1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

performance issues?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by joinmeindeath417, Mar 8, 2007.

  1. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Okay so i just bought a 8800gtx (e-vga)

    the problem is i feel its "under" performing

    i only get like somewhere between 8500-8900 3dmarks from 3Dmark06

    is that normal?

    this is my specs

    Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Skt AM2

    GigaByte GA-M55SLI-S4 (nforce 4 chipset)

    PQI ddr2 533 2gb ram

    ultra 500 watt PSU


    any help would be appreciated just cause i wanna know that if i spent the 806 USD (gfx card and processor) that it was worth it heh, and if not what i should look into getting to help the performance :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    Update Mobo drivers, PSu a little low on amps for 12v rail.(I believe, but that arguable)
    Tried O-clocking it yet?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    hmm, maybe the psu is the problem....
     
  4. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    thats what im debating on

    so i used cpu-z and its saying my ddr 2 rate is

    slot 1- 400mhz
    slot 2- 400mhz
    slot 3- 200mhz
    slot 4-200mhz

    does that even make sense?

    it should be at LEAST ddr2 533..-_-

    oh and yeah i overclocked my CPU to 2.81 ghz (only 200mhz higher than it is stock)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i just updated to the latest drivers, i do believe i wiell need a new CPU soon

    i havent overclocked the card..i dont want to it is massively hot on idle (somewhere in 60 degreesC)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Which Ultra do you have? The X-Connect, V-Series, X-Finity, X-Pro, XVS, or X2-Connect?

    But just looking at your PSU, you def. will need a higher one.
    Esp. since 500Watts is not enough for a 8800GTX (maybe enough for a 8800GTS).

    My best guess is that your card is underperfoming since it doesnt have enough power.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    the x-connect i got it on sale for like 20 bucks i couldnt pass it up :p and i needed a new PSU
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    psu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    i will have to say cpu, as we know...8800gtx is very cpu dependent...you cant blame the psu for performance! it just powering it up, if the PSU was underpowered it would have restarted you machine, or lock it up...not reduce performance, that's silly talk. you dont see reviews saying that when i put that PC P&C 1kw psu in the rig, i got a boost in performance.

    edit...check these out:

    http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=35436

    http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html?art=MTI2MiwyLCxoZW50aHVzaWFzdA==

    http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/11/29/geforce_8800_needs_the_fastest_cpu/


    This clearly show that you cpu is holding you 88 back.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75

    Not true.
    If a system cannot provide enough amps that a video card need, but it is still sufficient, the GPU can power up and run and the computer will not restart.
    I have seen this on many occassions.
    However, once you put a better PSU in with better 12V rails, the GPU works much better as it was intended.
    However, I do agree that the CPU is also bottlenecking your system.
    So I say its a mixture.
    Get a good quality PSU and CPU (PSU first I would say).
    The X-Connects have had really bad reviews and have blown up in a lot of computers (bc they are made of cheap parts).
    With PSUs you get what you pay for.
    Hell with that nice system I wouldnt trust a $20 PSU to power that (not even a $300 system).
    DONT SKIMP on the PSU.
    It is very important
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    yeah i know its not tha it cost 20 it was on sale for 20 it cost usually like 89.99,heh, about the CPU i just bought this damn thing ..for 225 USD, i overclocked it to 2.8ghz and if i get better ram i can probably get to 3ghz with the cooler i have its not even on 48 degrees celcius on full load so im going to buy a new psu and ram i think for starters i wanted to get a new CPU but i cant afford to get a core2duo and a new mobo and all that stuff thanks for the help guys i really applicate it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Jadawin

    Jadawin

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    175 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    A PSU will either run the system or it will crash. If it runs, it will NOT affect performance. If the gfx card doesn't get enough power, the driver will tell you so. If it doesn't the power is fine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    his psu is powering up his gpu and keeping it up, if it is reducing performance, see if the clock speeds drop while gaming. Overall his psu is fine, every powersupply has the same chance of failing, you can have a $5 psu and work for a life time, vs a 150 working for 3-5months...its just by chance. Sure a more pricier psu has better componets to last longer...but again it by chances, and the computers gods will ;)

    110% agree, usually a red flashing error will blink (ati, dont know about nvidia) saying a) power cable is unpluged, or b) not enough power...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    I am aware that these PSUs say their retail price is $89.99, but you will rarely see them for that.
    They are usually FREE or $10 as of late.

    Take a look at this page and it will show you the quality build of PSUs. ( http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=108088 )
    As you will notice Ultra X-Connect is in Tier 5 (the lowest tier).
    It is bc they use cheap parts which often makes them blow up, as well as have bad rails and everything.
    I have seen quite a few people buy these and think they are great.
    But they are not.
    I just wanted to alert you.

    As for the PSU thing that I am kind of arguing about, I said I have seen it before.
    Hey I could be wrong, but I know I am not wrong about the X-Connects being crap PSUs.
    You might as well use a PSU that came with the case.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    haha oh damn that sucks, anyway take alook at what my ram is saying with cpu-z -_- this isnt right at all and i think the 2 sticks i just got..may be faulty or something...

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v483/Despairfactors/cpu.jpg
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    dont worry about you x-connect, you have the first generation one...

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&...official&q=Ultra+X-Connect+review&btnG=Search

    check out the first 2-3 pages, all good.

    edit...

    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/465/3/

    this is the free after MIR still powering a 8800gtx, (the cheapo v-series, not the x)


    Try overclocking you cpu, and see if you get a higher 3dmark score...
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. joinmeindeath417

    joinmeindeath417 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,008 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    New Jersey
    thank you,

    meh im way more concerned about the ram at this point...-_- thinking that may be bottlenecking my 8800gtx

    cause with this ram reading like it does, i cant over clock it past 2.8ghz

    bah
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,543 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    332
    Location:
    Blighty
    i'd say psu most likely, my rig is worse than yours, i clocked down to 2.4 as im using my crap ram till my ocz arrives(sold my 1gb sticks to my bro, so im currently using 4x512[400 8-3-3-3-2t]) on a gts, and i get 8118 on 06
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,584 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    HEY GUYS HIS RAM IS AT 210mhz! thats the friggin problem. try taking out two of the 4 sticks and see what it runs at. im guessing the motherboard is downclocking the ram due having 4 sticks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,543 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    332
    Location:
    Blighty
    oops didnt read half the posts, and to think i've moaned at others for doing the same before!, guess its a case of the pot calling the kettle black
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)