• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC startups twice before booting normally

Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
Hi

I have a weird issue for some times :

When I power up my pc it startups, shut downs and then boot normally

I tried to modify some option in bios yesterday in the boot section and seemed to do the trick but not untill today

The only workaround I found was to enable windows fast startup but I don't want to use this one

Any ideas?

Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
Not that I know of it's a maximus hero X
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2019
Messages
76 (0.12/day)
System Name Shiny Beast 2.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950x
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H150i Elite Capillex
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3600Mhz CL17
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RTX 3090 OC
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo 1TB, Samsung 860 Evo 1TB, Crucial MX500 2TB, WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Asus PG35VQ 3440x1440 200Hz GSync
Case Corsair 500D SE RGB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z906
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 600
Keyboard Logitech K750
If you have XMP enabled, it´ s just your board training the "tertary timings" for your RAM.
It shouldn´t happen anymore if you don´ t cut power to your PC after shutting it down.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
Well I have XMP indeed and seems that it's still doing it, any way to fix it?

Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,971 (0.92/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 10 64-bit Core i7 6700
Processor Intel Core i7 6700
Motherboard Asus Z170M-PLUS
Cooling Corsair AIO
Memory 2 x 8 GB Kingston DDR4 2666
Video Card(s) Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
any way to fix it
Using Cpu-Z read what are the memory timings and mem. frequency set by XMP, then disable XMP in bios and set the same timings/frequency manually.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
So I should put that and keep the voltage and that's it, disable XMP?

I also set up vccio and vssa at 1.12 on auto it was very high
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 12, 2019
Messages
76 (0.12/day)
System Name Shiny Beast 2.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950x
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H150i Elite Capillex
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3600Mhz CL17
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RTX 3090 OC
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB, Samsung 970 Evo 1TB, Samsung 860 Evo 1TB, Crucial MX500 2TB, WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Asus PG35VQ 3440x1440 200Hz GSync
Case Corsair 500D SE RGB
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z906
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Platinum
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 600
Keyboard Logitech K750
Does it really bother you that much?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
I mean that double boot issue isn't the cause of an issue or saying that something is wrong?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,594 (1.74/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.5GHz / Dual Xeons x5675 & x5687
Motherboard MAXIMUS V FORMULA / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / RAIJINTEK AIDOS x2
Memory 4x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x8GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 980 Ti /Sapphire Pulse RX590 / EVGA GTX 1660 Ti SC
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) AOC 24" IPS / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
Asus board do that when you mess around in the bios and something isnt exactly right/stable it will double boot.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
and is it a sign of a bigger issue or it's ok?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,594 (1.74/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.5GHz / Dual Xeons x5675 & x5687
Motherboard MAXIMUS V FORMULA / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / RAIJINTEK AIDOS x2
Memory 4x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x8GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 980 Ti /Sapphire Pulse RX590 / EVGA GTX 1660 Ti SC
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) AOC 24" IPS / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
Its fine. If system works fine then no worries.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
2,029 (0.42/day)
Location
Austin TX
System Name Hexy
Processor Intel i9 7900x @5ghz (direct die liquid cooling)
Motherboard EVGA x299 Dark
Cooling Custom Liquid W/ 3x120 Radiator
Memory 32Gb Gskill (B-Die) @3600 CL16
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti Liquid Cooled
Storage 512GB Sabrent Rocket
Display(s) PX329 + PX247
Case Custom Lian Li V100L
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD58X + Sennheiser GSX 1000
Power Supply Corsair RM 750x
Mouse Zelotes C-18
Keyboard Bloody 845R
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores over there --->
I mean that double boot issue isn't the cause of an issue or saying that something is wrong?
Nope. As stated already it's just your motherboard setting ram timings and rebooting. If you leave the power on to the system while it's "off" it shouldn't have to set the timings each time you power on.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
Weird it seems to do it everytime
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,782 (3.42/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ AMD 3900X+NH-D15
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ ASRock AM4 Pro 4
Memory Samsung low profile 1600 \ Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB+ 2xCorsair Force 120GB
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( VE2000BWS ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Weird it seems to do it everytime
if it's bugging you the logical way to fix it would be when it's booted and run CPU-Z to get the timings and voltages and manually set them in the bios, although should double check the voltages just in case they are on the high side.

So some trail and error is all needs to be done.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
Well I put back the bios to default and enter my setting almost one by one and seem that it was ERP enabled that was causing this issue. Can I let it to disable?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,594 (1.74/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.5GHz / Dual Xeons x5675 & x5687
Motherboard MAXIMUS V FORMULA / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / RAIJINTEK AIDOS x2
Memory 4x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x8GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 980 Ti /Sapphire Pulse RX590 / EVGA GTX 1660 Ti SC
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) AOC 24" IPS / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
Thats for standy power saving bolony stuff. Yes leave it off.

 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
Weird, for what I sawt, without it it boots normally , is there any explantation for it?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,594 (1.74/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.5GHz / Dual Xeons x5675 & x5687
Motherboard MAXIMUS V FORMULA / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / RAIJINTEK AIDOS x2
Memory 4x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x8GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 980 Ti /Sapphire Pulse RX590 / EVGA GTX 1660 Ti SC
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) AOC 24" IPS / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
Weird, for what I sawt, without it it boots normally , is there any explantation for it?
You have a high overclock and you had enabled a powersaving feature. That is a logical answer.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
My oc is not that big, 48ghz at 1.2 but maybe. Well I hope the issue is fixed anyways thanks :)
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,863 (1.38/day)
Location
Long Island
On previous Asus builds, I had issues with XPM that bwent away with a bump in DRAM voltage. In 2 instances , I wound up turning off XMP and inputting the SPD RAM settings manually and that worked.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
77 (0.10/day)
Processor 9900k
Motherboard Maximus HERO XI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 2
Memory G Skills Trident Z -32G
Video Card(s) Asus trix RTX 2080 TI
Display(s) lg 34gk950f
Case Phanteks P6900S
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra 850W titanium
The issue did not seemed to be DRAM related but ERP, weird
 

Bayern

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2020
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
Hello did you solved your issue? I have the same issue please help thank you
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,091 (4.54/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Hello did you solved your issue? I have the same issue please help thank you
Reading this thread shows disabling ERP in the Bios stops the double boot issue at least for Asus Motherboards.
 

Bayern

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2020
Messages
2 (0.03/day)
Hello Thanks for the reply i have tried to disable ERP the problem is solved But I want ERP to be enable (s4+s5 ) because when ERP is disabled The computer is still has a power and the lights is on after shutting down the computer.
I want ERP enable s4+s5 because when I shutdown the computer I want the power to be completely off and no rgb lights
 
Top