• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

pci riser card vs cable (not for mining!)

Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello

as a personal side hobby, i have recently started constructing form factor computer cases out of wood (plywood, oak, etc) for my personal, mid-range gaming computer.

i have gone through two versions so far and overall happy with my achievements-my cpus maintain a cooler temp than they ever have with the same amount of fans and i've reduced the overall size of a micro-atx system by 60%!~.

However, i feel i can can reduce the overall size even further if i can figure out a way to change the mounting location of my video card (which happens to be the largest and most cumbersome piece of the puzzle).

recently i discovered the existance of riser cards and cables, which appear to be used for special server PCs and bitcoin mining (what will they think of next!?)

and it seems that google and ebay is flooded with all the wrong information. My local retailers (canadacomptuers) don't stock anything of the like. NCIX and Newegg (canada) have a very limited selection and overall i feel like i can't find the right amount of information on this whole "thing".

i'll leave out MB and GPU listings because they may change in the future, but consider everything new age

ie, pci 16 +, 3.0, etc.

so, my question:

1. is there an impact on performance from using a riser for a single video card

2. aside from the obvious mounting possibilities, is there a difference between CARDS and CABLES

3. am i safe buying the 10-15 dollar stuff from Ebay, or should i stick to some of the server-specific units which seem to have their own capictors and what not (why would they anyway?) (they are in the 30-40 dollar price range)

4. if i do use a CARD, what is the height of the car that i should be looking at. My current video card measured 3.1mm from the card insert itself to the flush side of the fan case. So i assume at a minimum i would need a 4mm "total" height riser? how are their heights measured? i haven't been able to find the right keywords and would appreciate some help in this regard.

i hope i was clear in my post and if i've left out some things i applogize and let me know how to pinpoint what i'm asking.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 12, 2012
Messages
614 (0.31/day)
Likes
358
Location
Nebulas
System Name X99
Processor 5930K @ 4.7GHz @ 1.323v
Motherboard Rampage V Edition 10
Cooling EK
Memory Dominator Platinum 32GB
Video Card(s) 2x Gigabyte xtreme gaming 980ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 850 Pro & WD320
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @100Hz
Case Thermaltake Core P5
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply 120-G2-1600-X1
Mouse Mamba 2012
Keyboard K70
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/6823139
#2
Use powered risers if you do.
From redit.
[–]aterlumen 2 points 2 years ago
This topic was posted a month or so ago and someone did the math. The extra latency introduced by a riser/extendor was less than the time for a single clock cycle on a decent CPU. If the cable is high quality it has no effect on the bandwidth.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.57/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#3
The short answer is that there should be no meaningful impact from using a properly designed extension.

Cable versus card doesn't matter, as long as it can meet the PCIe electrical specification. PCIe has error correction (128b/130b on PCIe 3.0) that can deal with interference created by moderate cable lengths, but if you make the cable too long it will be prone to generating more errors than can be corrected resulting in system crashes. The capacitors on high end extensions help to mitigate this issue slightly, allowing longer lengths or lower chance of failure at the same length.

I personally have never seen a straight, rigid, riser card. All the ones I know of are either right angle rigid cards or straight flexible cables.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.57/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#5
how would i know this from looking at the product specs?
I unfortunately don't know if there is an easy way to tell this. You basically have to trust the manufacturer that they are honest. For short cable lengths like you are proposing, you generally don't need extensive shielding so the generic cables should be fine. If you were looking at 30cm cables, I would begin to worry about the quality of the generic ones.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
ohh def this will be under 10 cm (if going by cable), i don't want it too far from the initial socket, just parallel to the board (going away from the cpu) to save the 2" headroom.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,082 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,890
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 5 GHz
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, Fans: Delta, Yate Loon, Corsair
Memory G-Skill DDR4 3200 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key
Software Win7 Pro 64
#7
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Processor i5-3570k, stock clock
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Stock Intel CPU Cooler, 1 Front 120mm intake fan, 1 Rear 120mm exhaust fan
Memory 2x8 GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Diamond R9 280X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 , Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM001 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) Dell E2414H
Case Antec Solution SLK3700-BQE
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair TX650
#8
Yeah, I'm looking at the same garbage quality risers / cables as you. I'm probably going to go with cable for now so I can have more placement flexibility, but I've had the exact same concerns as you. I think I'm going to most likely get a powered version, too. I can't find one for less than $20 that I would trust. Looks like that's about the cost for now.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
I started looking into PCI riser cables after I discovered that using it you can make enough room around the graphics card to mount a large CPU heatsink.

I ordered a 15cm ribbon riser cable from ebay and could boot up just fine with it but realized it's not long enough, so ordered a second 15cm one figuring I can connect them together and I won't need more than 30cm
The second one arrived yesterday and what I have unfortunately discovered is that if I connect the card on both risers it will not give me a video feed after windows starts.
If I start in safe mode I see the desktop all right, but if I start normally I get no video feed after the "Windows is starting up" phase. System seems to work fine with either of the cables used independently
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,655 (1.09/day)
Likes
951
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8600K @4.5Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#10
The extra connection (when linking two together) probably add too much resistance for a clear signal.
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,363 (4.68/day)
Likes
17,729
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Wendys Nightmare / Winebox/ Matchbox
Processor Xeon X5670 @4.4ghz / G540 stock/ Q 8300
Motherboard Rampage ii Extreme / Giga GA H61m/ Intel P35
Cooling modded H100 pump and 12omm rad / stock/ stock
Memory 16gb Hyper FurryX triple / 4gb ddr3 / 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce Gtx 970 1485/1800
Storage Kingston V300 120gb /YES/YES/YES
Display(s) 24 HannsG / tv/ 19 "/ 24"
Case Custom treadplate /yes/ wooden winebox/ matchsticks
Audio Device(s) ASUS Supreme xfi 7.1 / ob 7.1 / o/b/ob
Power Supply Corsair 550w / XFX 550// shuttle/ shuttle
Mouse Dead.....all dead.
Keyboard IBM kb7993
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/capslockstuck/
#11
Have you got any pics of your case ?

I am looking for inspiration for a similar project. Recently stripped an old Canadian maple floor and am thinking of using it for a case.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
The extra connection (when linking two together) probably add too much resistance for a clear signal.
But what I don't get is, why does it work in BIOS and windows safe mode? I can even boot from an Ubuntu flash drive and go watch youtube without any noticeable video issues

Have you got any pics of your case ?

I am looking for inspiration for a similar project. Recently stripped an old Canadian maple floor and am thinking of using it for a case.
Sorry, nothing to show at this stage. My videocard is resting on a pile of DVDs next to the case when it's on the cable :)
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.45/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#13
just got a 1x - 16x powered riser cable today, i have a media center that only has pci-e x1 and then a add 2 card (all that does is let you add a dvi slot to your on board gpu, but the slot looks exactly like pcie-16,
any way before i digress.
the pc would not boot at all with the riser connected to the pci-e x1 slot. just a bunch of error bleeps.
so i ended up having to cut the end of the slot open. this worked though so it now has a hd 6450 in it.

not to sure what would make the pc not boot just by adding a riser card, the only thing i can imagine is it has a short in it some where.
At the end of the day it was easier and faster for me to cut open the 1x slot cut 1/2 the cmos battery holder off, then solder some wires to the battery so i could move it out of the way. All in all it was a 20 min job. and has the added bonus of the ports lining up with the slots i have. And still being able to use the pci riser board if i need to use full sized pci cards for some reason.
just something to think about (possible short on the riser)
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Have you got any pics of your case ?

I am looking for inspiration for a similar project. Recently stripped an old Canadian maple floor and am thinking of using it for a case.
I have completed the first operational build
I will warn you in advance, it's not pretty

I still haven't figured out why 2 cables don't work so I'm running on a single ribbon upside down. It probably does not help cooling performance which is currently not much better than stock (but it's as silent as it gets)