• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC turns on without CPU 4 pin plugged in.

Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#1
PC turns on without CPU 4 pin plugged in. (Solved)

With it plugged in the Blue Power LED and fans turns on for a second then turn off.

Its my uncles HP Pavillion a250n.

I've replaced the power supply with a new one, I've checked the MotherBoards battery (Its good), I've reseated and applied fresh thermal paste to the cpu and I've tired running the MB with nothing else connected to the PSU. I make sure the CPU fan is plugged in at all times.

All in all the only way the PC will turn and stay on is if I don't plug in the 4 Pin to the MB which Obiviously I need to get it to boot.

I'm not sure what it is? Perhaps a shortage somewhere? Should I just take everything out and put it back in?


From what he has told me, its been running fine, then one day after he shut it down, it just wouldn't turn on.

Ideas?
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,469 (10.09/day)
Likes
18,147
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
Flip the plug around where it connects to the motherboard for the power button.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#3
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
502 (0.14/day)
Likes
108
System Name His - Hers - Guest - Guest - Guest
Processor i7 5960x - i7 990x -930 -i7 870 - i7 870
Motherboard Evga X99 - X58 - x58 - P55 FTW 200's
Cooling Frio Frio Frio Frio
Memory Gskills 4GB 1866 all slots
Video Card(s) Evga 970GTX - 770GTXx6
Storage 500GB evo 850 SSDx2 Raid 0, 120GB SSDx2, 120GB SSDx2, 1TB HDD
Display(s) 1920x1080
Case Antec 1200, 1200, 900, 900
Power Supply Antec 1200 watt
Software Windows 7 Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Who cares
#4
When i had a pc do this i replaced the PSU same issue, turned out to be the Video card
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#5
When i had a pc do this i replaced the PSU same issue, turned out to be the Video card
I took out all Cards... Including the Video card it had. Its just the MB.

Quick update. Its doing the same thing now with or without the 4 Pin Plugged in o_O?
That is a split second power up and then off again.
 

temp02

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
493 (0.15/day)
Likes
165
#6
I don't want to sound like I'm bashing ASUS or anything, but all ASUS motherboards I've come in contact with tend to do that from time to time, and then for no reason at all they work again, never found out the reason for this behavior (my best guess is some kind static charge build up somewhere on the board).
If you can make it work again, please do post what you did, good luck.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,721 (0.59/day)
Likes
416
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green, 512 GB Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#7
Going off of temp02, I'd say turn off the PSU, hold down the power button, and then go at it again (after turning the PSU back on).
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#8
Try a hsf research, if that doesn't work disconnect power supply completely from mobo and remove battery leaving it sit for a day. Report back if that doesn't work for you.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,672 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,260
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#9
Aphex, it looks like you've done some quite thorough troubleshooting already, which makes it so much nicer to help you. :toast:

I'd say the only things that could possibly be doing this now are the mobo, CPU & RAM, in that order. The mobo being by far the most likely culprit. Have a look and see if you can spot any dodgy looking capacitors, especially around the power circuitry. Typical telltales are bulges and leaking goo from them.

The CPU? Yup: a few years ago, my friend's PC wouldn't access floppy drives properly (remember them?) It just gave errors and was very intermittent, but everything else worked fine. However, the floppy drive worked fine when he swapped out the CPU and failed again when he swapped it back in.

He ended up calling Intel customer support and they confirmed that the CPU was faulty. Weird, huh? :eek: I would have never guessed the CPU either. I think it was a Pentium 3.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,661 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#10
I don't want to sound like I'm bashing ASUS or anything, but all ASUS motherboards I've come in contact with tend to do that from time to time, and then for no reason at all they work again, never found out the reason for this behavior (my best guess is some kind static charge build up somewhere on the board).
If you can make it work again, please do post what you did, good luck.
Why did you even bring up ASUS and bash them? I've had ASUS boards and none ever did that, so it is not all. The HP Pavillion a250n uses a MSI motherboard anyway.
And, by coincidence, my latest MSI board did just the same thing and it was the PSU causing it.

AphexDreamer stated it was; and, I quote:
Its my uncles HP Pavillion a250n.
HP Desktop PCs - Motherboard Specifications

HP Pavillion a250n key specifications

Back to the topic...

It is just a thought.
Sounds like it could be the PSU's power good signal.
Power Good Signal
How PC Power Supplies Work
What PSU did you use?

Edit:

I'd say turn off the PSU, hold down the power button, and then go at it again (after turning the PSU back on).
:toast:

To add to this:
1. Un-plug the PSU from the wall socket
2. Turn-off PSU
3. Remove the CMOS button battery
4. Hold down power button for 10+ seconds
Then, re-install the battery, plug in the PSU, turn on the power button.
Cross fingers on the right hand:rolleyes: and start up the system.

@95Viper: Aphex said that he swapped out the PSU in his OP, so it's unlikely to be that.
@ Qubit> Yes, I saw that, however, even a new PSU can be faulty. As, I just RMAed one I got from Newegg. The 5 volt rail was only pushing 4.19 volts and the System would go into a re-boot loop. So, I replaced it with another and she is fine and dandy. CM is sending a replacement for the faulty one.;)
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,672 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,260
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#11
@95Viper: Aphex said that he swapped out the PSU in his OP, so it's unlikely to be that.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#12
Going off of temp02, I'd say turn off the PSU, hold down the power button, and then go at it again (after turning the PSU back on).
I've done that same thing time after time. Quick on/sudden off.

Try a hsf research, if that doesn't work disconnect power supply completely from mobo and remove battery leaving it sit for a day. Report back if that doesn't work for you.
I can try this.

Aphex, it looks like you've done some quite thorough troubleshooting already, which makes it so much nicer to help you. :toast:

I'd say the only things that could possibly be doing this now are the mobo, CPU & RAM, in that order. The mobo being by far the most likely culprit. Have a look and see if you can spot any dodgy looking capacitors, especially around the power circuitry. Typical telltales are bulges and leaking goo from them.

The CPU? Yup: a few years ago, my friend's PC wouldn't access floppy drives properly (remember them?) It just gave errors and was very intermittent, but everything else worked fine. However, the floppy drive worked fine when he swapped out the CPU and failed again when he swapped it back in.

He ended up calling Intel customer support and they confirmed that the CPU was faulty. Weird, huh? :eek: I would have never guessed the CPU either. I think it was a Pentium 3.
I've test the board without any ram but I know it can still be the MB/CPU. I just want to be sure I'm not leaving something out. Probably replacing the two would fix it but I don't know if its worth it. I don't really feel like putting any more money down on it. My uncle would pay me but I'd rather he paid me to just get his stuff off it so he can put in a more reliable computer.
Why did you even bring up ASUS and bash them? I've had ASUS boards and none ever did that, so it is not all. The HP Pavillion a250n uses a MSI motherboard anyway.
And, by coincidence, my latest MSI board did just the same thing and it was the PSU causing it.

AphexDreamer stated it was; and, I quote:


HP Desktop PCs - Motherboard Specifications

HP Pavillion a250n key specifications

Back to the topic...

It is just a thought.
Sounds like it could be the PSU's power good signal.
Power Good Signal
How PC Power Supplies Work
What PSU did you use?
I replaced his old 250 Watt with a 350 watt.

http://illusiongrouppcs.com/product...350-watt-micro-atx-replacement-power-supply-0

I only paid $30 for it.

Also I suspect perhaps it might be the button?

I'd like to try and jump start it? But don't know how.

Does anyone know how to start a PC with out using the switch?

EDIT:
Also note that I have no mouse or keyboard plugged in. NOt sure if this would disrupt anything.
And before I replaced the OLD PSU it had a flashing green light at the back. Disconnecting everything but the MB from the PSU cause it to go solid green (not sure what it means). But no matter what it would never even turn on with the old one till I replaced it and now get the split second on/off.


I'm just trying to provide as much info as I can right now.
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,672 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,260
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#13
@Aphex: Those power switches go to an ATX connector block on the mobo. Just trace the cable from the switch to the mobo. Alternatively, the mobo may have it marked as 'pwr sw' or similar.

Pull the plug off the pins, which then allows you to connect them with a screwdriver momentarily. However, it won't be the power switch, I promise you.

It'll power up just fine without the keyboard and mouse. The BIOS will likely complain without the keyboard, that's all.

@95Viper: true, but it's unlikely, especially as his system behaves similarly with the new one.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,661 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#14
Just me and my opinion; but, I would try a different PSU.

I have not found hardly any good reviews of Athena PSUs. They look questionable. They say UL listed, I see no UL number on the stickers and UL site does not even return results on Athena.

Goodluck, hope you get it solved...:)
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#15
Just me and my opinion; but, I would try a different PSU.

I have not found hardly any good reviews of Athena PSUs. They look questionable. They say UL listed, I see no UL number on the stickers and UL site does not even return results on Athena.

Goodluck, hope you get it solved...:)
I suppose I can try a PSU from my other Desktop. It has a better one I believe.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,672 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,260
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#16
Just me and my opinion; but, I would try a different PSU.

I have not found hardly any good reviews of Athena PSUs. They look questionable. They say UL listed, I see no UL number on the stickers and UL site does not even return results on Athena.

Goodluck, hope you get it solved...:)
You get a brownie point, 95Viper. :) I hadn't clicked the link and didn't see that Aphex is using a POS replacement PSU.

Therefore, I'll second you that it could well be faulty and that he should try a quality PSU. My feeling is still that the mobo is faulty in the end, though.

Again, check those caps for signs of bad ones. Any hint of it and you can bet that the mobo is bad. Replacing them can sometimes fix the problem if nothing else is broken, but it may not be worth the time, hassle and uncertainty.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#17
Guys problem Solved :D!!!

Turns out it was the Bran New PSU!!!

I tested the PC with a known quality PSU from another Desktop build of mine and it turned on!

So back to Frys I go to buy another PSU and return the old.

Thanks for all the help guys :)
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,661 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#18
Glad you solved it.;)
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,672 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,260
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#19
Awesome! There's nothing as satisfying as a positive resolution. :toast:

Yeah, those cheap PSU's are never worth it and could well kill your system. In fact, they're so shit, that if you get it free brand new, either eBay or throw it away.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.89/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#20
Frys closes at 9... so tomorrow.

Also it would be nice if TPU had a Solved tag options for threads that get solved.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,661 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#21
Also it would be nice if TPU had a Solved tag options for threads that get solved.
:toast: Nice idea.

Ask a mod to add "SOLVED" to the title and close the thread.:)