1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Permantly disable 5xx series throttling?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by hat, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,174 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,961
    Location:
    Ohio
    I know W1zzard has a hack in GPU-Z that will disable the throttling on the 5xx series cards, but is there a way to permanantly disable it? A quick BIOS edit with NiBiTor maybe?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  2. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,174 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,961
    Location:
    Ohio
    Guess not?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,234 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    I am interested on this as well
     
  4. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,771 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,313
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    maybe edit bios and remove all clocks except 3D?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,234 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    The power throttling, not the clock throttling. The thing that kicks in whenever furmark, kombustor, oc scanner etc is being ran.. Its a pain to run gpuz first prior to stress testing for OC stability.. sometimes I even forget it (1 hour in, no artifacts, yey!.. ah crap, forgot to turn the throttling off :( )
     
  6. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Location:
    Singapore
    make a shortcut to gpu-z in your startup folder in the start menu?
     
  7. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,234 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    Dont want to exit the app everytime I boot though..
     
  8. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,174 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,961
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nobody has an answer?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,613 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Location:
    London, UK
    athlonX2 had your answer...
     
  10. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    732 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    I haven't seen or heard of a permanent fix....and I've been looking. :( :banghead:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,759 (5.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,879
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    That can be automated as well.

    Code:
    START /MIN C:\gpuz.exe /GTX580OCP
    Ping 127.0.0.1 -n 10
    Taskkill /F /IM "gpuz.exe"
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
    Bjorn_Of_Iceland says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,174 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,961
    Location:
    Ohio
    What if you want to overclock it though? Would it throttle back to stock clocks if it was overstressed?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,991 (10.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,803
    Doesn't it throttle back only when using stress testing programs like Furmark?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,759 (5.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,879
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Yeah, but I think the idea is that if you are stress testing to test stability, and a reboot happens in the middle, then you start stress testing again, it is a pain to have to keep re-running GPU-z.

    Think of it like this, you set an overclock and start stress testing overnight. You come back to the machine in the morning and it has rebooted or is frozen due to a GPU crash. So you reboot the machine, lower the clocks 5MHz and start testing again. 4 hours later you come back, and all seems good. Then you remember that you forgot to disable the throttling, so the clocks kept lowering... 4 hours of testing wasted...:cry:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,174 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,961
    Location:
    Ohio
    Exactly...

    So is removing all but the 3D clocks in the BIOS a viable solution to stop throttling, even if you push further with a tool like EVGA Precision? What about leaving 2D clocks in there to reduce idle power consumption?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  16. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    Didn't even know the 5xxx series had throttling. Again I really think we need a new kind of stress testing program, like crysis without the massive install.
     
  17. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,174 (4.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,961
    Location:
    Ohio
    I read somewhere that the throttling is just something in the drivers that detects OCCT and Furmark and that's all. The throttling doesn't exist in video games, so we should be able to just use the hack when running Furmark or OCCT and leave it alone after that.

    Is this throttling for the GTX580 ONLY, or for the whole 5xx series?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,759 (5.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,879
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Seems to be the entire 5XX series.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. load81 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,759 (5.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,879
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Not if you know what you are doing. Of course there are several people in that thread that had it pop with the saftey feature ON, so disabling it isn't really to blame here.

    In fact, of the 4 users in the thread that had cards die, actually 5 users if you count our very one W1zzard, 3 had the saftey feature still enabled.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. load81 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sigh...You just made me read that whole thread again. Wizzard had a card die with it on. Faulty card maybe? The other guy that had it die with it on was running it at 1.2+volts. I kept up with the thread and can't find the 3rd person that had a card fail with the power limiter on. Don't see how you can call that several lol Check out the 570 overclocking thread in those forums. Some people have them clocked at ridiculous speeds and have no problems. I'm sure you know some cards are just faulty.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)