• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PCI-E 6 pin to two molex, where to buy?

RAA

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi i'm in UK and was about to get Asus X1900XT but then found out it didn't have an adaptor for PSU without PCI-E 16x connector. So I need an adaptor, does anyone know where I buy one in UK?
 

RAA

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#2
I found one at Overclockers.co.uk but I was wondering, it will work right on a X1900XT. I mean why aren't they included with card? I understand there's need to fade out old technology but that will happen anyway as PSU companies follow new specs!!
 

b1lk1

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Likes
17
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Money pit
Processor Q2Q Q8300
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 deluxe WIFI AP@N
Cooling 120.2/Swiftech655/Apogee GT/DD Fillport & res
Memory OCZ PC3-1333MHZ 2X1GB/Kingston HYPERX PC3-1325MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4830
Storage Seagate 7200.11 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2209WA
Case some crap 5 year old generic modded case
Audio Device(s) X-FI fagtality
Power Supply PC P&C 510W
Software Vista Premium 64
#3
Is it an OEM card? It really should have one in the package if it is a retail version. OEM usually has none of the accessories and a crap warranty when it comes to video cards.
 

RAA

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
It's a proper one in a box and everything. I know the Powercolor one doesn't have one, and at MicroDirect the Asus card didn't have one either. Wierd.. !
 

Cybie1111

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
329 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Location
San Diego, California, USA
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 @ 3.33 Ghz 1333 FSB
Motherboard Gigabyte P965-DS3 rev 1.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Cooler
Memory Patriot Viper 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) (Sapphire) ATi Radeon HD 4870 1GB
Storage Western Digital 160GB/500GB Drive + Seagate 320GB Drive
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240HD 24" HDTV
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 832 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620 Watt Modular
Software Dual Boot Windows Vista Ultimate / Windows XP Pro
#5
It is rare to find a molex to PCI-E adapter for the X1900 series brand boxes, from any brand.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
I wouldn't worry. Just pick one up, it'll work with the card.
 

RAA

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
Can anyone else confirm that this adpator works with X1900XT. I've ordered the adaptor but don't want to spend £300 until i'm 100% sure it will work..

My Antec TP 550W should be fine, 30A on 12v although might have to get another PSU for drives if I use max CPU OC.

It's so damn crazy, most if not all X1800XT have them!! I'd say there's still a large percentage of users who have PSUs without PCI-E connection.

I mean what are they trying to achieve? Maybe it's a specs thing where the newer PSU with PCI-E are more likely to have better specs but still that is then assuming that their customer base is not intelligent which is a stupid thing to do!!
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#9
They're just wires, no resistors, no capacitors, nothing. There is no reason the cable would work for other cards requiring a 6pin molex and a X1900 that needs the same. You could make one yourself if you wanted. It's like saying can I use the same 4-pin molex on a 160GB as I used on my 20GB?
 

RAA

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#10
Yes I could solder the wires permanently to GFX lol but that's a bit ott imo.

I ordered this one ..



It's got two molex connections so I assume needs two molex. Not sure why some are one molex and some are two..

Or maybe the second molex is to power something else if need be?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,747 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,014
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#11
RAA said:
Yes I could solder the wires permanently to GFX lol but that's a bit ott imo.

I ordered this one ..



It's got two molex connections so I assume needs two molex. Not sure why some are one molex and some are two..

Or maybe the second molex is to power something else if need be?
No does not need 2 molex, you have the 2nd to replace the first now being used up by the PCI-E, so plug one molex into an exisiting one, the PCI-E into your card and you have a spare molex connection for the future, think of it this way, without the 2, someone who was using every molex would not be able to power something up when they plug into the card, this gives you the spare.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#12
It has 2 molex connection so you can connect two different rails from your power supply to it.

Connect both...you will need it!
 

RAA

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#13
Well that's no problem but it doesn't make sense having to use both molex. The rails are in parallel so they could easily have had two 12v wires coming from one molex!! Doesn't make sense except for using the second molex to replace the molex you've already used.

I know it uses alot of power, i'm struggling to understand why a standard molex wasn't used - perhaps only for the clip on and strong connection.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#14
There are six pins on the PCI-E end of the adapter for a reason, if you only were going to use a single connector you would only need 4-pins on the card like some of the older cards have. In addition if the second connector was meant for expansion it would have been male instead of female. You can't very well attach a HDD to a female molex connector.
 

RAA

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#15
Good point..

Still don't see why it can't be one molex with multiple wires coming from same place on molex. I guess that's what that single molex one does. Np anyhow got loads free. :toast:
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,747 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,014
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#16
I dont connect both direct to the power supply to mine although the one I got with my card had males, I have a 120mm fan connected to the other and all just works fine although I just have an 850xt albeit very overclocked but perhaps still drawing/requiring less power?
 

RAA

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#17
I got an adaptor for £10 in total. Then I ordered X1800XT which already has one!! Doh..

The one for X1800XT has 1x12v wire and 2xgnd wires. The one I baught has 2x12v and I think 4xgnd. Not sure why, maybe it's a X1900XT adpator?? The X1800XT one requires only one molex and also has a male to replace the used one, one I baught has two female.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor 3700+ sandiego
Motherboard asus A8N-E
Cooling Artic cooling - Freezer 64 pro
Memory ddr400 ocz 2x1gb at 2-3-2-5
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GTS 640mb
Storage maxtor 250gb PATA drive with 16mb cache
Display(s) samsung 17inch crt monitor
Case aspire X-Superalien case with 6 blue led fans
Audio Device(s) soundblaster x-fi xtreme music
Power Supply antec Truepowa Trio 650W
Software win xp home sp2
#18
when i got my Sapphire x1900xtx i read it didn't come with a connector so i rush ordered one separately witch the shipping cost more then it lol. When i got the card it had the connector inside the box. So i was out like $15 for a $3 part i didn't need lol. O and the connectors i have only have one place to plug it in not 2 like the one your showing and mine both work fine. Hope that helps :toast:
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#19
The X1800XL only needs one of the connectors hooked up, the upper 3 pins, if I try to connect to the lower 3 pins, if fuc*s my system up. It screams with only one hooked up.
 
M

markkleb

Guest
#20
Hey Raa,
the reason it needs 2 Molex connectors is because each yellow wire can only handle so much currant(amps).
They use 2 because the Video Card would draw too much power through just 1 small yellow wire. So by using 2 each one only has to carry 1/2 the Amps..

like OneCool said "ur gonna need it!"