• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC screen blank after removing ram

heitorx

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
4 (0.14/day)
Bought a pc today, got home, installed it and it was working fine, while i was installing some stuff i noticed the amount of ram it was using was less than what it had (1X8GB) so i searched for a solution and decided to remove the ram stick and put it back on another slot.

I did it but now when i power on the computer the monitor is blank i tried putting it on the original slot but it didnt work.

i googled for a solution again and it might be because the ram isnt seated properly, when i put it back i didnt hear a click, should i try to force it until it clicks? OBS: mobo is a a320m-hd and rams stick is a t-force vulcan z ddr4 2666mhz
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,631 (0.62/day)
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
yes. pull out all the ram sticks and put them back in, the tabs on each side should click.

Manual says either slot is fine to use as far as i can see.



if that doesnt solve the issues, try resetting the bios with either the jumper or pull out the battery for 10-30 seconds.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,478 (2.76/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Also do note that if you're using windows 10 "shutdown" isn't really an "off" state so always use the power switch on psu if you're planning to take some component out.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,307 (2.71/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVMEs + 5 HDDs
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Also do note that if you're using windows 10 "shutdown" isn't really an "off" state so always use the power switch on psu if you're planning to take some component out.
You uh, sure about that? Maybe if you're using hibernation or deep sleep but typically shutdown means off. If that wasn't the case I'm sure I'd have killed plenty of rigs.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,478 (2.76/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
You uh, sure about that? Maybe if you're using hibernation or deep sleep but typically shutdown means off. If that wasn't the case I'm sure I'd have killed plenty of rigs.
Not 100% sure but hey, better safe than sorry.
 

heitorx

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
4 (0.14/day)
yes. pull out all the ram sticks and put them back in, the tabs on each side should click.

Manual says either slot is fine to use as far as i can see.



if that doesnt solve the issues, try resetting the bios with either the jumper or pull out the battery for 10-30 seconds.
Are you sure i should try to force it until it latches? the latches are only on the upper side of the mobo and i'm afraid of damaging something if i use too much force
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
2,074 (0.83/day)
Location
If'n I tellz ya, den I gotzta, well, you know....
System Name The Big RED One
Processor i9-9900k, oc'd to 5.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus Hero Wifi Z390
Cooling Corsair H115i pro AIO 280mm push/pull, 11x Corsair 140mm ML RGB Fans (top, sides, rear)
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengence RBG pro DDR4-3200 (4x 8GB) in XMP2
Video Card(s) MSI Seahawk 1070 w/15% o/c
Storage 2x WD Black SN750 1TB m.2 + 4TB Crucial SSD + WD 8TB external
Display(s) 2x Samsung 43" LCD's @4k-1440p
Case Thermaltake TT900 Supertower
Audio Device(s) Built-in
Power Supply EVGA G2 SuperNova 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2
Keyboard Logitech G613 mechanical wireless
Software Windows 10 pro 64 bit, with all the unnecessary background shiite turned OFF !
Benchmark Scores Quicker than flies on a dung pile
clik it or stik it...

your choice, but only 1 will fix your problem, hehehehe :peace:
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
176 (0.81/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
Are you sure i should try to force it until it latches? the latches are only on the upper side of the mobo and i'm afraid of damaging something if i use too much force
Yeah, give it some elbow grease. Modern hardware is a lot more robust than you think.
 

heitorx

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
4 (0.14/day)
Yeah, give it some elbow grease. Modern hardware is a lot more robust than you think.
ok, i'm not home right now but when i get back i'll give it a try

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-14 at 13.10.35.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-14 at 13.10.35 (1).jpeg

so these are the latches (both "closed") is all i need to do really just push the ram until it clicks?
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
176 (0.81/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
ok, i'm not home right now but when i get back i'll give it a try

View attachment 162227
View attachment 162228
so these are the latches (both "closed") is all i need to do really just push the ram until it clicks?
Yep. Make sure the stick is aligned correctly and then press down firmly on both ends of the stick simultaneously. You should hear a definitive click once the RAM is properly seated - you can tell it's not in the second image you shared because the clasp on the slot with the RAM in it is not closed all the way.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
12 (0.29/day)
Location
United States
System Name Kalima
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard RoG Strix B450-F
Cooling 6 120mm RGB case fans
Memory 4x16 (3200) Corsair Vengeance (RGB) Pro
Video Card(s) Zotac NVidia GeForce RTX2060
Storage 1x500G SSD 1x2T HDD
Display(s) 1 dell ?24"? on DP and a samsung 21" on HDMI
Case ASUS TUF GT301
Audio Device(s) Logitech G935 wireless headphones
Power Supply Thermaltake Gold 600W Rated 80+
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 (then lots of random games mostly :) )
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark time spy 7533
It takes a little bit of a press, not all your strength, but definite push to get the click, just like when installing GPU. Also, make sure you have it the right direction, there's a hole near the middle on bottom, it only lines up one way, but it's just off center and won't line up if it's backwards.
 

heitorx

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
4 (0.14/day)
Ok guys, i did it, i really just needed to use enough pressure to make the latches go all the way down.

The pc is working fine again, thank you very much.
 
Top