• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II AM3 Plagued with DDR3-1333 Issue

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,491 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,517
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
Barely a week into the introduction of the DDR3-supportive AM3 socket CPUs, the processors seem to be having design flaws. This, as circulated by AMD in its revision guide document for the 10h family of processors (found here, page 80). The issue, as described by AMD, centers around the DDR3 memory sub-system. On machines with more than one PC3-10600 (1333 MHz) memory module populating a memory channel, the users may experience unreliable operation. The company does not get into the specifics of the symptoms. This issue however, does not affect systems with a module per channel (one or two modules installed in the motherboard), and only those with three to four modules installed.

The AMD K10 memory controllers on AM3-socket processor provide a 128-bit wide memory interface (with DRAM Ganged mode enabled), which amount to two 64-bit wide memory channels. On most motherboards, four DIMM slots with two slots sharing a memory channel are present. With this issue, one is not recommended to use more than one DDR3-1333 memory module per channel. AMD recommends a quick fix for the issue for systems using more than one DDR3-1333 module per memory channel: to manually specify the memory to run at 533 MHz (1066 MHz DDR), and accordingly set DRAM timings. As a little compensation, one can tighten DRAM timings with the drop in frequency. AMD will fix this issue in the next stepping (sub-version) of the CPUs. The "x-factor" with this erratum revolves around DRAM voltage, a significant factor. One might note AMD saying "the processor memory subsystem may exhibit unreliable operation over the allowable VDDIO voltage range", which leads us to think if there is a potential workaround with adjusting the DRAM voltage beyond the allowable range (read: over-volting the memory). We hope to hear more from AMD on this.

UPDATE (02/13): AMD replied to the report, saying that work is in progress toward fixing the issue. While not getting into the specifics, AMD indicated to us that apart from addressing the issue, the company is also working toward something "which will make you ‘feel cozy’ about the DDR3 support". The statement is ambiguous, and is best left uninterpreted at this point in time.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
207 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
Location
Richmond,VA
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FX-GD80 v2
Cooling Hyper 212 evo
Memory 16gb G.Skill 1866 8-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7950
Storage Samsung 512GB 850 Pro SSD ; 3 x 1TB Seagate Drives Standalone
Display(s) Twin Dell E2215H
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Power Supply Seasonic 850X Full Modular
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#2
AMD is struggling to compete with intel and now they are having these problems? What happened to AMD? I remember my first PC opteron 170 @ 2.8ghz used to scream. Its like their engineering has just gave up.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#3
this is going to suck for ppl that have been waiting to go to DDR3 with AMD cuz there going to want DDR3 for high frequency
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
207 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
Location
Richmond,VA
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FX-GD80 v2
Cooling Hyper 212 evo
Memory 16gb G.Skill 1866 8-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7950
Storage Samsung 512GB 850 Pro SSD ; 3 x 1TB Seagate Drives Standalone
Display(s) Twin Dell E2215H
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Power Supply Seasonic 850X Full Modular
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#4
this is going to suck for everybody, if AMD can't compete it will drive prices up for everybody.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#5
Qx9770 :confused:

your talking about prices :roll:

but im sure there on it already with a new steping
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.60/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#6
Well, guess I'm buying an Intel again until the new steppings. Was sooo excited for the 925 tooo :(
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,428 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,944
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#10
Its amazing I have DDR3 issues just like AMD. My problem is I cant afford DDR3.
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.60/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#11
Unless you need >4GB (2x 2GB) of memory, this issue won't affect you.
I will soon, besides...if it doesn't work the way it's meant too...I'm not spending $230+ on it..
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
207 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
Location
Richmond,VA
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FX-GD80 v2
Cooling Hyper 212 evo
Memory 16gb G.Skill 1866 8-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7950
Storage Samsung 512GB 850 Pro SSD ; 3 x 1TB Seagate Drives Standalone
Display(s) Twin Dell E2215H
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Power Supply Seasonic 850X Full Modular
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#12
Qx9770 :confused:

your talking about prices :roll:

but im sure there on it already with a new steping
The 9770 was handed down to me, you honestly didn't think......:laugh:
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,162 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#13

mtosev

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
1,462 (0.31/day)
Likes
144
Location
Maribor, Slovenia
Processor Core i7 930
Motherboard Asus P6X58D Premium
Memory 6gb SuperTalent WB200UX6G8
Video Card(s) xfx radeon hd 5970 black edition
Storage Intel X25-M 80
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2209wa
Case Haf 932
Audio Device(s) Integreted sound card
Software w7
#14
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#15
not again AMD.:mad::banghead::banghead: Why can't you shut up, not blow your trumpet :slap: and get back to the works to bring a real CPU? Why do you want to shoot yourself twice?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
This sucks, kind of defeats the purpose of moving to DDR3 if you have to run it at DDR2 speeds.

I'd still consider one of these, their DDR2 performance is more than enough to justify buying one to me. Though, as already stated, perhaps a simple over-volt will solve the issue.
 
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
3,318 (0.94/day)
Likes
301
Processor Intel i5-3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock LGA1155 Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Cooler Master Evo 212
Memory 16GB (4X4) G.Skill Ripjaw 2 DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Nvidia gForce GTX 660ti
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 256GB 6Gb/s, 1x WD 500GB 6Gb/s, 1x WD 80GB 3Gb/s
Display(s) ASUS VH242H Black + 2 HP 2311x 23" LED
Case Fractal Design R4
Audio Device(s) Realtek OnBoard Both
Power Supply Cooler Master 850w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
#17
When I rebuild my next system(Damn College Funds!!:banghead:) I will be going INTEL. I am not going to wait for AMD to come out with some good hardware. There 2 years behind Intel and they need to get there work together and start putting out some good stuff. Come on they can't even put a freakin Phenom with DDR3 memory? I rather have a faster chip with DDR2.

I officially announce today I am going full Intel!!:D
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#18

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.45/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#19
I'm glad I didn't go ddr3, i figured that something like this might happen, DDR2 FTW!
Not that this is a huge problem for most people, but I think I'll wait till they get all the kinks worked out of it.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
#20
Seriously, though. How many of you are going to afford 8GB ddr3 memory? Perhaps by the time that would be a reasonable purchase (pricewise and necessity wise), one could buy 2x4GB ram modules and there is your 8GB. Also, I wouldn't be surprised if they find a way around this with bios updates for the motherboards.

If there is one thing I've learned from running two AMD machines with all DIMM slots filled, it is to not do that again. And so I certainly don't care about this.

Edit: also remember that most of the current gen Phenoms allow for DDR2 1066mhz memory modules. However, when you populate all four DIMM slots, you usually cannot keep that option and must run them at 800mhz. The solution is to up the reference clock until you get the modules back at 1066 and problem solved. I don't hear too many complaints about that. And I'm pretty sure it will be the same with Phenom II.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.60/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#21
Meh DDR2 is still more than fast enough. Kinda sad to see there is a problem with DDR3. I'm sure they will get a revision out like they did with the TLB 9600/9500.
And seriously, it says they are gonna fix it. How many retail DDR3 boards and CPU's are even out yet? Jump to conclusions why don't you..
 
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
3,318 (0.94/day)
Likes
301
Processor Intel i5-3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock LGA1155 Z77 Extreme 4
Cooling Cooler Master Evo 212
Memory 16GB (4X4) G.Skill Ripjaw 2 DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Nvidia gForce GTX 660ti
Storage 1x Samsung 840 EVO 256GB 6Gb/s, 1x WD 500GB 6Gb/s, 1x WD 80GB 3Gb/s
Display(s) ASUS VH242H Black + 2 HP 2311x 23" LED
Case Fractal Design R4
Audio Device(s) Realtek OnBoard Both
Power Supply Cooler Master 850w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
#22
Yeah that's a good idea. let's turn this into a fanboy war. :rolleyes:
lol, well better watch what you say, don't want a MOD to come in here and start swinging the ban stick.
 

Jakl

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
515 (0.15/day)
Likes
50
Location
Home
System Name AMD Fun Rig | Intel Lil' Gaming Rig
Processor 720BE x4 3.4ghz 1.375v | E8400 4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 790FXT-UD5P | eVGA 780i
Cooling Scythe Mugen | TRUE
Memory G.Skill 2x2gb 1600 | 4x1gb Crucial 800
Video Card(s) ATI 3870 | eVGA 9800GTX
Storage 1TB Seagate | 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 24" ASUS VK246H | 28" Acer LCD TV | 40" Sony V4100
Case Lian Li | Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X | Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake 1200W | PC Silencer 750
Software Win7 64
#23
:cry:

Why AMD!!! Why!?!?!

:banghead:

There are pushed back again
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.38/day)
Likes
184
Location
Hyderabad,India
Processor AMD x2 4000+
Motherboard Jetway M2A692 GDG
Memory 1 Gb transcend Ram DDR2 667
Video Card(s) IGP ATI x1200
Storage Hitachi 160 Gb
Display(s) LG 17" CRT Flatron E700S
Case Zebronics Sivaji
Power Supply 450W
#25
lol, well better watch what you say, don't want a MOD to come in here and start swinging the ban stick.
Yes ban the use of the word Intel.(evil intel)
The proccy the must not be named.