• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC Won't Boot After Install and Restart

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#1
I think i'm in real trouble here, my system was running without a hiccup for some time now, but today it stopped working after a restart. I mean the the pc is running, all the fans spin, the lights are on, the fan controller is workin, however after the monitor turns on(green light lights up at the bottom) it goes directly to stanby (yellow light) without producing anything on the screen. It usually goes to stanby after i turn off the pc so this is definately not supposed to happen. I tried plugging in a different monitor and using a different DVI to VGA adaptor but that didn't help. Also the keyboard doesn't light up as well.

The last thing i did was downloaded and installed a program called CPUIdle Pro, it required a restart, i did restart it and walked out of the room for a few min but after i came back i found the monitor in stanby and the pc on so i didn't see what happened during restart. I'm completely at a loss here as i've never seen anything like this before can somebody help me figure out what the problem is?
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#3
no, everything is at stock, the only thing i've done today was enable SLI-ready memory in BIOS, which actually downclocked my CPU by a bit. That was done this morning and i turned it on and off and restated it several times so i don't think that's the problem.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#5
how do i clear CMOS? does that require me to get into BIOS? if that's the case i can't do that since the monitor won't display anything and goes right to stanby after i turn on the pc.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#6
how do i clear CMOS? does that require me to get into BIOS? if that's the case i can't do that since the monitor won't display anything and goes right to stanby after i turn on the pc.
No it's achieved by jumpers or taking out your battery and unplugging the computer....if you check your motherboard manual it'll probably tell you where the jumpers are and what to do.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#7
PROPER way to reset/clear the cmos:

1. unplug the power cord from the computer

2. hit the power button to drain the capacitors and any remaining energy in the system

3. find your cmos jumper (use motherboard manual), put it in the position for clearing the cmos, keep it there for about 15 seconds, and then put the jumper back into its original position

4. plug in the power cord and boot your system.

5. you'll need to reconfigure the bios..
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#8
I already tried unplugging the computer and the monitor and it left unplugged for about 10 min. As far as the jumpers let me look at the mobo manual and see if it says anything about that.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#9
follow what i posted at preety the same time as you above..
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#10
Please choose an appropriate title for your threads in the future.

Read the "Starting a Thread" subsection in the Forum Guidelines.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#11
ok, polaris, will do.

Going back to my problem, i found 2 things in the mobo manual that deal witn CMOS:

Taken from mobo manual:

20) Clear CMOS

You may clear the CMOS data to it's default values by this header. To clear CMOS, temporarily short the 2 pins. Default doesn't include jumper to avoid improper use of this feature.

22) Battery

If you want to erase CMOS....

1. Turn off the computer and unplug power cord.
2. Gently take out the battery and put it aside for about a minute
(or you can use a metal object to connect the positive and negative pins in the battery holder to make them short for five seconds)
3. Reinstall the battery
4. Plug the power cord in and restart the computer.

Warning: Danger of explosion if battery is incorrectly replaced

Which option should i go with here, do i want to clear CMOS or erase it?:rolleyes:
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#12
Neither will erase it. Both just clear it. Try the "taking out the battery" method. It can be more effective.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#13
neither of those 2 are 100% effective. you need the battery for the jumper method to work and removing the battery will not properly clear the cmos. grab a jumper and follow my steps..
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#14
neither of those 2 are 100% effective. you need the battery for the jumper method to work and removing the battery will not properly clear the cmos. grab a jumper and follow my steps..
Your method is the jumper method, with the added step of unplugging the computer.

Battery removal is much more effective, in my experience.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#15
You guys are confusing me since you can't agree on how to resolve this. Furthermore, if i were to take out the battery and replace it incorrectly it may cause an explosion according to the manual, that prospect makes me really nervous. I don't know, perhaps i should wait for someone to help me and not play it with it myself.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#16
i cant find the thread in here, but it states exactly why the jumper method is better then the battery method. the battery method is like clearing the ram cause of a crash, etc. and the jumper method is like clearing your ram cause your system told it to, bsod, etc. the jumper method is more effective since it actually tells the bios that it needs to reset. the battery method doesn't do it, so the bios many times isn't throughly cleared.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#17
You guys are confusing me since you can't agree on how to resolve this. Furthermore, if i were to take out the battery and replace it incorrectly it may cause an explosion according to the manual, that prospect makes me really nervous. I don't know, perhaps i should wait for someone to help me and not play it with it myself.
just use the jumper method like i said, no explosions there :toast:

both methods get you to the around the same destination= a cleared bios. though the jumper method is more effective and i must say safer
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.17/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#18
Just look at page 20 of your Mobo manual, it's all there. :toast:
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#19
i cant find the thread in here, but it states exactly why the jumper method is better then the battery method. the battery method is like clearing the ram cause of a crash, etc. and the jumper method is like clearing your ram cause your system told it to, bsod, etc. the jumper method is more effective since it actually tells the bios that it needs to reset. the battery method doesn't do it, so the bios many times isn't throughly cleared.
I completely disagree with you. But either way, I don't really care to argue about it. All that matters at this point is he gets his CMOS cleared to eliminate variables. :toast:
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#21
I was able to clear CMOS by taking out the battery and then putting it in after 5 min. That helped and i was able to boot, i got some kind of a checksum error and was given a choice to restore to last known good configuration or to default, i chose option number 1 and was able to boot into Windows, however after i restarted the PC i was back to square 1 where system wouldn't boot as before.

What do i do now? Clear CMOS again and attempt to boot into Windows do a system restore and uninstall that program that may have been the cause of this problem? Any suggestions?
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#22
An update:

Sorry to double post but i resolved the issue, uninstalling the CPUidle Pro utility and cleaning out the registry afterwards helped. The reason why this problem occured is because this program is not compatible with dual core AMD, i found this afterwards when reseraching the issue. Furthermore this utility is not requitred cause Athlon users already have Cool n' Quiet. I guess next time i should learn about a program before installing. I'm just posting this as a warning for AMD X2 owners, don't install this program it will screw you up like it did with me.