• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Phenom II X3 720 BE + Gigabyte MA790FXT UD5P

Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
System Name My PC
Processor Phenom II 720BE @X4 - 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling HSPC H20
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ PC12800 7-6-6-20-1T
Video Card(s) nVidia 9600GT Armor Edition
Storage 2 x WD 250GB - Raid O
Display(s) Acer AL2016W
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600W StealthXtreme
Software Windows 7057 X64
#1
Setup used...

* AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE (1.3V VID)
* Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
* 2 x 1GB 1333Mhz DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24

Bit more stable with the F4D bios, but still playing...

3.7Ghz on 1.45V



Everest Memory and Cache Bench

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#2
That's awesome! These chips sound really nice. You having any issues with 1333mhz?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
System Name My PC
Processor Phenom II 720BE @X4 - 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling HSPC H20
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ PC12800 7-6-6-20-1T
Video Card(s) nVidia 9600GT Armor Edition
Storage 2 x WD 250GB - Raid O
Display(s) Acer AL2016W
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600W StealthXtreme
Software Windows 7057 X64
#3
None at all, keeping the "bus" at 200mhz so 1333Mhz memory is fine :)

Upped the Dimm voltage from 1.6V to 1.8V and managed to tighten the timings to 8-8-8-18
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#4
Awesome. Have you tried any higher clocks on the RAM?
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#5
Where's your errata now AMD?! :laugh: Nice OC man!! Keep posting progress! :)
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
System Name My PC
Processor Phenom II 720BE @X4 - 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling HSPC H20
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ PC12800 7-6-6-20-1T
Video Card(s) nVidia 9600GT Armor Edition
Storage 2 x WD 250GB - Raid O
Display(s) Acer AL2016W
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600W StealthXtreme
Software Windows 7057 X64
#6
Added some Everest results to the first post
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
System Name My PC
Processor Phenom II 720BE @X4 - 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling HSPC H20
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ PC12800 7-6-6-20-1T
Video Card(s) nVidia 9600GT Armor Edition
Storage 2 x WD 250GB - Raid O
Display(s) Acer AL2016W
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600W StealthXtreme
Software Windows 7057 X64
#7
Have you tried any higher clocks on the RAM?
Best I can get is 1600Mhz @ 10-8-8-22-33 @ 1.8V

I've got some heat spreaders on the modules, what would be max voltage for DDR3, taking in account these are rated at 1.5V
 

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
#8
Nice dude, do a quick Wprime run .
I got my eye on that board, it looks so sweet.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
3,503 (0.96/day)
Likes
428
System Name Xazax
Processor 6700k
Motherboard ASrock Fatal1ty z170
Cooling H240X
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800mhz
Video Card(s) Gtx 980ti
Storage 1TB Mushkin
Display(s) ASUS PG27 G-sync
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Corsair 1500w Digital
Keyboard Patriot Viper
Software Windows 10
#9
Whats with those speeds man? that write is terrible, i have a 5000+ BE ATM and when i clock 250HT (1000mhz memory) 4-4-4-12 i get about 9.5mb/s write/copy/read
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
System Name My PC
Processor Phenom II 720BE @X4 - 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling HSPC H20
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ PC12800 7-6-6-20-1T
Video Card(s) nVidia 9600GT Armor Edition
Storage 2 x WD 250GB - Raid O
Display(s) Acer AL2016W
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600W StealthXtreme
Software Windows 7057 X64
#10

3dsage

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,797 (0.54/day)
Likes
328
Location
NW Burbs of Chicago
System Name *5GHZ_STAR*
Processor Core i5 2500K 5GHZ 24/7 1.38Vcore
Motherboard Asrock P67 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe SCMG-2100 REV. B
Memory 2x2GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1600 CL7
Video Card(s) 4850 XFIRE
Storage 500GB + 1TB NAS
Display(s) I-INC 28" LCD 1920x1200
Case Antec P180
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 TRX-650
Software Seven Ultimate 64-bit
#11
Prob cause he's clocking with the Multi, I bet if he turned up his HT/NB to around 250, the Write speed will shoot up.


@Keenan
Use Version 2, http://www.wprime.net/
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
System Name My PC
Processor Phenom II 720BE @X4 - 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling HSPC H20
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ PC12800 7-6-6-20-1T
Video Card(s) nVidia 9600GT Armor Edition
Storage 2 x WD 250GB - Raid O
Display(s) Acer AL2016W
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600W StealthXtreme
Software Windows 7057 X64
#12
Whats with those speeds man? that write is terrible, i have a 5000+ BE ATM and when i clock 250HT (1000mhz memory) 4-4-4-12 i get about 9.5mb/s write/copy/read

1000Mhz @ 4-4-4-12 is much better then 1600Mhz @ 10-8-8-22
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
System Name My PC
Processor Phenom II 720BE @X4 - 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling HSPC H20
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ PC12800 7-6-6-20-1T
Video Card(s) nVidia 9600GT Armor Edition
Storage 2 x WD 250GB - Raid O
Display(s) Acer AL2016W
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600W StealthXtreme
Software Windows 7057 X64
#13
Wprime 32M Run

12.884 sec
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
3,503 (0.96/day)
Likes
428
System Name Xazax
Processor 6700k
Motherboard ASrock Fatal1ty z170
Cooling H240X
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800mhz
Video Card(s) Gtx 980ti
Storage 1TB Mushkin
Display(s) ASUS PG27 G-sync
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Corsair 1500w Digital
Keyboard Patriot Viper
Software Windows 10
#14
Dont suppose you can lower the DDR3 ram speed at all and see if that gives you better memory performance
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
920 (0.26/day)
Likes
155
Location
Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
Processor e6300 @ 3000, stock Volts
Motherboard msi p35 neo2-FIR
Cooling HDT-1283
Memory 2gb tracers 1066 micron d9GMH, cooled by a modded CoolIt Memory Cooler
Video Card(s) HIS 4850 ICEQ4
Storage WD Caviar 16 320gb WDAAKS + 640gb WDAAKS
Case CM RC-690 sligthly modded
Power Supply Bequiet darkpower PRO 850W (say overkill? :D)
Software kubuntu 8.10 + Windows XP, soon Windows 7 too
#15
what's limiting the oc to 3.7GHz there? do you think that with better cooling it can reach 4GHz? i was thinking of going AMD this time ;)
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#16
sweet results... I know these would be good overclockers... and for such a good price!
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
2,131 (0.60/day)
Likes
624
System Name ...then I became obsessed with watts
Processor AMD FX-8350 stock clocks waiting for Zen
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (Sata 6gb I love you)
Cooling Cooler Master V8 (lapped) w/Thermaltake Silent Cat (on lowest speed)
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme's 8Gb @ 1800Mhz 9-10-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070 GTX SC
Storage 2 Samsung 128Gb 830's (one for OS+ one for Programs) & 2 Seagate SSHD 2Tb drives
Display(s) Oculus Rift!!! oh....and an LG IPS 27" monitor max resolution 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master 690...lots of fans, all of them super silent
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 (holy $uck this is good)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750w G1
Mouse Logitech G9x (awesome!)
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 64Bit
Benchmark Scores no benches in a long time, SteamVR 10.8, maybe I'll add some more again lol
#17
Sweet overclock, but for the ram situation you should not worry so much about your final overclock but FAR more importantly on how high you can get the Northbridge speed stable.

Once you do that you will see your numbers shoot through the roof with those clocks. Try something simple even like raising the northbridge multiplier to 12x instead of the default 10x and you should get 2.4Ghz without any effort at all. That will dramatically enhance your performance especially in memory intensive programs/bench's. :)

Very nice combe so far either way. :D

Kei
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
System Name My PC
Processor Phenom II 720BE @X4 - 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling HSPC H20
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ PC12800 7-6-6-20-1T
Video Card(s) nVidia 9600GT Armor Edition
Storage 2 x WD 250GB - Raid O
Display(s) Acer AL2016W
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600W StealthXtreme
Software Windows 7057 X64
#18
Thank for the info kei

BTW.. How can I get this CPU to go higher the 260mhz, nothing helps in this matter

After long testing and frustrating cmos reset after cmos reset I got this....



Configuration used....

* Phenom II 720 BE
* Multiplier = 19.5
* Bus Speed = 200
* Motherboard = Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
* Memory Speed and Timings = 2 x 1GB 1333Mhz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-18
* NB Frequency = 2.8Ghz
* HT Frequency = 2.6Ghz

Voltages

* NB voltage control = +0.1V
* SB/HT volatge control = +0.1V
* NB/PCIe/PLL voltage control = +0.1V
* DDR VTT voltage control = Normal
* CPU NB VID control = +0.250V
* CPU VID control = +0.250V
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#19
Hey turn Advanced Clock Calibration on AUTO for a nice surprise ;)
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
System Name My PC
Processor Phenom II 720BE @X4 - 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling HSPC H20
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ PC12800 7-6-6-20-1T
Video Card(s) nVidia 9600GT Armor Edition
Storage 2 x WD 250GB - Raid O
Display(s) Acer AL2016W
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600W StealthXtreme
Software Windows 7057 X64
#20
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#21
Ah that sucks! I wonder why it worked for that Taiwan dude..
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
256 (0.07/day)
Likes
69
System Name My PC
Processor Phenom II 720BE @X4 - 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
Cooling HSPC H20
Memory 2 x 2GB OCZ PC12800 7-6-6-20-1T
Video Card(s) nVidia 9600GT Armor Edition
Storage 2 x WD 250GB - Raid O
Display(s) Acer AL2016W
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ 600W StealthXtreme
Software Windows 7057 X64
#22
It is not exactly a secret that Phenom Triple core processors in fact are a quad-core processor with in core disabled. Now before we begin out little tail and you storm off to the stores, realize this .. one core being disabled is always for a reason. It might be a problematic core, slightly instable or just downright damaged. But if you are in luck, the 4th core works properly. And now let me continue my little tail ..

A Korean user has discovered that it is rather easy to unlock the disabled core on Phenom II X3 processors, provided the motherboard supports the Advanced Clock Calibration (ACC) feature (790GX motherboards) and this trick seems to work with Triple core Phenom II X3 720 and Phenom II X3 710, codename Heka.

Only with the 904xxxx-stepping; this tweak seems to work, not with 0849xxxx. On an ASUS motherboard this little trick did not work, but it's confirmed to work on 790 motherboards from Biostar and Asrock.

In this example a Phenom II X3 710 was paired with a Biostar TA790GX 128M motherboard. The CPU was overclocked to 3.12 GHz, with a vCore setting of 1.37 V.

Here's what you could try out:

Set the appropriate BIOS setting for the Advanced Clock Calibration feature to "Auto", save settings and restart. The system will be able to deal with the disabled core, and off load some work to it.

Taken from an article on guru3d....
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
#23
Hey turn Advanced Clock Calibration on AUTO for a nice surprise ;)
:laugh: I just got my Phenom 720 in today. I'll be doing what most reviewers and other users haven't done; using it on an SB600/790FX combo board. Unfortunately, I left my MX-2 grease out of town, so I'm not going to be overclocking this beast until next week, as I'll be using stock heatsink/grease instead of my Zalman 9700/mx2. :(
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
698 (0.20/day)
Likes
28
System Name n\a
Processor Intel I7 6700
Motherboard GA-Z170-Gaming K3 (rev. 1.1)
Cooling 6x120mm akasa viper 83cfm fans
Memory ddr4 240 mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor rx 480
Storage kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Lian Li PC-B70
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply ocz zx 850w gold psu
Software Windows 10 x64
#24
what heatsink does it use ?, is it the one with the copper heat pipes ?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
#25
what heatsink does it use ?, is it the one with the copper heat pipes ?
No, I am ashamed to say it is an even crappier heatsink than the one that came with my A64 Venice. It is nothing like the Phenom II x4 one, which is the same as the one that came with my Denmark Opteron 170.

Also, I'm appalled at Gigabyte for their compatibility list for the Phenom II am2+/am3 here. It says that my mobo is good to go on bios revision F6. F7 is the latest bios, but it was somewhat unstable for me with the same overclock on my Phenom I, so I kept it at F6. So, I put in the new 720 and it doesn't boot AT ALL! I then try resetting the CMOS and retrying. Still no good. So, then I put in the old Phenom, update the BIOS with @BIOS, then reboot, plug in the 720 and it finally works.

With the Phenom II on the stock cooler, I bumped up the multiplier to get it to 3Ghz from 2.8Ghz without changing voltage, so I could do some speed comparisons with my old Phenom I at 3Ghz, both have the ram set to 1066mhz. Well, it didn't even make it through a 3dmark Vantage run without crashing. It's too early to tell if it is the chip, if it needs more voltage, or what (temperatures seemed in check even at 3Ghz load). I'll retry at stock speed and see if there are any issues. I'll report back when I get my Zalman reinstalled.