• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom 9950 overclocking

Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
ok i have a problem my last score of 3dmark was 16118 at 3.080mhz

now my score i s 16016 at 3.178
i ran prime for 15 mins and it showed no errors nor did it crash

what could it be??
bro I dont know. Try running it again, sometimes scores vary.

Also you know what helped me tremendously in 3dmark, better cooling for the card.

When I had my 2900 by setting the fan over stock to 40% fixed, I scored about 800-1000 more points. Maybe your card is running really hott and not being efficient.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
wow glad to see your thread CP is rockin out bro!!!! great results everyone :toast: :pimp:
Thanks dude, the new RAM really helped out. I will be posting a few results with the 9950 running on two cores, big difference in Super Pi :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Here is a comparison with CPU and the same clock, everything identical, but one score is with all 4 cores enabled, and one is with only 2 cores enabled. Notice the difference in vcore also.

Runs in Super Pi

All Four Cores Enabled:


Only Two Cores Enabled:
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Here is the same comparison as above in the Generic CPU bench. I didnt take a screen of the two core 3.4 GHz run so to show the difference in crunch time I put a 3.2 GHz run of the two core run. Still crunches quicker, but obviously scores a lot less.


All Four Cores:



Two Cores:
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,765 (2.46/day)
Likes
3,559
bro I dont know. Try running it again, sometimes scores vary.

Also you know what helped me tremendously in 3dmark, better cooling for the card.

When I had my 2900 by setting the fan over stock to 40% fixed, I scored about 800-1000 more points. Maybe your card is running really hott and not being efficient.
but i want to add to this.... i find running my gpu fan @ 80+ causes a crash with high core and memory clocks.... if i lower it to say 61% it passes.... i think the fan is taking away juice from the card itself... that's what i found with my tests... :cool:
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
but i want to add to this.... i find running my gpu fan @ 80+ causes a crash with high core and memory clocks.... if i lower it to say 61% it passes.... i think the fan is taking away juice from the card itself... that's what i found with my tests... :cool:
Wow, thats great dude.

Hey Assasin, check this post out, might be helpful if you ever change the fan profile on your card.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
cool.... glad there working for ya so now i wanna see 3.6GHZ MATE lol!!!:laugh:
dude even on two cores, I can only get it to boot at 3.45 GHz. I did 3.5 GHz at 1.45v which is all I can do in AMD Overdrive, but it failed on like iteration 14 of super pi. Then I raised the v core and it won't boot into windows. If AOD would let me go higher vcore in windows I can easily do a run at 3.5 Ghz or maybe 3.6 GHz although i'm sure it'll fail shortly after, but at least I'll get to see what it can do.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
how is the Mark06 benchies now with the tracers CP?
any better?
I'll be getting to that soon. now that I got the CPU where I want it, i'll focus on the card and 3dmark benches, see how they do.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,765 (2.46/day)
Likes
3,559
dude even on two cores, I can only get it to boot at 3.45 GHz. I did 3.5 GHz at 1.45v which is all I can do in AMD Overdrive, but it failed on like iteration 14 of super pi. Then I raised the v core and it won't boot into windows. If AOD would let me go higher vcore in windows I can easily do a run at 3.5 Ghz or maybe 3.6 GHz although i'm sure it'll fail shortly after, but at least I'll get to see what it can do.
oh shi^.... me bad.... i forgot ya BLEW UP YOOUR BESTEST BAD AZZ 9850 UP!! sorry hehe... well what are your settings at highest boot?.... pm them to me and ill take a look..:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
oh shi^.... me bad.... i forgot ya BLEW UP YOOUR BESTEST BAD AZZ 9850 UP!! sorry hehe... well what are your settings at highest boot?.... pm them to me and ill take a look..:rolleyes:
dude please do not remind me that I had a 9850. THat damn thing was freaking goldennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.


3.55 GHz at only 1.456v and still going without hesitating. It was a perfect bond between CPU and overclocker hehe :roll: You learn from experiences. I know where i can go with HT voltage now and where I can't. Oh and if only I listened to somebody named Brad who told me once to lower it. :mad:

I could only imagine how much better were my benchmarks with the 9850 if I had the tracers back then :(
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,765 (2.46/day)
Likes
3,559
dude please do not remind me that I had a 9850. THat damn thing was freaking goldennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.


3.55 GHz at only 1.456v and still going without hesitating. It was a perfect bond between CPU and overclocker hehe :roll: You learn from experiences. I know where i can go with HT voltage now and where I can't. Oh and if only I listened to somebody named Brad who told me once to lower it. :mad:

I could only imagine how much better were my benchmarks with the 9850 if I had the tracers back then :(
LMFAO!!!! i told ya hehehe :shadedshu

ah we learn so much in the world of freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee MHz hey ppl!:respect:
oh and ill try not to forget to forget to remind ya lol
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
LMFAO!!!! i told ya hehehe :shadedshu

ah we learn so much in the world of freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee MHz hey ppl!:respect:
oh and ill try not to forget to forget to remind ya lol
hey don't you dare go there. Sad thing is I look under my monitor and there is the poor thing in its little plastic enclosure. :cry::cry::cry:
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (0.94/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
i cleared my bios ( removed the battery for 30mins)
and i will redo everything

BTW cp i have a watercooled setup on my cpu and gpu so the fan speed wont help
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,875 (0.48/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
try running ganged mode for the memory.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (0.94/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
my memory in cpuz says

 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
i cleared my bios ( removed the battery for 30mins)
and i will redo everything

BTW cp i have a watercooled setup on my cpu and gpu so the fan speed wont help
anja, I forgot about that. Darnit :nutkick:
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.13/day)
Likes
12,631
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
Ummm are ya trying to clock?
you need help setting the memory timings?
there way to high

Yeah, but he is getting familiar with the rig and the bios. I think he posted screenshots here and the bios is confusing. So its hard to help him.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (0.94/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
ok i am re doing it again and this is my new scores
All defaults except cpu x
200x13 = 2.6 = 13267
200x14 = 2.8 = 14165
200x14.5 = 2.9 = 14918

thats all stock except the cpu multiplier
i might have to start adding some voltages we will see!!!
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
3,459 (0.94/day)
Likes
483
Location
95350
Processor ???
Motherboard 760
Cooling HK
Memory 3x1gb
Video Card(s) 285 Classified / EVGA 480
Display(s) 22" Acer /42" Toshiba
Case Stacker
Power Supply Toughpower 1000w / Coolmaster 650w
Software All of them
ok while running prime95
workthread #3 said error stoped
and the rest are still going what can i do should i mess with the ACC?
Its disabled
 
Top