1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II owners - I want to see your temps

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by johnnyfiive, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I want to SEE Phenom II owner's temps. I want screenshots. I want to compare water to air. I want to know what REAL temps people have. Use OCCT to stress, use HWMonitor to display temps and voltage(s). Take a screenshot of your idle and full load temps with CPU-Z proof of your core speed. I think a lot of people are curious about the actual temps people have. I see people's post saying their temps are 20-30's idle and low 40's on air with 1.4+vcore and 600MHz+ overclocks. I don't believe it one bit! Especially users that have 125w Phenom II's!

    I have a water setup with a 3x120 radiator and 2,000RPM 83CFM 120mmx38mm fans and my idle is 29C and load is 43-44C at 3.5GHz which requires 1.4v. If people are getting the same temps I have on air, with 125w Phenom II's, I'm going to kick a big ass hole in my radiator and throw my water setup in the trash. :D
     
  2. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    i guess i can do 1 run for you
     
  3. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,070 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    791
    Location:
    Texas
    These are old...I have better temps now that I have revised some cooling...but here is a thread with my various temps at different voltages, all with a Scythe Mugen 2 CPU cooler. I will have more temps to post when I get home (2-3 hours).

    Linkage -----> http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=90289

    Edit: I think the temps people keep referring to (20-30c idle) is the socket temp...not the core temp. There was massive confusion with the DFI boards when they first launched because the included utility only read the socket temp, not the core temp.

    Edit 2: My new temps will upset you. I am idling at 32c and loading at 48c. 3800Mhz @ 1.45v -- I will post screens when I get home. I would think your H20 rig would keep load temps closer to idle temps. What all are you cooling?? Just CPU or your vid cards too?
     
  4. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    Usually runs about 19c but not today lol. This is the non OCCT tested values.
    [​IMG]

    This is the OCCT tested values, tested on HIGH.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    ALT + PRINT SCREEN and Paint.net used to create screen shots.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,143
    I've never had an AMD chip that correctly displayed the core temps. My CPU socket temp (CPU Temp) is around 30c.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Kierean, WOW. Those are very nice temps. 50-60F in Scottland right now according to Weather.com, I'm guessing your ambient temp is in the low 70's? My ambient temp is 78-80F, outside temps being 95F+ easily. So that seems about right. I was hitting low 20C's with my water setup during the winter here in Tucson when it was around 45-50C outside and 60C or so inside.
     
  7. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    well mine has a mobo debug led that displays temps so i know mine is fine for reading temps
     
  8. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I'm cooling just the CPU. Your temps are dammmmn good. I can't believe the temps are THAT close between water and air. Hrmm, wth. What is your ambient temp?
     
  9. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    OCCT large data set isn't a full load test. Try linpack for a true meltdown.
     
  10. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,070 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    791
    Location:
    Texas

    I have a temp monitor mounted outside the case...It reads anywhere from 25-27c. I will post some fresh screenies when I get to the house. The Mugen 2 cooler is amazing. With that radiator, just cooling you cpu, I think you should be getting much better temps.
     
  11. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Dang, the same as me then. Hell, maybe my radiator just sucks.... wth.
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    This is running stock settings because it's 34c in my room right now and everything in my rig hot.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    thats a nice CPU temp for 34C ambient. Excellent!
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    XIGMATEK :rockout:
     
  15. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    DAMMMNNN Shadow, 90F+!!! How can you even want to be sitting at a PC with the temp that high in your room.. too hot!
     
  16. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,070 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    791
    Location:
    Texas
    This is after 2 3DMark06 runs and 2 Vantage runs.

    http://img.techpowerup.org/090624/06-24-09 Temps.jpg

    Hope this helps you out.

    Edit: TPU apparently did not like that link...here you go. [​IMG]

    Edit 2: Rebooting now to give it a little more voltage for comparison. BRB :D
     
  17. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    So it hit 51C and had an idle of 32C, that is damn good for air.
     
  18. MilkyWay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,190 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    733
    my rig is actually pretty good for temps, i do get the feeling that my case fans are running low and there is no way to change them they run at constant speed apart from a hardmod of some kind

    in glasgow it was like 19c today pretty decent for us its usually windy and cold or raining or a combination meaning good temps for rigs lol bad temps for humans

    i usually get lik2 19-21c for normal temps no load then anything up to 40c mainly hovers about 35c, that led on the mobo is handy i can just creak down to see it
     
  19. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,070 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    791
    Location:
    Texas
    Here it is at 1.456v at 3760Mhz. Video cards are still stock, because I was just testing CPU temps so please excuse the semi-low 3DMark score :p

    [​IMG]
     
  20. daragez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    155 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    very nice temp!....awesome!....excellent!...
     
  21. crunchie

    crunchie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
    Here is one at stock for you.
    occt.jpg

    220 rad with coolermaster 90cfm's. 4870 in the same loop. All inside the case. 20C ambient.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. crunchie

    crunchie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
    Here is another at 3600Mhz.
    OCCT.jpg
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. bboy-mass New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    146 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Check the enclosed file for my M3A79-T DELUXE setup running a PII 940BE at 3.6G and Nvidia GTX295 with 4GIG Corsair Memory.

    Nice temps for a 3.6G OC on full load using a Zalman 9700 (Green LED) at 40% speed.

    Hope you like.

    R.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Those temps look solid as well. Now I feel I'm seeing some temps that make sense. Thanks for posting these up fellas.
     
  25. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,897 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    878
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I guess the TIM is settled, load temps don't go passed 41.7C. 3.5GHz, 1.46v, 25% (700MHz) OC.

    IDLE
    [​IMG]

    LOAD
    [​IMG]
     
  26. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    jesus those are some good temps... I need to get OCCT setup today so I can see what mine does. AMD overdrive is showing like 41C idle... and I have no idea if that is right. I have a Noctua U12P which are nearly as good as the Xiggy's.
     
  27. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,070 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    791
    Location:
    Texas
  28. crunchie

    crunchie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    110 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
    My set up is about 15C difference.
     
    JATownes says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  29. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,070 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    791
    Location:
    Texas
    That apparently means I was seriously mistaken. Just goes to show no matter how long you do this, you are never to old to learn something new. Thanks.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)