• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PCI-Express Render Test is just white

Bassquake

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#1
As title. When I press Start Render Test for the PCI-Express test, the pattern window is just blank white! I notice the GPU Core Clock and GPU Shader Clock briefly spike for a few seconds as soon as I click the test button. The Bus Interface also changes while the graph spikes to PCI-E 2.0 x16 @ x8 2.0 and was 1.1 beforehand.

See screenshot of spike chart and details.

Using driver version: 334.89.
Windows 7 Pro
Gigabyte GTX-460
Gigabyte GA-x58a-UD3R

Many thanks.
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,174 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,480
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
Do you have issues playing games? Be honest here.
 

Bassquake

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#3
I notice some microstuttering. But I'm more concerned as to why the test doesn't work.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,242 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,272
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
First time I hear about this, and no suggestions what could cause it. If other Direct3D apps work, then it's a bug in GPU-Z.
 

Bassquake

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#5
It is odd. Games run fine and sisandra doesnt report problems apart from saying about the gfx card:
Tip T308 - Video adapter speed, lower than rated speed. Check power management settings.
Fix: Unless you specifically want the video adapter to run at lower than rated speed (e.g. to reduce power/temperature) you may be using a power setting that does not allow it to reach its rated (maximum) speed even under load.
Check Power Options that you are using the Balanced Plan and that the Maximum Graphics Card State is 100%.

Could it be related to that or a bug in GPU-Z? Any other information I could provide?
 

Attachments

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,242 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,272
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#6
Not related to that, even if your card was slow due to some issue it should show something. I wouldn't worry about it if everything else works.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,174 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,480
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
I agree with wizz, if youre gaming just fine then there is nothing to be concerned about
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,242 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,272
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#9
Any other 3D app will cause your PCIe speed to go up, then alt-tab out and look what GPU-Z shows
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,174 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,480
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
Really no point if your gaming performance is fine.
 

Bassquake

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#11
Decided to run 3DMarks11 Basic. When that was done and closed, I decided to run the pci-e test on gpu-z and it works now. How odd.

Edit: I installed it so maybe it updated DirectX?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,174 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,480
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
Im not sure if the benchmark does or not. I know some games do
 

Bassquake

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#13
I did notice while installing 3dmarks it said installing microsoft directx. I already had dx11 already though. Maybe it just updated/fixed/refreshed the directx files. Anyway, its working now and thanks for the help and a useful utility!
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,242 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,272
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
The render test needs the directx runtimes, but it should check for them before start and offer to download if they are not installed.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
514 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#15
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
514 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#17
Thanks Naki. Did a 15 min burn test on FurMark and all seemed fine.
Thanks for testing! I am curious, how many degrees Celsius did the GPU reach at the end of the Furmark test? Did it go over 70°C?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
514 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#19