• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC won’t boot?, interesting …

Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hey guys, a 6 month old computer is having boot troubles. It shuts itself down 1 second after it’s powered on. Then it turns itself on again, only to turn itself off 1 sec later. No bios, no windows.

The trouble started after I installed an Intel graphics driver. First time after reboot I could use the pc for 10 minutes, the second time it shut down after 5, the third time only 1, now I can’t boot at all (see 1st paragraph). During the 3rd time it booted I managed to install a temp monitoring software, but did not detect anything special in the cpu temp (as far as I know). Oh ya: there are no beeps @ startup.

Here’s a List of sys specs:

Core i5-3570K 3.4GHz 6MB LGA1155 Quad-core
EVGA GeForce GTX670 FTW - 2GB HDMI/DVI/Display Poort
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H ATX Z77 LGA1155 Intel Z77 - 4 x DDR3 - SATA600/USB3.0
Corsair Vengeance 8GB Kit (2x4GB) DDR3/1600MHz C9 DDR3 - 240 pin - 1,5V - CL9 - 2x 4GB Kit
Corsair TX V2 Series. 650 Watt. ATX. Power Supply. EU Ver ATX12V 2.31 / EPS12V 2.92
CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo CPU Cooler Socket
Antec One Mid Tower ATX - USB / Audio
Crucial 240 GB SSD

Here’s what I tried already:

Connected different PSU
Connected Video Card
Removed everything (yes even the processor), and reconnected.
Inspected processor/motherboard for damage
Reset CMOS/BIOS
Tired to launch with only processor and 1 memory stick

What do you guys think the problem could be? I’d sure love to know!
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#2
OK, so does it start to load windows, then crash?

you say one second, makes it sxeem like you hit power, then poof....then you say you got to install some hardware...so when exactly does it crash?:eek:


If you insxtall Intel VGA driver, then disable the VGA, windows will fail to load. Even if Intel VGA is enabled, but not primary display device, Windows will crash.

So I'm wondering if this is the source of the problem...but reading your post left me a bit confused.:p
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#3
OK, so does it start to load windows, then crash?

you say one second, makes it sxeem like you hit power, then poof....then you say you got to install some hardware...so when exactly does it crash?:eek:


If you insxtall Intel VGA driver, then disable the VGA, windows will fail to load. Even if Intel VGA is enabled, but not primary display device, Windows will crash.
1) Nope I dont get windows, even bios doesn't start anymore.
2) It crashes permanently now, no matter what hardware I connect to it. I haven't tried to switch the mobo/cpu yet though.
3) I've been running on the build-in video card for about 2 weeks now, no problems whatsoever. Could the driver update have messed up the settings?
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#4
I don't thinks so since you can even get in the bios. If it was just crashing in windows then yes. This is pure hardware failure somewhere. Have you tried removing it from then case€ then clearing the cmos and trying with bear essentials?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#5
Have you tried removing it from then case€ then clearing the cmos and trying with bear essentials?
Ay, I've tried to remove the Mobo from the case. Afterwards I ran it with just the processor/ram. It yielded no results though :(.

After that I tried a different PSU. Nothing again.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
Hrm. Doesn't sound too positive, really.

I'd look at ram, CPU, and motherboard as the problems, would be nice to have the stuff to test each on it's own. If those three aren't working together, I mean ,you cannot get more basic if CMOS has been cleared. Is there an LED POST display on that board?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
Things to check if you haven't:

- Try flipping the power/reset switch leads that go from your case to the motherboard

- Double/Triple check all power connections again. Make sure there aren't any PCI-E and CPU power cables mixed up.

- Grab your manual and check any and all jumpers on the motherboard.

- Check for bent pins in the CPU socket.

- Keep the CMOS battery removed for at least 10 minutes.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
750 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
Location
RI, USA
Processor FX 8150 4.41Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws X 1600
Video Card(s) Diamond Multimedia HD7970 3GB
Storage 2x WD Black 640GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" LED
Case Cooler Master Cosmos (new version)
Audio Device(s) Platronics 777
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Geekbench: 10,136 3DMark 11: P7792
#9
is your heatsink seated properly with new thermal paste and the old stuff cleaned off? cpu fan plugged in? power connections correctly and fully inserted? make sure your clear cmos jumper is not still on the reset pina.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#11
- Try flipping the power/reset switch leads that go from your case to the motherboard
Im currently using the power button on the Mobo to boot, the case shouldn't be the issue

- Double/Triple check all power connections again. Make sure there aren't any PCI-E and CPU power cables mixed up.
The hardware is connected just fine, It worked before the driver update, I didn't change anything until the system didn't want to boot.

- Grab your manual and check any and all jumpers on the motherboard.
There's a jumper to clear CMOS. I gave it a shot yet no results

- Check for bent pins in the CPU socket.
Checked it but found nothing out of the ordinary.

- Keep the CMOS battery removed for at least 10 minutes.
Nothing, same as before.


Ps: This particular mobo has 2 bios boots: a normal and backup. When the pc starts it tries from one - crash - then it tries to boot from the backup bios - crash -. This process keeps repeating over and over again. I'm not sure it has any value, but thought i'd mention it.
pps: thnx guys for troubleshooting
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#12
is your heatsink seated properly with new thermal paste and the old stuff cleaned off? cpu fan plugged in? power connections correctly and fully inserted? make sure your clear cmos jumper is not still on the reset pina.
The Heatsing is seated relatively properly. When I removed the heatsink/processor to check for broken pins in the socket, i was sure to apply new paste when the heat sink was put back.

The CMOS clear is a button on my board, so no worries about that. The cpu fan doesn't seem to solve the problem either way.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#13
make sure the pch (The big chip on the MB) has the heat sink seated properly. Else, replace the motherboard.
Pch? Every heatsink is steated firmly though, I doubt it could be the problem.
There's still warranty on the Mobo, yet I want to be absolutely sure it's the problem before sending it back.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#14
Now when you are clearing the cmos, you do have the power core removed from the psu right? You probably do but some small things like that can be overlooked when in the heat of things.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#15
- Try flipping the power/reset switch leads that go from your case to the motherboard.
Im currently using the power button on the Mobo to boot, the case shouldn't be the issue.
What erocker and the madshot are saying is that with the PSU in the ON posistion, it delivers a small amount of power to the motherboard which will retain CMOS information. To properly clear the CMOS, you must unplug and turn off the PSU then remove the CMOS battery and let it sit for 15-20 minutes. This should completely clear out any leaking voltage that the motherboard and PSU hold.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#16
To me it sounds like a dead motherboard. If you have an onboard/case speaker for the board, try to post without any ram and see what happens.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#17
What erocker and the madshot are saying is that with the PSU in the ON posistion, it delivers a small amount of power to the motherboard which will retain CMOS information. To properly clear the CMOS, you must unplug and turn off the PSU then remove the CMOS battery and let it sit for 15-20 minutes. This should completely clear out any leaking voltage that the motherboard and PSU hold.
Yeah what he said. LOL Unplug the Psu from the wall, then remove the battery. Hit the power switch on the mobo to discharge any residual energy. Then hit the clear cmos button. Leave the battery out for about 10 mins just to be sure. Then try again with bare essentials, cpu, mem, gpu.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#18
Yes, I've cleared the CMOS w/o the mobo being connected to the powersupply. Even took out the battery for good measure. It didn't change the situation though. The computer still shuts itself down after 1 sec.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975 (2.71/day)
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#19
Hmm this isn't looking good man. Sounds as if the board or cpu may have took a dump on you.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,375 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#20

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#21
I'm thinking the same.
Yeah, tough one. Could be PSU, ran into similar recently myself, but that was tested, so board or CPU is most likely. if it was ram, there'd be a code displayed on the POST LED. Could be some sort of short withy the casing, too, if tested outside of system, that'd eliminate that.


Hopefully you have a local store or something you can take this into for testing, I'm fresh out of ideas here.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#22
Too bad, thnx for the help anyway guys!

I really hoped it could be fixed more easily, but it looks as though I should try a new mobo or proc.

What's in your opinion more likely to break in this scenario: the processor or the mobo?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#23
Motherboard.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#24
test the PSU first
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
80 (0.04/day)
Likes
17
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name AXiS007 & PSYMORDIAL
Processor i5 3570K @ 4.2GHZ |i7 950 @ stock
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Fatal1ty Professional Gen3 | Giagabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Corsair H100i with some fully sik blue fans | Loud intel stock cooler
Memory 16GB Team Dark 1866MHz | 12GB Hynex & Micron & Kingmax branded 1333 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1070 Strix | GT 250
Storage 250GB 850 EVO (O/S),240GB 840 , 2 X 3TB Barracudas, 2TB Barracuda, WD Green 1TB |500gb Barracuda
Display(s) Philips Gioco 27" AH-IPS LED 1920 * 1080 (Yeah I know its olny HD...) |Dell 2309WFP 2048*1152
Case Corsair 760T White with many fans | Thermaltake Spacecraft Mid Tower with many fans
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X Via optical into Z5500's
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Gold Evo 1000W | Some 500W POS
Mouse Razor Death Adder Chroma RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB (Cherry Brown)
Software 10 64bit | 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores Far Cry Primal 62 FPS 2560*1440 (DSR) Battlefield 4 76FPS 2560*1440 (DSR) Fire Strike score 7896
#25
Hey mate this is horror story i feel your pain. I'm a system builder and believe me this kinda crap happens quit a bit. Like some of the guys are saying, it's very likely that board is fried. Have you tried different cpu and ram... If the board wont post with say a G830 and one stick of QVL ram in it then it's probably a good bet in saying its a dead board. Considering all the trouble shooting you have done.

Send it back for RMA and direct them to this thread and say i bloody well tried...