• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC vs MAC CPUS, cross compatable?

Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
488 (0.13/day)
Likes
47
System Name HAL_9017
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI z270 Gaming M7
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory GSkill 32GB DDR4-3000 Trident-Z RGB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080GTX FE w/ EVGA Hybrid Water Cooler
Storage Samsung EVO 960 M.2 SSD 500Gb
Display(s) Dell U2713
Case In Win 805i
Power Supply CORSAIR RM750
Mouse Razer Mamba TE
Keyboard Corsair Strafe MX Silent RGB
#1
So, I got into an argument with a Mac user the other day, and both of us got a question mark over our heads when we got to the CPUS. Now, My rig has the q66 in it, and I read that the macs use Xeon 771 sockets for some their cpus. Now, is the Xeon model in the Mac a specific to the mac, or does Apple have a quad model with a Q66 in it.

Now, I was wondering if there is a Mac with a Q66 in it, and if I could take my PC cpu, and plop in in the mac, and have it work. I'm not sure what would happen, so I guess I need the knowledge of those greater than I.

Thanks for your help TPU,
-Andrew
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#2
doubt that a run of the mill q66 would be supported by efi
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
488 (0.13/day)
Likes
47
System Name HAL_9017
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI z270 Gaming M7
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory GSkill 32GB DDR4-3000 Trident-Z RGB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080GTX FE w/ EVGA Hybrid Water Cooler
Storage Samsung EVO 960 M.2 SSD 500Gb
Display(s) Dell U2713
Case In Win 805i
Power Supply CORSAIR RM750
Mouse Razer Mamba TE
Keyboard Corsair Strafe MX Silent RGB
#3
What is this "EFI" you speak of? Is it a MAC cpu structure?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#4
EFI is MAC's version of the BIOS; thats all I know though.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#5
no, EFI is a BIOS replacement. Motherboard makers have been relutant to impliment it, but vista SP1 supports EFI natively... EFI will elminate the need for drivers once all hardware is EFI ready (I cannot name any that currently is, inxcluding Apple). Imagine how much faster Macs and PCs will be without endless drivers to load...
Infact, EFI has a GUI too, so you might be able to do basic tasks without an OS installed.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,103 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,530
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
So, I got into an argument with a Mac user the other day, and both of us got a question mark over our heads when we got to the CPUS. Now, My rig has the q66 in it, and I read that the macs use Xeon 771 sockets for some their cpus. Now, is the Xeon model in the Mac a specific to the mac, or does Apple have a quad model with a Q66 in it.

Now, I was wondering if there is a Mac with a Q66 in it, and if I could take my PC cpu, and plop in in the mac, and have it work. I'm not sure what would happen, so I guess I need the knowledge of those greater than I.

Thanks for your help TPU,
-Andrew
macs use socket 771, so in theory any socket 771 CPU will work in there (assuming the mobo has an updated BIOS/EFI)

The reverse is definately true in that a mac CPU will work in a PC board, because we all know how to update a PC's bios (i have no idea if EFI can, or even needs updates)

There is no mac with a Q6600, because thats a 775 chip. 771 is most often seen in servers, so you'd need a xeon for it.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#7
macs use socket 771, so in theory any socket 771 CPU will work in there (assuming the mobo has an updated BIOS/EFI)

The reverse is definately true in that a mac CPU will work in a PC board, because we all know how to update a PC's bios (i have no idea if EFI can, or even needs updates)

There is no mac with a Q6600, because thats a 775 chip. 771 is most often seen in servers, so you'd need a xeon for it.
I think EFI can be updated, weither via the OS, web, or other media
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#8
macs use socket 771, so in theory any socket 771 CPU will work in there (assuming the mobo has an updated BIOS/EFI)

The reverse is definately true in that a mac CPU will work in a PC board, because we all know how to update a PC's bios (i have no idea if EFI can, or even needs updates)

There is no mac with a Q6600, because thats a 775 chip. 771 is most often seen in servers, so you'd need a xeon for it.
As far as I know only the mac pro uses 771. It uses the same chipset and the likes as the PC variants. I've never seen a CPU say "for mac" either like it does with certain other parts. I'm pretty sure the CPU's are in no way locked.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,103 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,530
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
As far as I know only the mac pro uses 771. It uses the same chipset and the likes as the PC variants. I've never seen a CPU say "for mac" either like it does with certain other parts. I'm pretty sure the CPU's are in no way locked.
probably correct on mac pros. my knowledge is 2nd hand, i am spotty. The OP mentioned a 771 mac, so i went with that.

The only concern would be if the mac mobo supports the CPU, similar to how PC's have FSB/bios limitations, except that i dont think apple would release EFI updates every time intel release a new CPU.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#10
MacPros are built on Intel Server chipsets. 5000X was the chipset for the original MacPro, for example. Anything that 5000X supports, is supported by those MacPros.

Here's an article Anand did about upgrading one of those MacPros. It's from when they first released. It was even before Quad Cores arrived, but they threw in a couple ES quads, and it still worked fine.

http://www.anandtech.com/mac/showdoc.aspx?i=2832&p=1
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,103 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,530
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#11
MacPros are built on Intel Server chipsets. 5000X was the chipset for the original MacPro, for example. Anything that 5000X supports, is supported by those MacPros.

Here's an article Anand did about upgrading one of those MacPros. It's from when they first released. It was even before Quad Cores arrived, but they threw in a couple ES quads, and it still worked fine.

http://www.anandtech.com/mac/showdoc.aspx?i=2832&p=1
if EFI saves us from needing bios updates all the time... i want EFI now :D
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2007
Messages
488 (0.13/day)
Likes
47
System Name HAL_9017
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI z270 Gaming M7
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory GSkill 32GB DDR4-3000 Trident-Z RGB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA 1080GTX FE w/ EVGA Hybrid Water Cooler
Storage Samsung EVO 960 M.2 SSD 500Gb
Display(s) Dell U2713
Case In Win 805i
Power Supply CORSAIR RM750
Mouse Razer Mamba TE
Keyboard Corsair Strafe MX Silent RGB
#12
Wow. I learned something new today. EFI sounds great as well. I hope it spreads more, and it make Vista that much more tempting to switch to.

Thank you for your help everyone, and thanks to those with great details.
 

kylew

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
604 (0.16/day)
Likes
70
Location
Liverpool
Processor Main: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 @ 3.7Ghz / Server: Q6600@ Stock
Motherboard Main: Asus P5E @ Rampage Forumla / Server: P5K Deluxe
Cooling Main: Thermalright 120 Ultra Extreme (8 x 120mm fans inc. PSU + 2 x 92mm fans.) / Server: Stock
Memory Main: 4x2GB Gskill DDR2 1000Mhz / Server: 4x1GB Gskill DDR2 800Mhz
Video Card(s) Main: 2GB 5870 Eyefinity 6 / Server: HD 4850
Storage 8 Internal (SATA) 2 External (USB). Total storage 5.4TB
Display(s) Triple Dell 24" 2408WFP
Case Main: Silverstone TJ07 / Server: Coolermaster Stacker 810
Audio Device(s) Main: Auzentech Xmystique / Server: NI Rig Kontrol
Power Supply Main: Coolermaster Realpower 850w Modular / Server Tagan 600W Modular
Software Main: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit / Server: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 19.5k 3D Mark Vantage 12.5k Super PI 13.4s
#13
Wow. I learned something new today. EFI sounds great as well. I hope it spreads more, and it make Vista that much more tempting to switch to.

Thank you for your help everyone, and thanks to those with great details.
Apparently, MSI will be introducing a new motherboard that supports EFI very soon, this year even.

Edit, Linky