• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC standby(sleep) problem

Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#1
Hi all,

when I got my PC, it would go to standby fine, but after a while, for no apparent reason, it suddenly decided to not correctly go to standby anymore.

What it does at the moment after i give the standby command, is that it takes really long to shut down, and then when normally it correctly turns everything audible off, it keeps all the fans running. The only thing similar is the flashing power LED, which still flashes. After I try to wake up the PC again after such a faulty standby, it wont turn on, and the PC needs a reset in order get it running again. After this reset it will give the message that windows did not close correctly.

I've read something that this relates to the correctly functioning of the S3 state of my mobo, however, there is no such option in the bios(uefi), so there is no way i accidentally messed that up. I also checked things like lan controllers on their wake-up behavior, tried it with every variable, but the system still wont work correctly.


Is there anyone with an idea about this weird and annoying motherboard(?) behavior?
I would really like to be able to turn my PC to standby(sleep), instead of shutting it down completely, since my HDD's arent the fastest around, and the 16GB prefetch buffer(my RAM :p) really helps in keeping my system nice and snappy at normal use.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#2
Look and see if there is a update for your motherboard bios.

Make sure to follow the steps correctly when flashing.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#3
The mobo came with the most current bios when i bought it.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.83/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#4
There maybe a more current one now.

Did you try resetting to defaults in bios to see if that will sort it?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,810 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,798
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#5
Do any driver updates recently, or install any new hardware? Some hardware (particularly video) needs to support sleep state too for it to work properly.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,656 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,606
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#6
You may wanna try "powercfg.exe" command to help sort out which devices/settings are/maybe causing your problem.
You can use it to help diagnose S1/S2/S3/etc. problems, device problems, sleep state problems/compatibility caused by hardware/software, and more.

Links below:

Use PowerCfg in Windows 7 to Evaluate Power Efficiency
How do I: Use PowerCfg in Windows 7
Powercfg Command-Line Options
Good document from Microsoft: Using PowerCfg to Evaluate System Energy Efficiency
Use new Powercfg Options to Find and Fix Energy-Related Problems

Basic Diagnostics for Hibernate and Sleep

How to Troubleshoot a Vista or Windows 7 Sleep Mode Problem@Windows Vista forums

Google info
:)
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#7
Ok! Update! Thanks for all the help people, greatly appreciated, but this morning I just got a wild idea and started testing in a different direction: for some reason, when I clock my RAM lower, it will correctly go to standby. Relaxing the timings or upping the voltages with my current frequency does not help. The ram is totally stable in windows and with booting with my current frequency aswell, so I don't get it ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,046 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,653
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#8
Check the device manager. See if the mouse or keyboard is keeping it from going to sleep. Right click and check power settings uncheck let this wake from sleep

And I take it you checked your power settings? Sometimes windows updates will change your sleep settings
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#9
Check the device manager. See if the mouse or keyboard is keeping it from going to sleep. Right click and check power settings uncheck let this wake from sleep

And I take it you checked your power settings? Sometimes windows updates will change your sleep settings
Yeah, i'm definately sure it bios related now, Resetting my bios helps, and running my OC profile with a lowered RAM frequency also helps. I'm currently reading up on RAM drive strengths, and whether that could potentially lead to the issues I seem to have.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#10
OK, for everyone interested in what the problem was and how I fixed it: Apparently the FSB fluctuates quite a lot during startup/shutdown and the difference can be about 5 MHz (so in my case 250-260 instead of the 255 I set in bios). This this caused the memory to get unstable and ruin the shut-down. I dont know why the FSB frequency varies that much, but setting the FSB 5 MHZ lower in bios, and setting it 5MHz higher again in windows( I didnt do all that tweaking and stresstesting for nothing!).

The only question remains is, why does the FSB fluctuate that much during startup and shutdown? But atleast i've found a way around it.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#11
How do you know that the FSB fluctuates so much? I'm interested.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#12
I'm not sure, but the bootscreen reports a higher FSB then i set in bios, and when windows is still loading (but already on the desktop) the ASUS EVO tool also reports a variant FSB. I actually do not have proof that the FSB fluctuates during shut-down, but everything looks that way.

As to the reason: HWmonitor reports the 12V rail at 11.73-11.58 and the 5V and 3.3V also are lower then they're supposed to. However, the ASUS evo tool reports the voltages being just fine, so I dont know what to believe. I also did not fiddle with the FSB voltage. Other voltages have been altered though.

In the end, everything works again, so i'm not that bothered, since setting the FSB to 255 in windows after booting isnt a lot of work.