• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom at 3.0ghz

Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.38/day)
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro

we only managed to overclock the AMD Phenom via increasing the multiplier from x13 (default) to x15. The MSI K9A2 Platinum motherboard managed well, but it's not a huge overclock. Still, we managed to take the Phenom to 3.0Ghz with rock solid stabilty.
CPU3D.com

In case anyone was wondering when it might happen. Apparently bumping the multi is a much better way than the fsb...
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
2,476 (0.49/day)
Location
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
System Name Hells Core.
Processor Q6600 Go @ 3.6ghz 24/7 1.360v stable.
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula.
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (lapped). 1x120mm Akasa fan 2x80mm akasa fans (variable speeds)
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB 2x2 gigs pc2-6400 latency 6-6-6-15 @1100mhz. D9,s
Video Card(s) 2 x HIS HD5870's Crossfire
Storage WD Caviar SE 160GB 7200RPM SATAII 8MB Cache / Samsung 7200RPM SATAII 16mb Cache.
Display(s) 22" Benq True LED/HD.
Case Inwin IronClad Gaming case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi™ XtremeMusic EAX 5.0.2
Power Supply Hiper 880W Type-M Quad sli crossfire certified. 85% Efficiency Rated.
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores "3dmark06 23995" Q6600@4.3ghz 3870x2 GPU @900mhz MEM @1000mhz-OS XP. "The Current TPU Champ"
Make sure the ht link doesnt go above 2000mhz by much or this will make things unstable i used to overclock my athlon 64 4000 sandiego to 3ghz.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.38/day)
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
Mmm? It's a review site, not mine. I haven't seen anything get past 2.6 so I figgered I'd drop it here at TPU.

Every now and again I find something interesting...
 

Rapid

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel e6550 Oc'd to 3.17Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-N650SLI-DS4L
Cooling Akasa Evo Blue AK-922
Memory GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-6400C4 800MHz Black Dragon
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon X1950XT 256mb
Storage 2 x Maxtor 250GB 16mb Cache (RAID 0)
Display(s) 2 x Iiyama Prolite 17inch LCD
Case Thermaltake Armour
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy
Power Supply Hiper Type R- 580W
Software Windows XP
If that overclock is true, what performance would that attain?
 

Gam'ster

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
979 (0.20/day)
Location
South Wales, UK
System Name Toshiba L350
Processor AMD QL-65
Motherboard Toshiba 780G/SB700
Cooling Laptop
Memory 3GB
Video Card(s) ATI HD3000
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 17" Widescreen
Case Black/Carbon effect
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Brick
Software WIN7
I wonder what phenom it was?, specification: AMD engineering sample ES.
So by increasing the multiplier from x13 (default) to x15 they get 3.0ghz
so the base was 2.6ghz is that right ?

Cheers
Gam
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2007
Messages
1,143 (0.23/day)
Location
New York
System Name AMD/ATI PHENOM MONSTER
Processor AMD Phenom II 965BE
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVA
Cooling Air right know. Water later
Memory 4bg Corsair Dominator PC3 8500 9,9,9,24 2t timing
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Storage 5x 500gb sata3.0 Seagate in RAID 0 - 2x 160gb Seagate for backup
Display(s) MAG INNOVISION 19in LCD 2ms 1600:1cr, 22in LED 2ms-5ms
Case Thermaltake Armor QuadFX edition
Power Supply 1000w Thermaltake toughpower
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark06 10712 single card and no oc, 12071 with cpu @ 2.8ghz and card oced, 13877 with crossfire.
I have the Phenom 9600 BE and oc'ed it to 2.5 easy. Ill see how much higher I can go on air and tell you if it might be possible to hit 3.0.
 

woozers

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Location
Latvia
System Name NFA i guess
Processor A64 3500+ Venice
Motherboard MSI K8N NEO4-F PCB v3.0
Cooling Box on CPU, 2x 12cm GT Silentblades
Memory 2*512MB ValueRAM
Video Card(s) Biostar 7900GS
Storage Seagate ST3160815AS
Display(s) Samsung 940N
Case Compucase 6A21
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE
Power Supply FSP ATX-400PNF
I believe when i see CPU-Z validation :shadedshu
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,167 (3.16/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
I got one 20Mhz from the 3.0 mark, and it was totally not stable. Stable for me was at 2.6, but it would run at 2.8Mhz.
 

Rapid

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel e6550 Oc'd to 3.17Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-N650SLI-DS4L
Cooling Akasa Evo Blue AK-922
Memory GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-6400C4 800MHz Black Dragon
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon X1950XT 256mb
Storage 2 x Maxtor 250GB 16mb Cache (RAID 0)
Display(s) 2 x Iiyama Prolite 17inch LCD
Case Thermaltake Armour
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy
Power Supply Hiper Type R- 580W
Software Windows XP
I got one 20Mhz from the 3.0 mark, and it was totally not stable. Stable for me was at 2.6, but it would run at 2.8Mhz.
^ What did you just say :D
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,167 (3.16/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
I had the 9500 up to 2990Mhz with pushing the reference clock up. It was not stable at all at that speed.

To pass prime I had to run it at 2600Mhz, but it would run at 2800Mhz just not totally stable.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,669 (5.39/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
athlonX2 has his running @ a 14x multi at what i assume is the stock fsb...

YES SIR THE MULTI GOES TO 24.5 IN bios AND 47 THROUGH amd oVERDRIVE..CURRENTLY RUNNING IT A 14
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,791 (0.50/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) heaps of dead GPUs in the garage
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006 / Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores It does boot up? I think.
Funny, looking at Phenom OC'ing results makes me feel like time had suddenly turned back a few years. It's like Phenoms were somehow supposed to launch years ago along with socket AM2. But at present day, compared to competition, K10 even when OC'ed to the max is simply not that impressive at all.

PS.
My intention was not to flame.
 

mysticjon

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
436 (0.09/day)
Location
CA, USA
Processor AMD Phenom x4 9850 black edition
Cooling big water 745
Memory Kingston 4gb(1gbx4) ddr2 (dual channel)
Video Card(s) ati sapphire radeon hd 6850
Storage 2tb
Display(s) samsung 226bw 22 inch wide lcd screen
Case apeiva qpack2
Audio Device(s) creative soundblaster X-fi fatal1ty series
Power Supply silent pro 600watt modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
which phenoms don't have the bug in it?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,490 (0.51/day)
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,791 (0.50/day)
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) heaps of dead GPUs in the garage
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006 / Contour Balance Keyboard / Logitech diNovo Edge
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores It does boot up? I think.
In other words, all B2's have the bug.
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,116 (0.41/day)
System Name Not named
Processor Intel 8700k @ 5Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
Cooling DeepCool Assassin II
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair LPX 3000mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 Ti AMP EXTREME
Storage Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
Display(s) 24" Dell IPS 1920x1200
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Watt Fully Modular
Perhaps AMD will be bought out by IBM somehow.... i love my intel quad core... but i also know i probably wouldn't have one at all if it wasn't for amd not all that long ago.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,167 (3.16/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
A bug you should never hit as a normal user.
 

Rapid

New Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel e6550 Oc'd to 3.17Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-N650SLI-DS4L
Cooling Akasa Evo Blue AK-922
Memory GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC2-6400C4 800MHz Black Dragon
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon X1950XT 256mb
Storage 2 x Maxtor 250GB 16mb Cache (RAID 0)
Display(s) 2 x Iiyama Prolite 17inch LCD
Case Thermaltake Armour
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy
Power Supply Hiper Type R- 580W
Software Windows XP
I think it just shows how close AMD are to loosing everything again like when the Althon XP's came out. They always seem to be on the bread line.

But without them like magibeg said, intel would not be releasing what they have now. We would prolly still be on p4's or something worse.Personally I would like to see them bounce back and kick Intel into touch again, keep it all dynamic and good for us :D

End of random thought.
 
Top