• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PCIe Slot Voltage Strange Readings

Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
3 (0.08/day)
Processor AMD A8-7600
Motherboard ASRock FM2A68M-DG3+
Memory 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030
Storage SSD WDC WDS120G1G0A-00S50; HDD WDC WD5000AAKX-001CA0
Display(s) BenQ GW2270; OEM MS306
Hi everyone.

I am having random freezes. I could not find the culprit yet. When using GPU-Z I found this strange PCIe Slot Voltage Reading.

strange_readings.gif

As you can see the PCIe Slot Voltage goes way down (It marks 1.6V when I hover the mouse around the blank region) under load. I put some load on the video card using FurMark.
It says that this is the 12V rail but it surely isn't close to that voltage under load. It also shows 10.7 V when idle.
Is this normal? Could this be the cause of the random freezes? Who is the culprit?
 

SavageGas

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
2 (0.07/day)
I've been waiting for someone to reply that actually knows... But seeing as nobody has...

My PC restarts when when my card starts pulling power, but now that I disabled a Automatic Restart toggle, my PC will also freeze instead. If I run the FurMark 1080 test, that will 80% get me a restart or freeze when it starts or about halfway through. Get HWInfo64 instead and check the actual rail voltage and not (just) the PCIe slot Voltage. My 12V rail drops to 11.5V and then restarts my PC soon after.... I've yet to test my RAM or bench with a fresh Win10, but will so this weekend.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
14 (0.04/day)
Location
Finland
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD Athlon 3000G @ 3.8Ghz 1.312V
Motherboard MSI B450M-A PRO MAX
Cooling Stock cooler
Memory 8GB Corsair ValueSelect 2400Mhz (2666Mhz OC) CL16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming OC 2GB
Storage ADATA 128GB SU650 SSD, 500GB Seagate eHDD
Display(s) AOC G2590FX
Case Chieftec Mesh CQ-01B
Audio Device(s) PreSonus Eris e3.5 / KZ ZS10 Pro
Power Supply Antec Neo HE500
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G513 (GX Blue)
Software Windows / Manjaro
Do you have DMM? You could carefully measure the actual voltage from 24 pin connector as example to see what it is. Software readings aren't always truthful, about 11 months ago when i was messing around with spare HD 6770 and hitting 1Ghz on it with trimmer pot on Feedback line. GPU-Z was showing around 1.3V / 1.4V when it actually was bit over 1.65V:rockout:
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
285 (0.08/day)
System Name Gaming PC/ EDU PC/ HFS PC
Processor Intel i9-9900KF/ Dual Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard Asrock Z390 Taichi Ultimate/ Dual Asrock X370 Proffesional Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-C14S/ Arctic Xtreme Freezer/ Ryzen Wraith Prysm RGB
Memory 64GB Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB 3200/ 32GB Corsair Dominator 3000/ 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 3200
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080Ti Ventus / Zotac GTX 1080Ti Mini / EVGA GTX 1060 SC Gaming
Storage Dual 970 EVO Plus 1TB + 6Tb 860 EVO/ 960 EVO 500GB + 18Tb R0/ 840EVO 250Gb + 16Tb R0
Display(s) Samsung 32" LC32JG50 Curved 2560x1440 144Hz / Samsung 32" LC32H711 Curved 2560x1440 Freesync
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830 NV Edition/ Dual Cooler Master 690 Advance II
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 SBX/ Creative X-Fi Titanium Pci-E/ On-board Realtek
Power Supply Triple Corsair Platinum HX850i
Mouse Logitech G7 WL / Logitech G903 Lightspeed / MS BT 8000
Keyboard Dual Logitech G19s
Software Win10 Pro
according to latest version of gpu-z pci-e voltage should be constant 12V and it measures even voltages on 8-pins VGA power connectors, which is again 12V. If you have drops it could be something like faulty PSU or at least misreading sensor info.... At least mine shows constant 12v.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,895 (4.49/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
according to latest version of gpu-z pci-e voltage should be constant 12V and it measures even voltages on 8-pins VGA power connectors, which is again 12V. If you have drops it could be something like faulty PSU or at least misreading sensor info.... At least mine shows constant 12v.
12V and up to 75Watts through the PCI-e slot.
 

SavageGas

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
2 (0.07/day)
Yo Jude, still having PC issues?

(I tried a fresh Win10 install on a clean SSD and reinstalled Remnant. Couldn't get the PC to crash/freeze/restart when running 3DMark Firestrike at 720, 1080 or 4k. Remnant ran for 5 hours without freezing either (and before this reinstall, it ran for 5 mins at most)... Which leaves me confused as I swore I had a PSU issue... but maybe I still do lol vOv )
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,630 (0.65/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Hi everyone.

I am having random freezes. I could not find the culprit yet. When using GPU-Z I found this strange PCIe Slot Voltage Reading.

View attachment 169703
As you can see the PCIe Slot Voltage goes way down (It marks 1.6V when I hover the mouse around the blank region) under load. I put some load on the video card using FurMark.
It says that this is the 12V rail but it surely isn't close to that voltage under load. It also shows 10.7 V when idle.
Is this normal? Could this be the cause of the random freezes? Who is the culprit?
Word to the wise guys - Furmark is a GPU killer.
Stay away and fine something else to test with.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
3 (0.08/day)
Processor AMD A8-7600
Motherboard ASRock FM2A68M-DG3+
Memory 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030
Storage SSD WDC WDS120G1G0A-00S50; HDD WDC WD5000AAKX-001CA0
Display(s) BenQ GW2270; OEM MS306
First of all, sorry for the late answer.
I am still having these freezes, and it seems that this measurement is representative of the problem. I recently had a strange freeze where the screen started flashing with abnormal colors.
I 've been watching the PSU voltages in the BIOS HW monitor and they seem fine. All CPU voltages are also good. Is it possible that the PSU is faulty solely for the PCIe Slot Voltage bus? I don't want to buy a new one if I am not sure if its faulty. I am inclined to think is the MOBO. I don't have another PSU to test this.
Thanks for all the comments so far.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Slot power comes from the 24 pin plug on the motherboard. Id be unplugging that and checking the connections of the pins.
Then plug back in and make sure its firmly in place.
Back probe the plug as the computers on and make sure its got a good reading there.
If it does then sounds like theres some high resistance some where going though the motherboard dropping the voltage.
Could even try cleaning the edge connector and pci-e slot to make sure they have good connection.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
744 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
I think you should ask the video card maker tech support about this. :)
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,919 (4.25/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
That's definitely not normal, the odd thing is that the system shouldn't even be able to boot with that voltage on the 12V rail.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
280 (0.60/day)
Processor R7 1700 non-X @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua
Memory 32 GB 3200 MT/s CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 2x 500 GB SSD, 2x 3 TB HDD
Case Silverstone FT02
Software Manjaro Linux, W10 if I have to
The software reading is meaningless until verified. If you suspect it's in error, you need to perform a measurement of the actual voltage.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2020
Messages
3 (0.08/day)
Processor AMD A8-7600
Motherboard ASRock FM2A68M-DG3+
Memory 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030
Storage SSD WDC WDS120G1G0A-00S50; HDD WDC WD5000AAKX-001CA0
Display(s) BenQ GW2270; OEM MS306
Latest news about the issue.
Good news: PCI Express voltage is actually low as measured with a DMM. The GPU-Z measurement is representative of the physical value. :)
Bad news: I changed the PC geographic location (I lent it to a friend) and hasn't frozen yet (he has been using it for a week).:(
Is it possible that my electrical installation affects PC stability?
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
744 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)
Yes, quite possible. :) Using a UPS might help.
 
Top