• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC to Xbox streaming only works if I disable the Firewall

Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
555 (0.17/day)
Likes
28
Location
Birmingham, England...
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 2GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 DHX - 1600MH/PC3-12800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4870 1GB
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB Barracuda (RAID 0) 3x 1TB Samsung F3, 140GB WD Maxtor (10,000rpm)
Display(s) 2x 20" LG Flatron L204WS
Power Supply Powercool 850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Hi

My PC streams to my xBox fine if I disable the firewall. How do I allow it in the firewall so I don't have to keep going up stairs to stream?

I'm not going through media centre... Just selecting my PC from video library.

Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#2
Turn off Windows Firewall and install a better firewall program.

I use Kaspersky Internet Security, but for free ZoneAlarm is really good.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
183 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Walsall
Processor Intel Q6600 3.2 ghz (356 * 9)
Motherboard ASUS P5B Deluxe WIFI/AP
Cooling Corsair h60 with extra fan (push/pull)
Memory 6gb DDR2-800mhz (Kingston Blue Hyper X 2x2GB) (Kingston Ram 2x1gb) @ 5-6-6-18
Video Card(s) Nvidia Gtx 280 XFX
Storage 2 x Crucial c300 64gb ssd (raid 0) | 2 x Wd 320gb (raid 0)
Display(s) 2 x 23" AOC e2343f led monitors
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Power Supply Powercool 750w Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
But if you don't want to do that you need to allow,

- Windows Media Player
- Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service
- Windows Media Client Service
- Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service Configuration Application

And of course enable file sharing on your PC.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
555 (0.17/day)
Likes
28
Location
Birmingham, England...
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 2GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 DHX - 1600MH/PC3-12800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4870 1GB
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB Barracuda (RAID 0) 3x 1TB Samsung F3, 140GB WD Maxtor (10,000rpm)
Display(s) 2x 20" LG Flatron L204WS
Power Supply Powercool 850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#4
Well he already uses Mcafee firewall (probably says it all)!! If I went through Media Centre I could just allow all connections to it. But we can't do it this way!
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#5
Well he already uses Mcafee firewall (probably says it all)!! If I went through Media Centre I could just allow all connections to it. But we can't do it this way!
maybe try using PS3 Media server instead, it works just fine for the XBOX360..... its how i stream videos to the entertaintment room.



it will also automaticaly transcode any movies that are not compatible with the xbox360.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
555 (0.17/day)
Likes
28
Location
Birmingham, England...
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 2GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 DHX - 1600MH/PC3-12800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4870 1GB
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB Barracuda (RAID 0) 3x 1TB Samsung F3, 140GB WD Maxtor (10,000rpm)
Display(s) 2x 20" LG Flatron L204WS
Power Supply Powercool 850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#7
So I can play MKVs on my Xbox?
well yes and no,


when you browse to a folder that contains a .MKV video....... it will also display a folder called Transcode.

if you play the transcode folder it will convert the movie ON THE FLY using your PCs CPU to a format that can be displayed on the xbox.





so yes you can play MKVs but they will be converted on the fly using your PCs hardware.
your PCs CPU will need to be strong enough to keep up however..... only real way to find out if its upto the job is to give it ago.


(Q6600 @ Stock settings will handle it just fine.)
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
555 (0.17/day)
Likes
28
Location
Birmingham, England...
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.8GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X48T-DQ6
Cooling Zalman 9500 LED CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 2GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 DHX - 1600MH/PC3-12800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD4870 1GB
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB Barracuda (RAID 0) 3x 1TB Samsung F3, 140GB WD Maxtor (10,000rpm)
Display(s) 2x 20" LG Flatron L204WS
Power Supply Powercool 850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
Awesome. Thanks SlyFox! Can't wait to try this out.