• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Phenom II 940 black box edition BIOS

burgie1

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
florida
#1
Hey there....

Just want to know if you have to do bios update and if so how and where...
Never done one before and someone said I should. Just got this cpu with ASUS M4A79 Deluxe and still new at this stuff...but it seems to hang sometimes and crash when I play high end games..BF2142 and left4dead. Not all the time but sometimes...also when i do multiply applications at one time. Just thought it would be faster and better than my last pc. Have a pny9600gt and 3x1gb corsair ram

anyway...thanks for the help...
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,046 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,782
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#2
Please fill in system specs so we know everything that's in this system. To me it sounds like your Power Supply is crap.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.65/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#3
9600GT isn't that powerful at higher resolutions. What resolution are you playing on? I'm having to use an 8800GTS G80 right now which is very similar to a 9600GT and it's not that great at anything higher than 1680x1050. Lags a lot in L4D and Stalker.
 

burgie1

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
florida
#4
AMD phenom II x4 940 processor
ASUS M4A79 Delux motherboard
3 x 1Gb corsair ddr2 Ram
1x Geforce 9600gt (PNY)
SB X-Fi Audio[BCOO]
650w Antec earthwatts
Windows xp pro 32bit service pack 3
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,046 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,782
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#5
Antec is a pretty trustworthy brand. I would go and grab UBCD, http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/, burn the iso to cd, and boot off of it. Run a HD test like Seatools and run a few passes of Memtest.
 

burgie1

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2009
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
florida
#6
thanks...will take a look....
appreciate the help...will take a look when I get home tonight. hopefully things work out