• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PCI-E slot faulty?

Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
Hi!

I got issues with my ASRock Z77 Extreme4 and a ASUS GTX560Ti TOP.

When trying to start Windows Experience Index calculation it says:
"The Windows Experience Index for your system could not be computed. Could not meassure video playback performance"

When tring to run 3DMark 11 and Vantage I get an error message after I try to start the benchmarks.

I tried the other x8 PCI-E slot and had no problems.

Any idea how else I could test the PCI-E slot before I RMA?

Lauri
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#2
Try updating to the latest drivers. Remove any unwanted software and check the system. It is very unlikely that the PCIE slot is faulty. But it may happen. Also check the BIOS and disable any overclocking. Run everything at factory settings and check results.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,800 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#3
Try updating to the latest drivers. Remove any unwanted software and check the system. It is very unlikely that the PCIE slot is faulty. But it may happen. Also check the BIOS and disable any overclocking. Run everything at factory settings and check results.
Yes, and latest BIOS? Perhaps something to do with the PCIe GEN3 being dependant on the "i" series CPU?
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#4
have you tried games? do they crash?

a quick google search shows Asrock seems to have trouble with PCIe Gen3 and GTS 560Tis.
https://www.google.co.in/search?cli...pw.r_cp.&fp=b2e72776c9587e7f&biw=1280&bih=901

Or maybe it is the problem of the 560's compatibility with the PCIe3

i suggest you check that you have the lates BIOS for both the GPU and the motherboard. dont forget latest drivers as well.
just for the sake of it, take a fine brush and clean the slot.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
have you tried games? do they crash?

a quick google search shows Asrock seems to have trouble with PCIe Gen3 and GTS 560Tis.
https://www.google.co.in/search?cli...pw.r_cp.&fp=b2e72776c9587e7f&biw=1280&bih=901

Or maybe it is the problem of the 560's compatibility with the PCIe3

i suggest you check that you have the lates BIOS for both the GPU and the motherboard. dont forget latest drivers as well.
just for the sake of it, take a fine brush and clean the slot.
Its PCI-E 3.0! I set the speed to PCI-E 1.1 and it works - there is no PCI-E 2 in the bios for some reason.

This is why I love this forum! I would have payed 20€ + shipping for an RMA of a functioning mobo.

Edit:
Is the GPU speed very bottlenecked if i run PCI-E 1.1?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,800 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#6
Edit:
Is the GPU speed very bottlenecked if i run PCI-E 1.1?
I will likely make a difference. The board should have PCIe 2 available.

This is from Wiki:

AMD latest flagship graphic card, the Radeon 7970, launched on January 9, 2012, is the world's first PCIe 3.0 graphic card.[27] Initial reviews suggest that the new interface would not improve graphic performance compared to earlier PCIe 2.0, which, at the time of writing, is still under-utilized. However, the new interface would prove advantageous when used for general purpose computing with technologies like OpenCL, CUDA and C++ AMP.[28]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express

Edit: BTW, your card is PCIe 2.0. The PCIe 3.0 specification has backward compatibility to 2.0 in it (though who knows if/how they implemented that in the ASRock)
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#7
if you ask me i think AsRock botched up something somewhere. after all their boards are very cheap compared to other comepetitors!
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Yes, and latest BIOS? Perhaps something to do with the PCIe GEN3 being dependant on the "i" series CPU?
The latest Bios has PCI-E 2.0 setting available! I updated it. And 3DMark 11 works!

Thanks for the help now I am happy :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
if you ask me i think AsRock botched up something somewhere. after all their boards are very cheap compared to other comepetitors!
After seeing that they have a bios update solving this problem my trust in ASRock returned 100%.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,800 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#10
The latest Bios has PCI-E 2.0 setting available! I updated it. And 3DMark 11 works!

Thanks for the help now I am happy :)
Sweet! It really is helpful to reach out here sometimes. Maybe it's because your so pissed off that you can't focus, or you don't have time to research from a smart phone while your PC is broken. :laugh:
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#11
After seeing that they have a bios update solving this problem my trust in ASRock returned 100%.
see, i knew a BIOS update would fix it :D anyhoo glad it all worked out.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
#12
Try updating to the latest drivers. Remove any unwanted software and check the system. It is very unlikely that the PCIE slot is faulty. But it may happen. Also check the BIOS and disable any overclocking. Run everything at factory settings and check results.
i have actually had a fault pcie slot, and it would only run at 8x... and ultimately it did not allow any cards to work it i it... (sabertooth 990fx) i RMA'd and all is well.

nothing much you can do to diagnose it except to compare performance across same pcie slots.
and try different graphics cards and look in gpu-z to see the width of the pcie slot that is defective and what it should be.
Btw supposedly a pcie3 8x slot is the same as a pcie2 16x slot.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
Bad news the bios update did not fix the problem :(
First it seemed so but no matter which version 1,2 or 3 i set the pci-e slot to be i get error in 3dmark 11 and windows experience index.
I will borrow a friends GPU to test with it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
Ok i tested with another GPU a XFX 6950 and i have the same problem - now i am sure its the mobo.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#15
Ok i tested with another GPU a XFX 6950 and i have the same problem - now i am sure its the mobo.
What makes you sure that it is the motherboard? The motherboard doesn't do much to the PCI-E. I would reseat your processor because that is where the PCI-E lanes go. It's also where DMI goes. It's also where DRAM goes. Did you fully uninstall your drivers after swapping the cards or did you let CCC figure it out on its own? If PCI-E was at fault, I don't think your video card would work at all.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#16
While troubleshooting I cleared the cmos to make sure that wasn't the problem. I've been trying not to reinstall windows quite yet so that I could get some other opinions first since I really hate reinstalling all of my programs.

My drivers are up to date. The only other thing I could think of is updating my bios since I have the very first version of it at the moment. I'm somewhat afraid of doing that since I've never done so before.
You have nothing to worry about if your power is stable and you have the BIOS for the right board. It's pretty easy and straight forward.

Ok i tested with another GPU a XFX 6950 and i have the same problem - now i am sure its the mobo.
Edit: Also, what CCC driver are you using and are your chipset drivers up to date?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
Edit: Also, what CCC driver are you using and are your chipset drivers up to date?
12-8_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc is the name of the AMD driver and i used the latest Intel chipset install program
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#18
12-8_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc is the name of the AMD driver and i used the latest Intel chipset install program
Maybe it's that version of CCC, maybe try 12.6?
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
Maybe it's that version of CCC, maybe try 12.6?
I am sure its not the drivers - with the nvidia and ati card i got exactly the same error messages
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#20
I am sure its not the drivers - with the nvidia and ati card i got exactly the same error messages
What exactly do the error messages say, can you provide a screenshot? Does it only happen in 3D mode or when you fully stress the card? PCI-E is one of those things where it's very unlikely that it is only going to kind of work.

How about voltages? How stable is the rest of your rig? Are you overclocking the CPU at all? Also what are your CPU voltages, VTT, VCSSA, and +12v is mainly what I'm looking for. Keep in mind that the PCI-E controller in on the processor. Your board doesn't actually use the 4 lanes off the PCH.

If the second PCI-E slot works but the first doesn't, there could be a problem with one of the first 8 lanes off the CPU so I would recommend taping off all but 1 lane and work your way out in powers of two (except 2!) until you get the problem again (1x/4x/8x) but I'm not convinced that it's motherboard. Unless it's a bad contact, it would be the CPU. If there was a break in the line it wouldn't be working at all.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
I reseated the CPU and now it works! Thanks for the tip.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,800 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#22
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#23
Some problems reappeared soon after i reseated the CPU. Now 3DMark works but windows experience index dont. I dont think i will RMA now. But will see after i test some games and see if the driver crashes like it did before reseating.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#24
Here a pic of the error with Windows Experience Index
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#25
Some problems reappeared soon after i reseated the CPU. Now 3DMark works but windows experience index dont. I dont think i will RMA now. But will see after i test some games and see if the driver crashes like it did before reseating.
Examine the socket, look for any bent pins. It sounds like some pins might not be making full contact. How tight are you tightening the cooler to the processor. I've heard that in some cases that tightening the cooler too tight has caused issues.