1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC Upgrade Advise please!

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Vandarth, Oct 27, 2011.

  1. Vandarth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey everyone, im looking for some advice to upgrade my current PC. I would like a good computer for BF3/skyrim etc and am looking to spend around $700 AUSD.

    My current specs are:
    Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1
    Mother Board: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. System Model: EP41-UD3L
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
    RAM: 4096MB RAM
    GPU: HD 4890 1GB
    PSU: 400 or 500 im pretty sure (iknow its not good enough for later cards though)

    This is a build I made up on Umart:
    CoolerMaster 700W Extreme Plus $88.00
    Kingmax 8G(2x4G)PC-10600 1333MHZ DDR3 $59.00
    Intel Core i5 2500K Processor LGA1155 3.3GHz CPU $226.00
    Gigabyte GA-Z68M-D2H-B3 LGA1155 Z68 DDR3/1333 PCI-Ex16 SATA3 SATA2 USB $116.00
    Gigabyte ATI HD6950 1GB OC GDDR5 DVI HDMI $280
    Total $769.00

    I was just wondering if the build i made on Umart is a good value for money build and will all be compatible and fast? Im not too sure about cooling though but on my PC at the moment I have like 5 fans in total so not too sure if i need a cooling device for the CPU but if i do, tell me if its needed thanks :)

    Thanks a ton! Max.
     
  2. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,430 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I would definitely get a better PSU and faster RAM. CPU cooling depends on if you are interested in overclocking or not, because the stock cooler will work fine at stock speeds.

    Edit: And welcome to TPU.

    Second Edit: After looking at some reviews for your PSU, it's not too bad. You should still go with faster RAM, but that's a decent system.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
  3. Vandarth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks! Could you please specify what ram and psu I should get and what price they are each?

    Again, thanks!
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,353 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Home
    1600MHz ram, timings not important, PSU Corsair, Antec, Silverstone, some XFX etc.
     
  5. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,430 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    You are using Umart, so I am assuming you are in Australia? That's the only place I have heard of it. If so, the prices are so different down there that it is hard for me to make a good reccomendation. I will go check out the site and come back.
     
  6. Vandarth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks alot! yep in aus, qld

    Also I was wondering if that bios hack changing ati 6950 to 6970 is easy?
     
  7. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,430 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I don't know what is going on here, but they don't have the RAM you have listed there when I try to build a system. I just upgraded it to Gskill 1600 Mhz, which is only around $40 here and it raised the system price to over $900. Do they charge that much for RAM down there? It doesn't sound right.

    Only the 2GB 6950's can be flashed and they have to be reference, which are getting harder and harder to find.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,860 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,314
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    use PCCasegear instead of Umart if you can, their prices are often better and the service/support is definitely tons better.


    dont get coolermaster PSU's, they're utter turds.
    1333Mhz ram is fine, but 1600Mhz would be better (and it doesnt cost much more)
    6950 is a good card, but for BF3 (not sure about skyrim) the 2GB model will make a difference for sure. some modern games are already hitting limits on 1GB cards, so it'd be a waste to not get the 2GB since you'll stick with that card for a while.
     
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Vandarth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    whats the average price difference between the 1333mhz ram and the 1600mhz ram? also what PSU would i need for a 2gb gpu?
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,860 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,314
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    the difference will not be large at stock clocks and with a single video card, but should you start overclocking the CPU and/or upgrade video cards later, it will make a difference.


    getting the 2GB GPU doesnt up the power requirements, just go for a quality brand like corsair or seasonic and you'll be fine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Vandarth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ah also, the things alot of people these days is getting an extra SSD just for windows 7 to be on for extra speed, i was wondering how much speed does this add? and is it really worth the $110 for a 60gb SSD?

    thanks
     
  12. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    absolutely.

    "eXtreme Power Plus 400W - 650W:
    These are garbage, ACBel's cheapest, shoddiest units, and they're everywhere. Not one of the EPP line can deliver more than 2/3s of its rated wattage. Even at their "real" ratings they're poor, barely keeping in spec in most cases. I place the eXtreme Power lineup only one tier above generic units from Leadman or Linkworld or Sun Pro. No one should buy these. However, they're one of CoolerMaster's best selling lineups, because they're so cheap and they're stacked a score high in every retail store in the country. I've been into a Microcenter that had a literal 5 foot pyramid of eXtreme Power Plus 500W units; a shame I didn't have my camera. Don't let the CoolerMaster brand name fool you, these are the types of power supplies that you hear horror stories about."

    this one can easily power anything you throw at it for a couple years

    http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=15_226&products_id=5434

    http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=58

    kinda overkill but its one of the best. you can even tri-fire on it, that platform peaks very well with overrated Sckottsky rectifiers. the tpq-1200 can pull 1500-1800w
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,860 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,314
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i've got a 120GB SSD, and while it does make a difference its not that huge. it requires more knowhow to setup, since if you just leave it at stock that 60GB will fill up really fast with your documents and desktop (and installed programs), and wear out fast too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Vandarth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ah, does this ram sound better?
    G Skill 8G(2x4G) DDR3 1600Mhz PC12800 RL 9-9-9-24(CL9D-8GBRL) $69
    and this PSU: Thermaltake Litepower 700W ATX PSU $80

    keep in mind trying to keep price low and i will only ever have a single GPU and 1920x1080 computer screen :)
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,860 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,314
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    for PSU its a quality brand or dont bother. a corsair 500W will be as good as a thermaltake 700W, and thats not a joke.

    the G skill ram should be fine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Vandarth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I thought it all depended on the amount of watts really? like for a 6950 it says recomended 650watt i think? so how will 500watt be enough? wont it over heat and wear out fast?
    also, is the mother board i listed (Gigabyte GA-Z68M-D2H-B3 LGA1155 Z68 DDR3/1333 PCI-Ex16 SATA3 SATA2 USB $116.00), a value for money one? or what could be a better one?
    again im not too great at computer knowledge :)
     
  17. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
  18. Vandarth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so 600watt is enough for a 6950 pre overclocked?
    also found this: Corsair TX-650 650W ATX Power $115
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,860 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,314
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    those reccomendations are based on crap power supplies. they're covering their ass because if they say "400W quality PSU" then how will the consumer know what brands are quality?



    your system will be fine on a 500 to 650W PSU from corsair/seasonic/etc (theres more good brands, google/forum search will find them. those are just the two i stick with)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-6950-6970-review/11

    the TX is also an old psu. its a little weak by todays standarts.

    the silent pro 600 is a considerably strong design. its built well and performs well. its a strong budget unit, take a look at the Jonnyguru review
     
  21. Vandarth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, this is my revised layout:
    Corsair TX-650 650W ATX Power $114.00
    G Skill 8G(2x4G) DDR3 1600Mhz PC12800 RL 9-9-9-24(CL9D-8GBRL)$69.00
    Sapphire ATI HD6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E $300.00
    Intel Core i5 2500K Processor LGA1155 3.3GHz CPU $226.00
    Gigabyte GA-Z68M-D2H-B3 LGA1155 Z68 DDR3/1333 PCI-Ex16 SATA3 SATA2 USB $109.00

    Total $818.00

    comments? :)

    also do i rly need the 2gb GPU if im just running a single screen at 1920x1080?
     
  22. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    if you're going to get a Corsair, stay away from TX. look for a HX.
     
  23. Vandarth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i need to save cash, is it a huge difference between tx and hx?
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,860 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,314
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    TX are the older designs, HX are modular.


    and yes the 2GB card matters - we're at the point where big name titles are starting to use more than 1GB, and its a trend that is only going to continue. why buy a new system if you're going to get something borderline acceptable now, let alone for future games?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. stargazer7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    157 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)