• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom FX in the Works, AMD to take Another shot at...Kentsfield

Joined
Jul 1, 2008
Messages
298 (0.06/day)
Location
Serbia, Nis
System Name Fedora-bluesky
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard Asus 970A Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua U14S
Memory Kingston 2x8192MB 667MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 960TI
Storage 2 x WD RED 2TB, 64GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 1920x1200 24"
Software Ubuntu, Fedora, Open Source Software...

turtile

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2007
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
thats kinda an odd argument


2000-2000 Socket A 100mhz
2000-2002 Socket A 133mhz
2002-2003 Socket A 166-200mhz
2004-2005 Socket 754
2004-2006 Socket 939
2006-2007 Socket AM
2007-2008 Socket AM2+


2000-2001 Socket 423
2001 Socket 478 100mhz
2001-2002 Socket 478 133mhz
2002-2004 Socket 478 200mhz
2004-2008 Socket 775
2006-2008 Socket 775 Core2 support


AMD and Intel have the same record.

You're a little off.

Lets take the Core 2 LGA 775.

1. x9xx series for support up to 1066 FSB CPUs
2. x3x seres for 1333 FSB CPUs
3. x48 and later series for 1600 FSB CPUs

Since AMD boards don't have a separate chip for the memory on the board, a simple BIOS update will allow for an upgrade.

Intel should be the same as AMD from Nahalem on.
 

X1REME

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
AMD Phenom FX - Yorkfield/? Beater

this was the first post on the cpu below (awesome check it - dated from 21st aug 2008)
http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17910794&page=1

the motherboards that support it it that i found in one search
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MB-016-FC

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp...770 (Socket AM2) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard


the phenom 65nm has reached 4+ghz by a German over clocker (currently amd record for quad core) so wont be a problem for 45nm deneb :toast:
 
Last edited:

ascstinger

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
544 (0.11/day)
Location
In a house
System Name F34R T3H 0R4NG3
Processor AMD Phenom II 945
Motherboard DFI DK 790gx LP JR
Cooling Scythe Mugen II
Memory G.SKILL Trident 4GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX260 Core216 55nm
Storage Western Digital 80gb Vraptor
Display(s) Westinghouse 19" LCD
Case Antec Mini P180 Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard :/
Power Supply Antec Signature Series 650w
Software Vista x64 SP2
maybe amd learned their lesson from the first rushed phenom launch and is taking their time to publish any big figures until they can back them up, as well as make sure they are bug free
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.08/day)
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
i think they planed the whole thing.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (1.69/day)
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
could it be possible that amd is pulling a fast one...atleast i can hope thats the way they're going...after all remember the 4800s being compared to the g92s...when in actuality they were much better...another aim low but actually high....kind of deceptive but i can respect that...

and for all you nehalem fanboi's nehalem is really a multithreaded beast i want it, but i am tired of changing intel boards....i only have one/two amd leftover board and that is the k7n2 delta series from msi, and the k8neo plat for 939...with intel however i have 4 socket 775 boards....it just sucks that a same socket board cant support a cpu with the same structure layout.

back to topic, the 4850 especially did a killing and now its just a matter of time before the 4850 x2 does the same, so my question to those who dont think it can be done.....

why cant it? last i check the p4s were high clocked resource hogs(power) with diminishing returns....

I was thinking that too! I thought they would aim super low, so if they failed, oh well, but if it is good, OMG AMD is king. We will see.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.63/day)
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
i think they planed the whole thing.

And laying off half of their workforce was part of the plan?
I'm an AMD Fanboi, but I don't think they had this ace up their sleeve the whole time.
 

X1REME

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
i think they planed the whole thing.

you are 100% right on coz they are doing the same as they did with their video cards but with the cpu they are making sure the backbone is there first (the motherboards) simple
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.08/day)
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
Guys i was actually kidding, being sarcastic. I don't really think they planned the whole thing...but i do think they are going to try and keep this as confidential as they can until its released.
 

X1REME

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Guys i was actually kidding, being sarcastic. I don't really think they planned the whole thing...but i do think they are going to try and keep this as confidential as they can until its released.

wow u r right again lol coz they have learned not to underestimate mighty Intel ever again (as most sites were saying amd does not know what is coming e.g. i7), which is a good thing
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.49/day)
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
whats the launch price, where are they, wher eis a true review
 

X1REME

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
i suppose the point is, does intel have an ace. which might be the reason amd is keeping it hush hush

Also, we should not forget that AMD constantly lives with the dilemma that it is out-resourced and out-spent in comparison with Intel. If it reveals too much about its future strategy and Intel likes that strategy there is at least the theoretical chance that Intel could take this idea and deliver a product even before AMD. This was probably a key reason for the company to switch its entire communications strategy and remain completely quiet about a new product until it exactly knows its specs and capabilities – and is convinced that Nvidia or Intel can’t beat it to market anymore.:banghead:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.63/day)
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
i suppose the point is, does intel have an ace. which might be the reason amd is keeping it hush hush

Also, we should not forget that AMD constantly lives with the dilemma that it is out-resourced and out-spent in comparison with Intel. If it reveals too much about its future strategy and Intel likes that strategy there is at least the theoretical chance that Intel could take this idea and deliver a product even before AMD. This was probably a key reason for the company to switch its entire communications strategy and remain completely quiet about a new product until it exactly knows its specs and capabilities – and is convinced that Nvidia or Intel can’t beat it to market anymore.:banghead:

You make it sound like they're actually at WAR with eachother, why doesn't an AMD rep just go infiltrate and suicide bomb an intel tech center? :laugh:
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
41,303 (8.25/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
THOSE PESKY GERMANS!

What does this have to do with Germans? :confused:

You have AMD's fab in Dresden, but technology centers all over, HQ in California, US.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,813 (1.98/day)
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Pandemic 2020
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 "Gen 2" 2600X
Motherboard AsRock X470 Killer Promontory
Cooling CoolerMaster 240 RGB Master Cooler (Newegg Eggxpert)
Memory 32 GB Geil EVO Portenza DDR4 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon RX 580 DirectX 12 DUAL-RX580-O8G 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video C
Storage WD 250 M.2, Corsair P500 M.2, OCZ Trion 500, WD Black 1TB, Assorted others.
Display(s) ASUS MG24UQ Gaming Monitor - 23.6" 4K UHD (3840x2160) , IPS, Adaptive Sync, DisplayWidget
Case Fractal Define R6 C
Audio Device(s) Realtek 5.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RMX 850 Platinum PSU (Newegg Eggxpert)
Mouse Razer Death Adder
Keyboard Corsair K95 Mechanical & Corsair K65 Wired, Wireless, Bluetooth)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Interesting arguements but the fact is, we dont know enough about these chips to make any concrete points. Its all speculation. It sure seems to me that AMD might have something coming, though who's to say how awesome it will be. It has to be something else to differentiate between us (AMD) and them (inTel) since Intel is now a steroid A64 :D
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,871 (0.77/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
thats kinda an odd argument

AMD and Intel have the same record.

You did have to buy new chipsets to support newer intel CPUs along the way, though :)
edit: nvm, that was redundant haha


I'm going to say with almost certainty that this 4 ghz (stock) deneb is 100% bull. It's not really possible considering the materials used haven't changed. Bulldozer could be another story.
 
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
667 (0.14/day)
i love AMD, but do you guys really believe any AMD chip will come stock @ 4ghz? that's just ridiculous to believe in. i mean the world record for highest OC on any AMD chip, ever is 4.2ghz, and you expect 4ghz stock on 4 cores?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
41,303 (8.25/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
How many 45nm AMD chips did you see reach that 4.20 GHz mark before?
 

X1REME

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
You did have to buy new chipsets to support newer intel CPUs along the way, though :)
edit: nvm, that was redundant haha


I'm going to say with almost certainty that this 4 ghz (stock) deneb is 100% bull. It's not really possible considering the materials used haven't changed. Bulldozer could be another story.

i think your forgetting this is not k10 but k10.5 (hah). amd had more than enough time to come up with a totally new? say K11 or whatever but for some reason they stayed with the k10.5, why? because its 45nm with steroids and a combination of leading edge technologies, such as immersion lithography and AMD’s 4th generation of strained-silicon, plus high-k metal gate transistors could have or will be used very shortly co developed with IBM. we have learned one think and that is amd says its for the low end but recently even there low end beats the crap out of high end (well in gpu anyway)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,248 (1.09/day)
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow, sound's go to amd now , like we see new intel cpu not support high overclock , now amd give as high overclock cpu , score to amd , that's is what we waiting for , we wait too long amd but thanx to give us something we deserve
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
4,359 (0.82/day)
Location
Hurst, Texas
System Name The86
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard ASROCKS B450 Steel Legend
Cooling AMD Stealth
Memory 2x8gb DDR4 3200 Corsair
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070
Storage WD Black 512gb, WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) HP 27in
Case Raidmax Alpha Prime
Power Supply 700W Thermaltake Smart
Mouse Logitech Mx510
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2012
Software Windows 10 Professional
I could see 45nm stock 4ghz chips, its not hard to actully belive, what i want to know is this, what ace does intel have to counter this?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (4.52/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
I don't believe this for a second. In fact, I don't believe either of the claims.

I'm willing to bet they will not launch at 4+GHz, and I'm especially willing to bet they don't beat a 5GHz Intel quad at those speeds.

K10 is slower than Core2 clock for clock, a die shrink and a few tweaks isn't gonna suddenly make them faster than the Intels. Maybe they can come closer, perhaps even match kentsfield, but they aren't gonna beat Intel in overall performance.

Then you have to factor in i7.

I say this is FUD.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,654 (0.97/day)
Location
Multidimensional
System Name PC Mustard Race
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 I Aorus Pro Wifi
Cooling Wraith Stealth Cooler + 4 120mm InWin fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro SL 32GB DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3060Ti 8GB Stock
Storage 1TB WD SN750 M.2 + 2TB Samsung 2.5in HDD
Display(s) AOC 1080p 144Hz Freesync Monitor
Case Inwin A1 Mini Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek Digital Audio
Power Supply InWin 650W Gold PSU
Mouse Logitech Lightsync Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Wireless Corsair K57 Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Don't do em anymore.
this better true, i hope amd starts owning again!
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
4,359 (0.82/day)
Location
Hurst, Texas
System Name The86
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard ASROCKS B450 Steel Legend
Cooling AMD Stealth
Memory 2x8gb DDR4 3200 Corsair
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070
Storage WD Black 512gb, WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) HP 27in
Case Raidmax Alpha Prime
Power Supply 700W Thermaltake Smart
Mouse Logitech Mx510
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow 2012
Software Windows 10 Professional
I don't believe this for a second. In fact, I don't believe either of the claims.

I'm willing to bet they will not launch at 4+GHz, and I'm especially willing to bet they don't beat a 5GHz Intel quad at those speeds.

K10 is slower than Core2 clock for clock, a die shrink and a few tweaks isn't gonna suddenly make them faster than the Intels. Maybe they can come closer, perhaps even match kentsfield, but they aren't gonna beat Intel in overall performance.

Then you have to factor in i7.

I say this is FUD.

no telling what all they did to deneb though ya know
 
Top