• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC Reboots Continuously. No Post Screen.

Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
590 (0.21/day)
Likes
56
Location
Sacramento, Ca
System Name GFNmachine
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling CooliT Vantage
Memory 4x 4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 MHz DDR3 CL9
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 670
Storage 1TB WD Black + 200GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus VH242H 24'' @ 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM 690 (Painted black inside)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Ubuntu 12.10
#1
Hey folks. I was playing some L.A. Noire then went out. Several hours later I come in to Boot my PC and it just continuously reboots and doesnt even get to the post screen. I've tried clearing CMOS but now it just beeps while rebooting over and over. Specs are on the left.

Any ideas?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
590 (0.21/day)
Likes
56
Location
Sacramento, Ca
System Name GFNmachine
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling CooliT Vantage
Memory 4x 4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 MHz DDR3 CL9
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 670
Storage 1TB WD Black + 200GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus VH242H 24'' @ 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM 690 (Painted black inside)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Ubuntu 12.10
#3
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#4
Sounds a bit like what my motherboard does although my mobo has always been funny since i got it but basicly when my overclock messes up the pc will go into a loop and wont post it just beeps.

Its kinda like this, Power on black screen then beep,beep,beep,beep,beep power down then power back up and it just keeps doing it.

The only way i can fix this on my pc is to remove one stick of ram and reset bios using the jumper on my mobo, once i manage to finaly get back into bios i have to set my ram back to 2.1 volts and set my overclock back to normal then power down and put my other stick of ram back in.

My pc also goes into that loop if i turn it of for to long lol so i never turn the pc off inless i realy have to.

Try taking out all your ram apart from one stick and then reset your bios and see if that gets you back into your bios.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
590 (0.21/day)
Likes
56
Location
Sacramento, Ca
System Name GFNmachine
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling CooliT Vantage
Memory 4x 4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 MHz DDR3 CL9
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 670
Storage 1TB WD Black + 200GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus VH242H 24'' @ 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM 690 (Painted black inside)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Ubuntu 12.10
#5
Sounds a bit like what my motherboard does although my mobo has always been funny since i got it but basicly when my overclock messes up the pc will go into a loop and wont post it just beeps.

Its kinda like this, Power on black screen then beep,beep,beep,beep,beep power down then power back up and it just keeps doing it.

The only way i can fix this on my pc is to remove one stick of ram and reset bios using the jumper on my mobo, once i manage to finaly get back into bios i have to set my ram back to 2.1 volts and set my overclock back to normal then power down and put my other stick of ram back in.

My pc also goes into that loop if i turn it of for to long lol so i never turn the pc off inless i realy have to.

Try taking out all your ram apart from one stick and then reset your bios and see if that gets you back into your bios.
That patter you described is exactly what is happening to my pc. It was fine a few hours ago... I'll try your method and see if it does me any good. Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#6
If the mobo in your spec is the one that is doing this then i think it might be a gigabyte thing as i basicly have the same mobo as you, yours has a slightly diffrent model number. my mobo is the EP45-DS3.

Hope you manage to get it going again and please let us know how you get on :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
590 (0.21/day)
Likes
56
Location
Sacramento, Ca
System Name GFNmachine
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling CooliT Vantage
Memory 4x 4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 MHz DDR3 CL9
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 670
Storage 1TB WD Black + 200GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus VH242H 24'' @ 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM 690 (Painted black inside)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Ubuntu 12.10
#7
Problem fixed. Cleared CMOS again and it magically started up. o_O

Thanks for your input though.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.52/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#8
next time it does it ,try to take the battery out and leave it for 30mins then put it back in.could be the battery is going dead.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,573 (0.48/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#9
Problem fixed. Cleared CMOS again and it magically started up. o_O

Thanks for your input though.
Haha sounds just like my mobo when it has a mad one.
Make sure your ram is setup correctly seeing as you reset bios.

Can you check something for me to if poss please?

What does your motherboard book say about them beeps, The impression i get from my book is its some kind of power error but i only get the beeps when trying to set my ram to its rated speed or when i turn the pc off for ages or overclock to much.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
590 (0.21/day)
Likes
56
Location
Sacramento, Ca
System Name GFNmachine
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Cooling CooliT Vantage
Memory 4x 4 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 MHz DDR3 CL9
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 670
Storage 1TB WD Black + 200GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus VH242H 24'' @ 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM 690 (Painted black inside)
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit / Ubuntu 12.10
#10
Haha sounds just like my mobo when it has a mad one.
Make sure your ram is setup correctly seeing as you reset bios.
Honestly, I've ran stock voltages just higher clock but the weird sh*t that computers do once in a while just baffles me. lol

Anyhow, always thanks to TPU Members for being out there somewhere lurking on the www.