked ? If so drop to out of box settings and turn off XMP for comparison purposes
2. How many different games have exhibited this behavior ?
3. If it can handle Furmark, take the PSU outta the equation ... you used AIDA 64 and Furmark at same time ... few systems can handle that, it's not the PSU.
4. The budget MoBo is a bit out of balance with the CPU / GPU
5. If automatic re-start is disabled ... it should present an error screen. Note the time of failure / report and thenafter reboot look in Evenbt Vuewer Windows system logs for description of err event(s) ... anything in yellow (warning) or res (error) should be investigated.
6. Try in another box.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
9 (0.15/day)
System Name Home
Processor Intel Core i5 - 6600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X PERFORMA/+
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8Gb KIT)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING OC 8G
Storage 240Gb SSD Kingston UV400, 1Tb SATA-III Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung C27F396FHI
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Scout 2
Power Supply Thermaltake Evo Blue 2.0 750W
Software Windows 10 x64
Got temperature monitoring tool,
Yeah, temperatures never were higher than 63-65 both on GPU and CPU during stress tests. Its even lower in games since Witcher on ultras only loads about 60% of CPU and GPU.

PSU Tier Lists are poorly evaluated and I can not recommend using them. For example, you will find an entire model series put on the list based upon one review of one model from that series. And quite often, the lower sizes in the model line are made by a different OEM and / or on a different platform. For example:

Corsair's TX line came from 2 different OEMs CWT / Chicony) using 4 different platforms
Corsair's HX series came from 2 different OEMs (Seasonic / CWT) using 5 different platforms
EVGAs G2 series came from 3 different platforms ... same for P2

1. Is anything overclocked ? If so drop to out of box settings and turn off XMP for comparison purposes
2. How many different games have exhibited this behavior ?
3. If it can handle Furmark, take the PSU outta the equation ... you used AIDA 64 and Furmark at same time ... few systems can handle that, it's not the PSU.
4. The budget MoBo is a bit out of balance with the CPU / GPU
5. If automatic re-start is disabled ... it should present an error screen. Note the time of failure / report and thenafter reboot look in Evenbt Vuewer Windows system logs for description of err event(s) ... anything in yellow (warning) or res (error) should be investigated.
6. Try in another box.
1. CPU was overclocked since i bought it using default option in BIOS, as i said before i tried resetting BIOS setting to default, thus removing any overclocking.
2. I play Witcher 3 atm, tried Metro Exodus also for about 2 hours, it was fine, and Red Dead Redemption 2 - PC rebooted during starting cinematic so i stopped trying it.
3. Yeah i thought the same way, voltages measured with multimeter were also perfectly fine.
4. Yeah it was fine before upgrading GPU, now it seems a bit weak, but i would've accepted performance decrease as a result of some sort of bottleneck, not these reboots.
5. No as i said there's no BSOD as if there's not enough voltage on CPU during overclocking, it just insta reboots. Should i post event logs here when i get home? As i recall It just says something like "kernel power code 41", i guess it just states the fact of PC shutting down not as it should be.
6. Didnt understand this one :D
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
659 (0.76/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) XFX RX 560 4GB
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech N-70FX
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point
Looks like PSU problem related to transient response.
Nvidia card throttle when it sees Furmark. Also it put linear load with not much transient.
Try Unigines Superposition and see if it exhibit same problem.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
9 (0.15/day)
System Name Home
Processor Intel Core i5 - 6600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X PERFORMA/+
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8Gb KIT)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING OC 8G
Storage 240Gb SSD Kingston UV400, 1Tb SATA-III Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung C27F396FHI
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Scout 2
Power Supply Thermaltake Evo Blue 2.0 750W
Software Windows 10 x64
Looks like PSU problem related to transient response.
Nvidia card throttle when it sees Furmark. Also it put linear load with not much transient.
Try Unigines Superposition and see if it exhibit same problem.
Ok ill try it. Btw i also tried decreasing GPU frequency by max. of 500Mhz with MSI Afterburner, didnt work.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
227 (0.93/day)
System Name Neon Master
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard x570 Aorus Master F10
Cooling H115i RGB Platinum 280mm/Case Fans NF-A14 x4
Memory 2x16GB 3733 C16 G.Skill Neo
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Strix
Storage MP600 1tb+2tb / 860 Evo 1tb / WD4005FZBX
Display(s) LG 27GL850-b
Case Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) BeyerDynamic DT 770 Pro (250 Ohms)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro rgb
Keyboard K95 Platinum rgb
Software W10Pro 1909
I had issues on my 2070s rog strix too, restarts, turns out it was 2 problems. DP cable that came with the monitor (LG 27GL850-b) went bad after about a month on top of issues caused by using LG's monitor driver.
New vesa certified cable and stock windows driver fixed all problems. If you can go over HDMI you could try that.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2020
Messages
9 (0.15/day)
System Name Home
Processor Intel Core i5 - 6600K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X PERFORMA/+
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3000MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX (2x8Gb KIT)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING OC 8G
Storage 240Gb SSD Kingston UV400, 1Tb SATA-III Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung C27F396FHI
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Scout 2
Power Supply Thermaltake Evo Blue 2.0 750W
Software Windows 10 x64
I had issues on my 2070s rog strix too, restarts, turns out it was 2 problems. DP cable that came with the monitor (LG 27GL850-b) went bad after about a month on top of issues caused by using LG's monitor driver.
New vesa certified cable and stock windows driver fixed all problems. If you can go over HDMI you could try that.
Didnt install any monitor drivers and its connected via HMDI cable which monitor was complete with.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,405 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yeah, temperatures never were higher than 63-65 both on GPU and CPU during stress tests. Its even lower in games since Witcher on ultras only loads about 60% of CPU and GPU.


1. CPU was overclocked since i bought it using default option in BIOS, as i said before i tried resetting BIOS setting to default, thus removing any overclocking.
2. I play Witcher 3 atm, tried Metro Exodus also for about 2 hours, it was fine, and Red Dead Redemption 2 - PC rebooted during starting cinematic so i stopped trying it.
3. Yeah i thought the same way, voltages measured with multimeter were also perfectly fine.
4. Yeah it was fine before upgrading GPU, now it seems a bit weak, but i would've accepted performance decrease as a result of some sort of bottleneck, not these reboots.
5. No as i said there's no BSOD as if there's not enough voltage on CPU during overclocking, it just insta reboots. Should i post event logs here when i get home? As i recall It just says something like "kernel power code 41", i guess it just states the fact of PC shutting down not as it should be.
6. Didnt understand this one :D
41 is going to be the psu/motherboard
 
Top