1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom FX in the Works, AMD to take Another shot at...Kentsfield

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,178 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,851
    Thanks Melvis.... i appreciate that man... AMD all the way.... sorry i just hate to see them loose in the cpu department.... god only knows they pulled there sh^t together with there new GPU's against Nvidia:D
     
  2. blueskynis

    blueskynis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    You guys filled my mail! :rolleyes:
     
  3. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,077 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,155
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    No thats not the entire story by any means, if you put that much L2 cache on an AMD it would make little or no difference, they are completely different architectures that require completely different parameters, AMD's architecture does not need the extra L2 where as Intels is enhanced by it, I suppose my point is, the extra L2 in itself does not make the gains clock for clock between the 2 architectures, it;s the efficiency within those architectures that determine the speed, for example, AMD is/always has been very strong on floating point calculations and memory intensive processes (AKA on Die mem controller), Intel is much stronger on arithmatic blah blah.......SceinceMark 2 sees the two of them more closely matched clock for clock as that bench tests memory and various CPU calculations.

    Sorry long winded answer to a very small point! :eek:

    One last point, you say, AMD's architecture is more advanced, that could be true, however, it means nothing if it cant compete, and sadly, across the board it cant compete.....now before you think it (if you havent already!) I was brought up on AMD, I love AMD and I will always go back to them.....when they become more competative.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, no problem. I love running benchmarks. it's fun to see how different setups compare.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,195 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Location:
    Australia
    Thats still half the time of what mine can do, and its good to know it uses all 4 cores, not like half the games out still that only use one still =/ (Supreme Commander) Silly design in that game.

    good stuff man ;)
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,178 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,851
    ganging the memory while concerting a dvd file takes around(dont hald me to this) but around 12min's longer compared to unganing it... that's the one thing i love abought this 9850 @ 3.15GHz 24/7.... as now the new bios came out..... heck 3.05 was hard to keep stable on the 0801 bios.... Asus made a huge improvement on there new bios to let me clock that for a 24/7 system.... i however am still testing at higher multi with lower fsb's and 1066mhz setting mode for memory.... tests are showing better performance day by day...:toast:
     
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Go into your User CP for this site, go to Edit Options, scroll down to Default Thread Subscription mode, and change it to not email you when somebody posts in one of your subscribed threads.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,178 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,851
    yeah i hear ya man.... i down core in GOW to 2 cores just to save the power that im otherwise wasting while playing..... i had a 6400 clocked out to 3.5GHz and she didn't even come close to converting movies like this Phenom does....ahh let there be light at the end of the tunnel for the 45nm fx processors.....;)
     
  9. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,195 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Location:
    Australia
    Know Problem dude, ill go AMD for a long time, but lets say in 5yrs time they still havent got ontop of things, i might go intel =/

    But time will tell, they have done it b4 ;)
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,178 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,851
    Wile your pix is like a bloody eye magnet every time i see it!!!! it's like staring at me every time i see a post from ya lol....
     
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,178 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,851
    umm 5yrs? i doubt it.... give it mabey 8 months lol.... but who know's.... im AMD all the way... cheers mate.... off to bed...-out-:pimp:
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I really hope AMD does pull a rabbit out of their hat with Deneb. But overall, I think we may have to wait for K11 (or whatever the next architecture is called) for there to be a significant shift in performance.

    Let it be known, I am not an Intel fanboy. I will switch back to AMD the instant they take the OCed performance lead. (Actually, I still have an AMD rig with a 6400+ in it. I just wish the damn board supported Phenom. :( )
     
    Tatty_One says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. blueskynis

    blueskynis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    Fudzilla said Deneb will be K11, I think?
     
  14. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,195 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Location:
    Australia
    Yea thats all true to, but i think having a bigger amount of Cache is a advantage, no matter what, like the old days, were 1MB of L2 cache was huge on a CPU, like mine < it gave a good boost in games mainly, but also a few other things. Im not worried about higher clock speeds, i just want to see a AMD vs a intel with the same amount of Cache and see what happens?at the same clock speeds, because at this time there is no comparison?
    But agreed that AMD is a bit slow in a few other areas, AM2 was not a big leap from the old 939 at all =/ shame tho, just like to see the new 45nm ones with the CPU's of intel today, i think it might be interesting to see ;)
     
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,103 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,885
    Location:
    Ohio
    yeah AM2 was just 939 with DDR2 support
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I meant the next major arch change, not just a "tweak and shrink"™.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    750 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    My argument against this comparison is the 12MB cache vs 2MB, which does make quite a large difference. Also, the current intel quads are 45nm, and AMD are 65nm, so forgive me in my lack of updating my brain as to the new 45nm vs 65nm previous gen. and nothing I've seen so far has come straight from AMD, so I went to AMD myself and checked out the press releases. the 45nm quad cores are set to start at 2.8, 3.0, 3.2 and so on. with a TDP rating UP TO 125 watts @ 3.2GHz.

    Edit: also, according to AMD's site, the die shrink will in fact reduce power consumption and allow for better power management and usuage. This contradicts Xbit labs "prediction" as they have said themselves, merely a prediction, no supporting evidence.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2008
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  18. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,195 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Location:
    Australia
    LOL yea ok yea, i hope these 45nm ones will do well, i think they will match it with what intel has now, just not sure for how long after that. Righto dude, catcha:)
     
  19. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,195 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Location:
    Australia
    yea it be nice to see AMD to match it with intel again, just for us, you know, bring the dam price down a bit , hello, those high end quads of intel are OMG expensive :(

    What mobo you using with the 6400? O ris it only the AM2+ that take Quads?
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Some AM2 boards can take Quads, it depends on the size of the BIOS chip the manufacturer put on the board, and whether or not they choose to support it.

    As for my board, it's a DFI NF UltraII M2. They aren't supporting Phenom on it. Don't know if it's a bios limitation, or their choice tho.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    AMD has 2MB of L2 and 2MB of L3, for a total of 4MB. I still don't see cache being the deciding factor here.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,195 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Location:
    Australia
    YAY i have someone on my side LOL :D
     
  23. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    750 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    its not shared L2, its dedicated native to each core hence 4x512k, unlike Intel. just the like the 9800gx2 is 2x512mb 2x256bit.
     
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19,077 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,155
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Do you not think that AMD would bolt on extra L2 memory if it would bolster their performance to any degree?.....of course they would, it would pay for itself in a month because so many more people would buy AMD if they were competative....no, as I said, the architecture, unlike Intels would benefit little, AMD can swop out the L2 so much quicker than Intel so it dont need the huge amount's Intel does.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Well, Kentsfield doesn't have a fully shared L2 either, but it beats the Phenom in most test, and Phenom has the shared L3 to it's advantage vs those cpus.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)