1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II 940 black box edition BIOS

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by burgie1, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. burgie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    florida
    Hey there....

    Just want to know if you have to do bios update and if so how and where...
    Never done one before and someone said I should. Just got this cpu with ASUS M4A79 Deluxe and still new at this stuff...but it seems to hang sometimes and crash when I play high end games..BF2142 and left4dead. Not all the time but sometimes...also when i do multiply applications at one time. Just thought it would be faster and better than my last pc. Have a pny9600gt and 3x1gb corsair ram

    anyway...thanks for the help...
     
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,007 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,741
    Please fill in system specs so we know everything that's in this system. To me it sounds like your Power Supply is crap.
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,643
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    9600GT isn't that powerful at higher resolutions. What resolution are you playing on? I'm having to use an 8800GTS G80 right now which is very similar to a 9600GT and it's not that great at anything higher than 1680x1050. Lags a lot in L4D and Stalker.
     
  4. burgie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    florida
    AMD phenom II x4 940 processor
    ASUS M4A79 Delux motherboard
    3 x 1Gb corsair ddr2 Ram
    1x Geforce 9600gt (PNY)
    SB X-Fi Audio[BCOO]
    650w Antec earthwatts
    Windows xp pro 32bit service pack 3
     
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,007 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,741
    Antec is a pretty trustworthy brand. I would go and grab UBCD, http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/, burn the iso to cd, and boot off of it. Run a HD test like Seatools and run a few passes of Memtest.
     
  6. burgie1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    florida
    thanks...will take a look....
    appreciate the help...will take a look when I get home tonight. hopefully things work out
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)