• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Pentium 4 HT OC

Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
20 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
West Coast, USA
#1
- Abit IC7-Max3 Motherboard
- Intel Petium 4 3.4ghz Northwood
- Corsair XMS 3200 1GB 2x512MB DDR XLPT (Dual Channel)
- Seagate 160gb SATA
- Koolance Exos 2
- Swiftech Blue CPU Mount
- Cooler Master Stacker Case (Black)
- Sapphire X800 XT 256mb VIVO NON-Platinum
- Artic Cooling Silencer 4 wired to PSU
- Creative Audigy X-Fi Platinum
- 2x Thermaltake PurePower 680watt PSU

can somone help me overclock the cpu to its maximum potential?
i have gotten a 3.6 oc and the ram with f1 racer mod at timmings 2-2-2-5 and i want to go higher with this setup

any tips would help as well.

thanks,
Shanil
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,460
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#2
great ram timings!!! using the bios and a little boost in the voltage i think you could get 3.8ghz or 4.0ghz possibly either loosening the timins or droping the ram back a speed
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.11/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#3
I need to watch this one

I will watch along on this one!

Simply because I have a VERY similar setup (mobo, RAM, & CPU-wise (near same, 3.2ghz P4 H/T type) are the same here - the main things concerned in an O/C imo @ least) for my 2nd rig here I use as a "lab practical" SQLServer 2005/IIS6.x/Windows Server 2003 rig.

:)

* May pick up some more "tricks/tips/techniques", in o/c'ing, albeit this time? From the "Intel Side"...

APK
 
Last edited:

g12rxz

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2006
Messages
293 (0.07/day)
Likes
0
Location
Illinois
Processor AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6ghz
Motherboard ECS KA3 MVP Crossfire 3200 Chipset
Cooling None to speak of.
Memory 2048MB DDR2 Patriot Memory 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) X1800GTO2 512MB soon I'll flash to an XT!
Storage 250GB 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA Seagate
Display(s) 19 inch widescreen 4ms by AG Neovo
Case Gigabyte Poseidon Mid-Tower ( AWESOME CASE! )
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinum -- 200 Watts to each Jamo Classic 10, powered by a Denon Class A amp
Power Supply Rosewill 600Watt w/ Active PFC and Dual +12v
Software Windows XP Professional SP2
#5
I had a northwood before, those things are easy to overclock and fricken fly.... only thing that held me down was voltage and air cooling... i got my 2.6er stable on air @ 3.6ghz, and this is when i was an uber noobie... using pc2700 value ram, nothing broke... i owe it all to the GA8IPE1000Pro by gigabyte though.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
20 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
West Coast, USA
#6
hm

cool, nice oc

my processor is Pentium 3.4ghz Northwood HT i herd the speeds of this processor oced are alot better than a 2.8E oced or a prescott oced. can somone please get me some values to try out on my system. i've been trying to oc and iwant to try my configs with any of yours.

thanks,
Shanil
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#7
I cantcomment on consair me being a mushkin tech, but if you intend to really push the system try some generic timings of 2.5-3-3-8 and just start pushing that FSB up. once instability sets in increase vdimm\vcore to regain stability and keep going. make sure your cpu doesnt exceed 70c on full load maximum and without knowing the ICs on the memory, dont go above 2.9v there either.
 

W2hCYK

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
907 (0.21/day)
Likes
96
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard P5WDG2-WS Pro, need new chipset cooler.
Cooling Dangerden TDX-775
Memory OCZ 2gb PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM 4-5-4-15
Video Card(s) X850XTPE 256mb @ 585/640
Storage 2x 250gb Perpendicular SATA3.0, 2x Maxtor DiamondMax10 160gb SATA-150 drives
Display(s) Sceptre 19" 8ms LCD
Case Lian-Li PC-65
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 700w 18a 12v, Quad Rail
Software Windows XP SP2
#8
I have a 2.8E, I can get it to 3.3GHz stable @ 40c Idle..

My previous 3E I got all the way to 4.2GHz @ about 45c idle..

My trick was to use the divider, and tighten tighten tighten those timings. Tighter timings gives you more bandwidth, and a slower ram speed lets your cpu run faster, so youre not really losing either way.

You have to figure, am I getting more performance @ 4GHz with 2.5-3-3-5 @ 5:4(or maybe even 2.5-2-2-5 @ 5:4) or 3.6GHz, 2-2-2-5 @ 1:1

Northbridge cooling on that board helps alot too. Get some active cooling for that, and bump up the AGP voltage to 1.8v(AGP voltage controls NB voltage as well, with no problems to the AGP slot, just maybe a hotter PCB. I upgraded that board to a P4P800E-Deluxe, and my prescott flew. Highest I've booted is 4.3GHz on air cooling... but temps were hot, and voltage was unsafe. The abit board also over reads temperatures by as much as 11c, so figure you're really 5c~ lower than what the board says.

I was pretty good @ OCing back when I had my 3E, I seem to be slipping now. I've been learning how to OC my friends opteron for him, HTT really messed me up on 478's, lol..

Before the 3E, I had a 2.4C which I got to 3.8GHz on air, I swear its all in the RAM, and how you can trick your system into getting more bandwidth with different settings, and allowing the cpu to pull ahead with what works for it. You have to try many different combo's to find the optimal setting.

**Edit.. I saw that your RAM was PC3200, I have 4000, which is completely different. Treat your timings differently from what I've described, but follow the same principle of OCing the RAM:CPU
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
20 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
West Coast, USA
#9
k

when i tried those settings i was unable to hold a 4ghz oc the system doesn't even post up

would i need to cool the northbridge better or can somone help me with other settings?
 

W2hCYK

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
907 (0.21/day)
Likes
96
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard P5WDG2-WS Pro, need new chipset cooler.
Cooling Dangerden TDX-775
Memory OCZ 2gb PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM 4-5-4-15
Video Card(s) X850XTPE 256mb @ 585/640
Storage 2x 250gb Perpendicular SATA3.0, 2x Maxtor DiamondMax10 160gb SATA-150 drives
Display(s) Sceptre 19" 8ms LCD
Case Lian-Li PC-65
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 700w 18a 12v, Quad Rail
Software Windows XP SP2
#10
Have you increased voltage? What voltage are you at?
 

W2hCYK

New Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
907 (0.21/day)
Likes
96
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.3GHz
Motherboard P5WDG2-WS Pro, need new chipset cooler.
Cooling Dangerden TDX-775
Memory OCZ 2gb PC2-6400 DDR2 RAM 4-5-4-15
Video Card(s) X850XTPE 256mb @ 585/640
Storage 2x 250gb Perpendicular SATA3.0, 2x Maxtor DiamondMax10 160gb SATA-150 drives
Display(s) Sceptre 19" 8ms LCD
Case Lian-Li PC-65
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 700w 18a 12v, Quad Rail
Software Windows XP SP2
#13
?? That isnt a core voltage. Usually the core is around 1.45v stock on the northwoods. 775 is a socket type..

or do you mean.. 1.775? If youre running 1.775 on a northwood, you may be running into sudden northwood death syndrome(google SNDS) where the cpu shows no signs of dieing, and then wont boot one day.

1.6v is the max I'd recommend on a northwood. Heck, sometimes cpus are more stable @ lower voltages than crazy high ones. Try a lower voltage.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807 (0.39/day)
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#14
set your cpu cooler under 12v
or is the psu rail 12v?
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
20 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
West Coast, USA
#16
i couldn't find the box but i got a cpu-z list up
CPU:
APIC ID 0
Name Intel Pentium 4
Code name Northwood
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.40GHz
Family/Model/Stepping F29
Extended Family/Model F/2
Brand ID 9
Package mPGA-478 (2h)
Core Stepping D1
Technology 0.13um
Instructions Sets MMX, SSE, SSE2
Features
Clock Speed 3407.5 MHz
Clock multiplier x17.0
Front Side Bus Frequency 200.4 MHz
Bus Speed 801.8 MHz
Stock frequency 3400 MHz
L1 Data Cache 8 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L1 Trace Cache 12 Kuops, 8-way set associative
L2 Cache 512 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Speed 3407.5 MHz (Full)
L2 Location On Chip
L2 Data Prefetch Logic yes
L2 Bus Width 256 bits

Chipset:
Northbridge Intel i875P rev. A2
Southbridge Intel 82801EB (ICH5) rev. 02
Graphic Interface AGP
AGP Revision 3.0
AGP Transfer Rate 8x
AGP SBA supported, enabled
Memory Type DDR
Memory Size 1024 MBytes
Memory Frequency 200.4 MHz (1:1)
CAS# 2.5
RAS# to CAS# 2
RAS# Precharge 2
Cycle Time (tRAS) 5
Performance Mode enabled
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,460
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#18
did you use a ram divider??? (yours is set to 400 set it to 333 it should work)
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#20
Got my 3.0GHz Prescott to 3.7GHz, idles at 38~C, which is about the same as stock. Had the VCore at 1.3625v, the NBV at 1.6v, and the DDR2V at 1.95v. I imagine I could take it higher, but I don't want to because I have a crumby CPU heatsink. Seems like you could push a little more out of a 3.4GHz Northwood than what you have. Just tweak it a bit. Just up the voltages a bit like everyone has said. I don't think you should have to worry about changing the CPU:Memory dividers though, unless you just have some cheap memory that can't hande being clocked up a bit. Maybe loosen the timings?
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
20 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
West Coast, USA
#21
when i try to hit anything past like 3.6 the whole system goes crazy.

one time i did get it to load 3.86ghz and then it crashed when i loaded steam

i dunno whats up
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,460
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#22
ok to set the ram divider to 333 go into bios it is either right there w/ the cpu clockspeed or it is under dram timings but it is probably sais something like 400(BY SPD) or something along the lines of that you click it and set it off the 400mhz (by spd) and put it on 333 )and no that doesnt limit the ram to 333 it just changes the divider
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,556 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,460
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#24
really you read through all the extra shit in the manual when i get a chance i will look personally but that could take some time (school work)