• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

pc turns on for split second then stops

deelitty08

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2021
Messages
4 (0.11/day)
Last night I shut down my pc like normal and went to sleep today when I woke up my pc turns on for split seconds then stops my pc power button was already fucked tbh I checked everything seems to be normal I thought maybe I should change the case or powersupply? I don't know please help these are my specs
its not like a turn on for a split second more like my motherboard lit red for half a second there was no noice

mb: msi Z270 GAMING M3 gpu: 3060ti cpu: i7-7700k power: EVGA SuperNOVA 650 G1, 80+ GOLD 650W ram Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3200MHz
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
9,005 (2.25/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
looks like shortcircuit somewhere
could be from psu or the other, if you have spare psu you can try it
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
9,005 (2.25/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
other?
i dont have a spare psu sadly I could buy one but im not sure if its the problem
i may test it outside the case with minimal setup, just motherboard, ram, and psu
just to test if it run well
 

deelitty08

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2021
Messages
4 (0.11/day)
i may test it outside the case with minimal setup, just motherboard, ram, and psu
just to test if it run well
i did disconnect my gpu and removed it cuz i didnt want anything to happen but it still didnt work
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
9,005 (2.25/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
then all left just between the motherboard and psu, could be from the case too, that's why it's better test it out from the case
 

deelitty08

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2021
Messages
4 (0.11/day)
then all left just between the motherboard and psu, could be from the case too, that's why it's better test it out from the case
ok i tried the psu with the paperclip trick outside the case and it worked so im leaning toward the case but ill test out the motherboard outside how do I do it if u dont mind me asking

update I tried the motherboard with the cpu and psu alone and same problem red light for split second then stops I think i might need a new motherboard
 
Top