• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PCI-E 2.0 question.

69er

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
57 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
FLA....USA !
System Name Model "T"
Processor AMD Athlon64 4000 San Diego Skt 939
Motherboard Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling AC Freezer Pro 64
Memory 2 GB Corsair XMS (4 x 512)
Video Card(s) XFX 8800GTS (G92)
Storage 36GB Raptor(OS) + WD 160GB
Display(s) Samsung 931BF
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply Antec Neo-Power 480
Software XP Home SP3
#1
Hi folks.

I'm a GREEN as GREEN can be noob on this board. I know this is a dumb question to some but I would like to know if a PCI Express 2.0 x16 card can be used in a regular PCI-E x16 slot ? More specifically an Asus A8N-SLI Premium sckt 939 ?

noob LEE :ohwell:
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#2
PCI-E 2.0 is completely backwards compatible with PCI-E 1.0/1.1 and vice versa.
 

69er

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
57 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
FLA....USA !
System Name Model "T"
Processor AMD Athlon64 4000 San Diego Skt 939
Motherboard Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling AC Freezer Pro 64
Memory 2 GB Corsair XMS (4 x 512)
Video Card(s) XFX 8800GTS (G92)
Storage 36GB Raptor(OS) + WD 160GB
Display(s) Samsung 931BF
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply Antec Neo-Power 480
Software XP Home SP3
#3
Thanks for answering my dimwit question and not kicking me in the Jimmies !:nutkick:

LEE :toast:
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#4
I got a PCI-E 2.0 card in a regular PCI-E

yes it well work
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#5
Thanks for answering my dimwit question and not kicking me in the Jimmies !:nutkick:

LEE :toast:
We all start somewhere :eek: I tried to put a AMD cpu in a intel board a long time ago :laugh:
 
H

hbkl

Guest
#6
yeap but if you use a pci ex 2.0 card on a pci ex 1.0 or 1.1 slot you loose like 3 or 4 fps i have tested it :) well i dunno much english thats cuz i cant explain more better my experience cya
 

69er

New Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2008
Messages
57 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
FLA....USA !
System Name Model "T"
Processor AMD Athlon64 4000 San Diego Skt 939
Motherboard Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling AC Freezer Pro 64
Memory 2 GB Corsair XMS (4 x 512)
Video Card(s) XFX 8800GTS (G92)
Storage 36GB Raptor(OS) + WD 160GB
Display(s) Samsung 931BF
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply Antec Neo-Power 480
Software XP Home SP3
#7
thanks for the replies...:respect:
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#8
i have a 8800gt have pci-e 2.0 and am use mobo abit nf-m2s which have pci-e 1.0 , so it works fine
 

candle_86

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
3,914 (0.98/day)
Likes
227
#9
works fine im running a 3870 in a 580x board PCIe 1.1 x16 board with my 2.0 cards
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#10
the new GTX280/260 card only PCI-e 2.0 not backwards compatible they only state 2.0
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#11
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#12
Thats not true. My friend has a GTX280 on a P35.
maybe they only state it have a look when the GX2 and older card say PCI-E 1.0/2.0
 

Attachments

Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#13
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#14
Most PCI-E 2.0 cards will be listed at 2.0 but won't mention anything about supporting or working on older PCI-E 1.x slots.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#15
maybe they only state it have a look when the GX2 and older card say PCI-E 1.0/2.0
It's just b/c that's what the market is moving toward. If you notice it says pci 2.0 support, not required. It's the same slot, just w/ greater bandwidth allowances, which the newer cards I believe benefit more from than the previous ones, which didn't utilize the extra features as much.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#16

Nyte

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
181 (0.04/day)
Likes
34
Location
Toronto ON
Processor i7 x980
Motherboard Asus SuperComputer
Memory 3x 2GB Triple Channel
Video Card(s) 2x Tahiti
Storage 2x OCZ SSD
Display(s) 23 inch
Power Supply 1 kW
Software Win 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Very high!
#17
PCIe 2.0 by specification MUST support PCIe 1.0/1.0a/1.1 or else they will be kicked off the PCI-SIG's integrators list.

However, there are some 1.0a motherboards out there that do not like PCIe 2.0 cards because they interpretted some of the technical specs differently. Luckily for us those motherboards only belong to VIA and IDT.